Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2005, 12:21 PM   #1
joecool85
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maine
Send a message via AIM to joecool85
Partition Shuffle

If I was to get an iPod shuffle, could I partition 100mb or so off and have it function properly still? Thanks.
__________________
Linux, Mac, Windows...yeah, we got that.
thatraymond.com
joecool85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 05:35 PM   #2
kgarner
macrumors 68000
 
kgarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Utah
I assume this is for file transfer and such. If that is the case, then Apple makes it very easy for you. All you have to do is open the Preferences window and select Enable Disk Mode or something like that in the iPod pane. Then just use the slider to select how much space you want for files vs. music and your done.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad | Mini 1.42 G4 (running as HTPC)
digitalsandbox.net
"Monkeys are like bacon. They improve just about anything." -Andy Ihnatko
kgarner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 05:37 PM   #3
PlaceofDis
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
yep its as easy as kargner says, i have only 32 mb partitioned off for myself personally, but thats because i wont be carrying anything more than a few word docs back and forth, but you can set it to whatever level you would like
__________________
dim my eyes on the waves of confessions...
PlaceofDis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 06:18 PM   #4
verozov
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Send a message via AIM to verozov
just thought i'd mention... i had a shuffle (sold it) and if you plan to use a mac for ur music, you can't switch files between platforms... or at least i couldn't...

really wish someone would have told me before i bought it though... maybe it was just a problem with me though...
verozov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 07:11 PM   #5
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by verozov
just thought i'd mention... i had a shuffle (sold it) and if you plan to use a mac for ur music, you can't switch files between platforms... or at least i couldn't...

really wish someone would have told me before i bought it though... maybe it was just a problem with me though...
It comes as a FAT32 volume. Macs and Windows can read or write to it. You must have done something to it to change the formatting...
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2005, 07:36 PM   #6
joecool85
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maine
Send a message via AIM to joecool85
sounds good to me, i should be a happy camper come time for my birthday when i finally get one :-) i love my gf.
__________________
Linux, Mac, Windows...yeah, we got that.
thatraymond.com
joecool85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootcamp Assistant failed to delete partition. 'Free Space' Partition problem. art86 MacBook Pro 3 Oct 20, 2013 11:21 AM
Main partition, disk0s2 won't mount after resizing Bootcamp partition mahgah Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 4 Oct 19, 2013 10:14 AM
Nano goes into Shuffle even when Shuffle mode is off GanChan iPod 1 Jun 15, 2012 10:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC