Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 12, 2005, 02:16 AM   #1
slipper
macrumors 65832
 
slipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Old Canon lens on a new on new Canon DSLR?

Just wondering, if i get a new Canon digital rebel can i use my old canon lenses on it? Any adapters available? By old i mean 10-12 years old. According to the manual it mentions it will fit a KR or CA mount. Im considering getting a 10D digital rebel cause prices are really dropping on them. any pros (if any) or cons?
slipper is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2005, 03:08 AM   #2
geeman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: At My Mac
Are your old Canon lenses autofocus? I can't be sure, but I think it was about 10-12 years ago that Canon dropped their old FD lensmount for the newer EF one. You can tell if the lenses are FD as they are (generally) heavier, have an aperture ring in addition to the focus ring and have no electrical contacts on the back.

If the old Canon lenses are FD, then there's no way of using them.
__________________
Gray hair is a sign of age, not of wisdom.
geeman is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2005, 03:20 AM   #3
evil_santa
macrumors 6502a
 
evil_santa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by geeman
If the old Canon lenses are FD, then there's no way of using them.
I use a 1971 Canon F1 & A 1980s A1 with a load of FD lenses. When it comes to upgrading to a DSLR being able to use my old lenses could be the deciding factor for what camera I get. But as i can not find any kind of FD to EF adaptor I may not go with a Canon!

Last edited by evil_santa; Mar 12, 2005 at 06:41 AM.
evil_santa is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2005, 03:59 AM   #4
geeman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: At My Mac
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil_santa
I use a 1971 Canon F1 & A 1980s A1 with a load of FD lenses. When it comes to upgrading to a DSLR being able to use my old lenses could be the deciding factor for what camera I get. But as i can not find any kind of FD to EF adaptor I may not got with a Canon!
Luverly machines. I have a bunch of F1's and F1N's myself.

AFAIK there aren't any FD to EF adaptors. But why leave Canon? As far as I'm concerned, the images pulled off their digital cameras (both pro and consumer) are one of the best I've seen. Their DIGIC processing gubbins really works.
__________________
Gray hair is a sign of age, not of wisdom.
geeman is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2005, 06:57 AM   #5
evil_santa
macrumors 6502a
 
evil_santa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by geeman
But why leave Canon?
Im not in the market for a DSLR right now, quite happy with the IXUSii & the 35mm. But as consideration, if I could use FD lenses on a DSLR I would get a Canon. But as I can't use them, it has slowed my enthusiasm to get anything above the IXUS, I use this quite a lot. It does take very nice photos & is small enough to have with me all the time. So when it comes to that point to go DSLR i don't feel tied to Canon.

Anyway I'm a bit slow on the take up on new ideas in photography, I was using the F1 exclusively until 3 years ago, before I ventured in to the crazy world of auto exposure & motor-drive with the A1. So I might wait a while to see if this digital fad catches on before i get involved
evil_santa is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2005, 11:25 AM   #6
Moxiemike
Banned
 
Moxiemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by evil_santa
Im not in the market for a DSLR right now, quite happy with the IXUSii & the 35mm. But as consideration, if I could use FD lenses on a DSLR I would get a Canon. But as I can't use them, it has slowed my enthusiasm to get anything above the IXUS, I use this quite a lot. It does take very nice photos & is small enough to have with me all the time. So when it comes to that point to go DSLR i don't feel tied to Canon.

Anyway I'm a bit slow on the take up on new ideas in photography, I was using the F1 exclusively until 3 years ago, before I ventured in to the crazy world of auto exposure & motor-drive with the A1. So I might wait a while to see if this digital fad catches on before i get involved
Yea. You can't use the FD lenses on a DSLR. I'm sure you can get an adapter, but you won't be able to meter with them, so what's the point? I ended up with a D2h just to take advantage of some of the older Nikkors I have (D2h allows metering of old Nikkor lenses) and i'm pretty happy so far. I know the pro canons don't do the same if only because they actually changed the lens mount.

So you're out of luck, in a sense-- you can always sell those old lenses on ebay, and put the cash towards a D70, DRebel or Pentax *ist (now THERE'S a camera that can really use old lenses--takes Pentax MF lenses! nice!)
Moxiemike is offline   0
Old Mar 12, 2005, 02:24 PM   #7
ibilly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boulder
Send a message via AIM to ibilly Send a message via Yahoo to ibilly
there aren't, and will never be any adapters because the adapter would be giant, possibly require an external power source, and degrade the image quality. There's no way thtat it could prevent itself from acting like an extension tube. There would be so many obsticles, that it would likely be cheaper and result in better image quality to go with a new lens. Don't hold your breath for an EF to FD or visa-versa adapter.

This is based on my knowledge that the FD series has a post that sticks into the camera for the aperature. I'm not sure about autofocus, BC I only have a manual lens. The adapter would have to add at least 1/4" to the mount (where it normally attatches) and have a motor for actuating the post (also about 1/4" in an arc shape), a microproscessor for converting the digital electrical signal to manual movement... See why it hasn't been done? tiny market, huge engineering challenges.
ibilly is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a new Canon 70D with 18.135mm kit lens. Is a 35mm 14 L lens a worthy second lens? KimJonNumberUn Digital Photography 36 Mar 3, 2014 01:08 PM
Canon EOS Txi DSLR --- which one? NeverhadaPC Digital Photography 22 Sep 12, 2013 09:50 AM
Canon DSLR T4i w/ Lens - $829.99 (WOOT) thatoneguy82 Community Discussion 2 Sep 10, 2012 12:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC