Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 16, 2011, 06:55 PM   #1
iLeW
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England
Question Will Macbook Pro 13 inch i5 be suitable for HD video editing?

Hi all, just wanted to see if some people who have the macbook pro 13 inch i5 could let me know how it performs when editing HD video. I have a canon t2i which I use to shoot 10 minute clips at 1080p.

I'm planning to get the new final cut when it's released but wondering if buying the i5 macbook will make editing that video slow & annoying to the point that it would make me wish i'd got the i7.

I currently have a mid 2009 13 inch macbook pro 2.26ghz & using iMovie is just about bearable however on my latest project (which is around 15 minutes) the macbook chokes when the project is opened, meaning I can't finish editing it. So I really have maxed this one out.

So do you think the i5 is going to be a decent enough upgrade to allow me to edit my videos smoothly, without constant hangups etc. I'd really appreciate anyone with some experience of this laptop to let me know how they've found it.

Thanks guys
__________________
iPhone 3GS 16GB, iPod Nano 2g, iPod shuffle 3rd gen Macbook 13 - 2.26 - 4gb RAM
My Youtube
iLeW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 07:10 PM   #2
xxBURT0Nxx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
it will edit the movies and run the current final cut... an i7 will be faster at rendering the movie or if you encode it after, no reason an i5 won't be able to edit movies though.

Only downfall is the poor HD 3000 graphics in the 13" but you have to upgrade to a 15" or get an iMac to get away from the integrated graphics.

If you are doing basic home editing I think you will be fine, if you are looking to run the full FCP suite (color, motion, etc.) you may want to get an iMac or the 15"
xxBURT0Nxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 08:20 PM   #3
Mac-key
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
I have an 09 13inch MBP as well - except with the slightly faster processor (2.53)

I don't have any problems using FCP, and I too shoot with a t2i. I do have 8GB of RAM though. I suspect if you upgraded the RAM you might be able to get a little more life out of your machine.

But, I do think the i5 would be a nice upgrade. Yes, I've been hearing the graphics aren't the best. BUT again, I use the full final cut suite on my machine and it handles it just fine. It could definitely be much faster when it comes to renders, exports and transcode... but ever since I upgraded to 8GB of RAM - no lagging whatsoever
__________________
2011 15" MBP 2.0 i7 :: iPhone 5 32GB (white)
Mac-key is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 09:01 PM   #4
xxBURT0Nxx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac-key View Post
But, I do think the i5 would be a nice upgrade. Yes, I've been hearing the graphics aren't the best. BUT again, I use the full final cut suite on my machine and it handles it just fine. It could definitely be much faster when it comes to renders, exports and transcode... but ever since I upgraded to 8GB of RAM - no lagging whatsoever
I thought running Color required a screen with a minimum resolution of 1680x1050? Do you have to hook up an external monitor?
xxBURT0Nxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 09:07 PM   #5
gameface
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Are you editing the files raw? You shouldn't be editing h.264 which is what that camera shoots. It is a very processor intensive codec so a single stream is fine but editing is not. Try transcoding the footage and maxing out te ram before you buy a new machine. When the 5DmkII first came out I was editing the footage on a 2007 2.4Ghz MBP which is whoa-fully underpowered compared to your 2009 and it handled it fine. You just need the proper workflow. Your machine is fine.

So the footage and imovie is your bottleneck, not your machine.
gameface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 09:35 PM   #6
Mac-key
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxBURT0Nxx View Post
I thought running Color required a screen with a minimum resolution of 1680x1050? Do you have to hook up an external monitor?
When I have to I use Color on my MBP - not ideal, but I get by. I use an external monitor when I'm home.
__________________
2011 15" MBP 2.0 i7 :: iPhone 5 32GB (white)
Mac-key is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2011, 09:36 PM   #7
Mac-key
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameface View Post
Are you editing the files raw? You shouldn't be editing h.264 which is what that camera shoots. It is a very processor intensive codec so a single stream is fine but editing is not. Try transcoding the footage and maxing out te ram before you buy a new machine. When the 5DmkII first came out I was editing the footage on a 2007 2.4Ghz MBP which is whoa-fully underpowered compared to your 2009 and it handled it fine. You just need the proper workflow. Your machine is fine.

So the footage and imovie is your bottleneck, not your machine.
^^^ This

I use MPEG streamclip to transcode my t2i raw footage into AIC. Works beautifully...
__________________
2011 15" MBP 2.0 i7 :: iPhone 5 32GB (white)
Mac-key is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2011, 06:47 PM   #8
iLeW
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England
I thought when you imported video into iMovie it was automatically transcoded into the AIC. So what is the best tool to convert to AIC for my t2i? I see MPEG stream clip mentioned here. Is that the best or does anyone have another recommendation?

Thanks for all the replies
__________________
iPhone 3GS 16GB, iPod Nano 2g, iPod shuffle 3rd gen Macbook 13 - 2.26 - 4gb RAM
My Youtube
iLeW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2011, 10:16 PM   #9
Mac-key
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLeW View Post
I thought when you imported video into iMovie it was automatically transcoded into the AIC. So what is the best tool to convert to AIC for my t2i? I see MPEG stream clip mentioned here. Is that the best or does anyone have another recommendation?

Thanks for all the replies
not sure if MPEG streamclip is the best, BUT it is TONS better than using Compressor. Streamclip is MUCH faster

you can download it HERE
__________________
2011 15" MBP 2.0 i7 :: iPhone 5 32GB (white)

Last edited by Mac-key; May 17, 2011 at 10:16 PM. Reason: AND it's FREE:)
Mac-key is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Tags
13 inch, i5 intel, macbook pro, speed, video editing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Video Editing MacBook Pro? jonathanlinsley MacBook Pro 6 Feb 26, 2014 07:52 AM
Macbook pro for video editing? simkop123 MacBook Pro 1 Aug 29, 2013 10:04 AM
Is the MacBook Pro suitable for video editing? Minxy Digital Video 14 Jul 26, 2013 10:45 AM
Cheapest iMac suitable for video editing? Norkusa iMac 2 Apr 26, 2013 01:21 PM
Baseline Macbook Pro 13" For HD Video Editing, Pro Tools, Photoshop and more. trialsjames MacBook Pro 6 Aug 25, 2012 02:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC