Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Old May 9, 2011, 05:25 PM   #1
IbanezBoy67
macrumors newbie

How to restore jailbroken/unlocked iPhone 3GS 4.2.1 and keep unlock/jailbreak

Hey guys, I want to sell my phone to upgrade to the ip4, but I have to restore it and keep the unlock/jailbreak. Right now, I'm running 4.2.1fw on baseband 06.15.00. Any ideas on how to go about doing this? I have some experience with jailbreaking, but I don't want to mess with the baseband. Thanks in advance
IbanezBoy67 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2011, 07:34 PM   #2
awadeee
macrumors 68020

You'll have to create custom 4.2.1 firmware using Pwnagetool (Mac) or Snowbreeze (Windows). I believe that there is also new software to do this on Windows but I'm a little hazy on the name. You will shift+restore (option + restore on Mac) and a window will open. Select the custom firmware and it will restore it. You have the option to make the custom firmware pre-jailbroken, so that your phone is already jailbroken right from the get go. You will, however, need to re-install Ultrasn0w but this shouldn't be a big deal.

Old May 9, 2011, 11:37 PM   #3
IbanezBoy67
macrumors newbie

Awesome, thanks! Just a couple of quick questions though: will the baseband be okay to unlock after the restore, and how do I activate the phone after I restore?
Old May 10, 2011, 11:38 AM   #4
awadeee
macrumors 68020

Quote:
Originally Posted by IbanezBoy67 View Post
Awesome, thanks! Just a couple of quick questions though: will the baseband be okay to unlock after the restore, and how do I activate the phone after I restore?
The baseband will not be affected, it cannot be changed until Apple officially releases an iPhone baseband above 6.15.00, which could take a while...