Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 14, 2011, 03:11 AM   #1
NameUndecided
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Re-arrange desktops/fullscreen apps with Mission Control?

Okay, now that we have (or, I've just found out about, if it's not actually new) the ability to add new desktops in Mission Control, my want to re-arrange the order of the fullscreen apps and any additional desktops has grown.

It seems like such an intuitive feature, the ability to re-order the windows shown in the top bar while in Mission Control. If it's at all possible though, the method of doing so apparently isn't intuitive at all. It's fun to swipe from the desktop to Safari and to the many PDFs that I'll have open at a time, but it would be even nicer if I had more control over their order.

Might anyone have any tips?

Another feature that I hope gets added in -- the ability to set a default background for however many "new" desktops that you might open. For instance: Set the default background for "desktop 2" and set a separate default background for "desktop 3" and so on.
NameUndecided is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 05:57 PM   #2
mrblack927
macrumors 6502a
 
mrblack927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Absolutely. I was thinking the same thing. It seems like such an obvious feature: click and drag to rearrange spaces.

My only fear is that Apple might think their own way of automatically rearranging spaces is "better" and not give you the option. If you notice, your spaces will change order based on the order in which you use your applications (now an option in the system prefs menu under "mission control"). Interesting that they let to OS change the order, but not the user.
mrblack927 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 01:46 PM   #3
NanoGeek
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I found a (sorta clumsy) way to rearrange the apps. Go to the first desktop, and click an icon for a full screen app in the dock. It will then put that app at the front of the line of full screen apps. Hope that helps.
NanoGeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 08:00 PM   #4
paulold
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Keep in mind that there's a setting to put the most recent used full screen app to the left (unless you turn that off in the preferences). So that suggestion NanaGeek is just making use of that feature. I think the only way to select your order is to put them into full screen mode in the order you want them to appear while also turning off the auto-arrange feature that moves the most recent app to the first place.
__________________
MacBook Pro 2011 17" 2.2Ghz, iPad Wifi 32GB, iPhone 4S 64GB Verizon, iPod Classic 80GB, Apple TV 2, Time Capsule 1 TB
paulold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 08:03 PM   #5
fisherking
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
it's almost shocking that we can't reorder spaces as we want, in the top of the window in mission control, but...think how long it took for apple to implement this with safari tabs).

10.7.1? will hold my breath (or until there's a shareware app to do this)...

hate it the way it is...
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 4S JB
fisherking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 08:24 PM   #6
paulold
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Sure it would be nicer if Apple let us rearrange things in Mission Control like icons on the iPhone (and now the Launchpad) but it just takes a moment to set things up the way you want them and you're done. And with the Resume feature, you won't have to mess with this very often.

All I did was I turned off full screen mode on all the apps I had it set to. I then chose the order along the top of Mission Control by setting each app to full screen mode in the order I want them to appear from left to right. So I wanted Mail first, then Safari, then iTunes, etc. which means I set Mail to full screen first, then safari then iTunes.

So now my Mission Control looks like: Dashboard, Desktop, Mail, Safari, iTunes, etc. I suppose it gets a little more complicated when you start wanting to assign non-full-screen apps to their own desktop. I think all of the desktops you create will appear between the dashboard and the full screen apps. So I suppose that might annoy some.

One thing that annoys me a little is Address Book is not a full screen app (plus I can't customize its appearance - I don't really like the new look of it). I would prefer to keep it open as a full screen app next to my Calendar, but I can't do that. Bummer.

I never used Spaces before but I am already loving being able to switch between apps using a sideways swipe. So simple and logical. Thanks, Apple!
__________________
MacBook Pro 2011 17" 2.2Ghz, iPad Wifi 32GB, iPhone 4S 64GB Verizon, iPod Classic 80GB, Apple TV 2, Time Capsule 1 TB
paulold is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 10:33 AM   #7
thittesd0375
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I've found that instead of using extra desktops for non-full screen apps, it works better to use Maximizer to patch them and turn them into full screen apps. Works with any cocoa app ie Firefox. Link is http://chpwn.com/apps/maximizer.html
thittesd0375 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 06:44 PM   #8
ThePimento
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Texas
They should just bring back Spaces. Problem solved.
ThePimento is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2011, 07:54 AM   #9
yashrg
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I can't believe Apple was so stupid to not make this possible.
yashrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 09:24 AM   #10
chuckles:)
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CANADA
This has been driving me crazy since I installed lion. Is there not 3rd party fix yet?
__________________
Loves People, Loves Apple. 13" MBA 2013, 32GB iPhone 5, 64GB iPad (1st gen).
chuckles:) is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 10:55 AM   #11
Rob.G
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NW Oregon
I hope they will fix this in 10.7.2 or 10.7.3. It really is a glaring oversight.

Rob
__________________
Late 2012 Mac Mini 2.6 i7/16gb/256gb SSD/1tb HD
Late 2013 rMBP 13 i5/16gb/512gb SSD
Galaxy Note 3 32gb AT&T
Rob.G is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 11:16 AM   #12
natd1993
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
I can confirm that in the latest beta of 10.7.2, you can rearrange full screen apps and desktops by clicking and dragging on mission control.
__________________
| rMBP 15 2.4 | cMBP 13 2.26 | iPad 3 | iPhone 5 |
natd1993 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 11:22 AM   #13
phyrexia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by natd1993 View Post
I can confirm that in the latest beta of 10.7.2, you can rearrange full screen apps and desktops by clicking and dragging on mission control.
Some good news!
__________________
Powermac11,2 // Macbookpro8,3 // iPad(3), 32GB + VZW // IB i7 Hackintosh (BAMF) // Synology DS1513+, DS411
phyrexia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 11:53 AM   #14
Tiki35
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by natd1993 View Post
I can confirm that in the latest beta of 10.7.2, you can rearrange full screen apps and desktops by clicking and dragging on mission control.
I can also confirm that it works in Build 11C71.
Tiki35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 02:43 PM   #15
Signal-11
macrumors 65816
 
Signal-11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 2nd Star to the Right
Quote:
Originally Posted by natd1993 View Post
I can confirm that in the latest beta of 10.7.2, you can rearrange full screen apps and desktops by clicking and dragging on mission control.
Can the user Quicklook or arrange individual windows on Desktops from Mission Control? Mission Control is such a toy compared to Expose+Spaces.
Signal-11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2011, 05:06 AM   #16
vixducis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Belgium
It's definitely here in 10.7.2. Finally!
vixducis is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making the most of Mission Control/Desktops? CandyTree OS X 3 Apr 13, 2014 12:49 PM
Mission Control: show windows from all desktops. Possible? VKondakoff OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Apr 25, 2013 07:37 AM
Mission control Appl apps vs third party Tech198 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Nov 30, 2012 12:39 PM
Mission Control swipe between desktops bounces back kathyathy11 MacBook Pro 1 Oct 22, 2012 06:23 AM
how to reduce apps' reaction time in mission control window? mannerboy Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Aug 11, 2012 07:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC