Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 24, 2011, 06:32 PM   #1
Nomadski
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Utilities folder on desktop?

My friend bought his first mac (iMac) recently and during a screenshare to help him noticed he had Utilities folder on his desktop.

He had no idea how he accidentally got it there but wants to remove it. When I went to trash it though it came with a request for his password which made me worry that deleting this would delete his actual Utilities folder in the Go menu (and thus all the utilities on his computer).

Is this the case? If so how does he go about removing this folder from the desktop?
__________________
2008 Macbook Pro 13", 32GB iPhone 4, 2x old 2nd Gen Nanos, Windows PC, a dishwasher, 2 dogs and an xbox steering wheel. Oh, and the New iPad which apparently is the iPad 2 according to iTunes...
Nomadski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 06:35 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
The actual Utilities (CMD+SHIFT+U) folder is inside the Applications folder (CMD+SHIFT+A).
Is the Utilities folder still in the Applications folder?
What applications are inside the Utilities folder on the Desktop?
Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 06:40 PM   #3
Nomadski
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Well when I saw the desktop he actually had an Applications folder, and a Utilities folder. 2 folders on the desktop.

I dragged the Applications folder to the trashcan and it dumped it straightaway, but when we emptied the trash it cleared 2.5k odd items. :S

The Applications were still there in Go>Applications. There is still a Utilities folder on desktop, and Go>Utilities exists too.

Is this clear? Not sure im explaining it very well.

EDIT: The Utilities folder on desktop has the same utilities that is in Go>Utilities.
EDIT 2: Friend just text Microsoft Office no longer appears in the Applications folder, so Im guessing by dragging the folder to the trash it has deleted his applications (iLife and other default Applications are still there though).

So how does he remove this folder from the desktop without actually removing it from his mac?
__________________
2008 Macbook Pro 13", 32GB iPhone 4, 2x old 2nd Gen Nanos, Windows PC, a dishwasher, 2 dogs and an xbox steering wheel. Oh, and the New iPad which apparently is the iPad 2 according to iTunes...

Last edited by Nomadski; May 24, 2011 at 06:51 PM.
Nomadski is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 06:48 PM   #4
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadski View Post
Well when I saw the desktop he actually had an Applications folder, and a Utilities folder. 2 folders on the desktop.

I dragged the Applications folder to the trashcan and it dumped it straightaway, but when we emptied the trash it cleared 2.5k odd items. :S

The Applications were still there in Go>Applications. There is still a Utilities folder on desktop, and Go>Utilities exists too.

Is this clear? Not sure im explaining it very well.
I understand what you mean, but you may not.
The Menu Bar item "Go > Applications" and "Go > Utilities" are not the locations of the Applications and Utilities folders, they are just shortcuts, thus my question, if the actual Utilities folder still resides in the Applications folder.
You can check via going to the Applications folder in Finder (either via CMD+SHIFT+A) or opening a new Finder window and selecting the Applications alias in the Sidebar (left side of Finder window) or going via Macintosh HD / Applications.
Then switch to List (CMD+2) or Column (CMD+3) View and see, if the Utilities folder is still inside the actual Applications folder and if the Utilities folder still has its usual content (compare the items in the Utilities folder found inside the Applications folder of your friend's Mac with the Utilties folder on your Mac).
You can also enable the Path Bar (Finder > Menu Bar >> View >>> Show / Hide Path Bar) to see, where you actually are on your Mac.

If the Utilities folder is still where and how it should be (Macintosh HD / Applications / Utilities), then you can delete the Utilities folder on the Desktop (via entering an admin password upon being asked to do so).


Have a look at the link I provided earlier, and maybe send it to your friend, to learn more about Mac OS X.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 07:01 PM   #5
Nomadski
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Cheers, will have to look at this tomorrow when my friend is back online.

I did notice he didn't have "Applications" on the left side of the window of Finder, like I have on my macbook, and you mention above. Perhaps he somehow dragged this onto the desktop?
__________________
2008 Macbook Pro 13", 32GB iPhone 4, 2x old 2nd Gen Nanos, Windows PC, a dishwasher, 2 dogs and an xbox steering wheel. Oh, and the New iPad which apparently is the iPad 2 according to iTunes...
Nomadski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2011, 07:19 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadski View Post

I did notice he didn't have "Applications" on the left side of the window of Finder, like I have on my macbook, and you mention above. Perhaps he somehow dragged this onto the desktop?
That is not possible, as when you drag something out of the Sidebar, it gets removed (from 10.6.7 onwards you need to hold down the CMD key to drag something off the Sidebar). The same applies for the Dock.
The Utilities folder on the Desktop could also be an Alias* or just a copy.
That happens when one wants to apply Windows behaviour to Mac OS X, and now it causes confusion.

I recommend looking at all the basic stuff on navigating the OS and such.

*
In Mac OS X, what is an alias and how does it work?
Working with Aliases in Mac OS X
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2011, 12:47 PM   #7
Nomadski
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Those links were a great help, thanks. Its funny ive had a mac for 3 years and really only used it sparingly so ive never moved folders (nor should I!) or gone into stuff like this. I have no idea what my friend did, but I understand now where to look to check where the actual folders should be.

Hopefully the Applications folder is where it actually should be. If the Utilities folder is not inside it, im guessing I can drag the Utilites folder he has from the desktop into the Applications folder on the hard drive and we can all stop sweating?
__________________
2008 Macbook Pro 13", 32GB iPhone 4, 2x old 2nd Gen Nanos, Windows PC, a dishwasher, 2 dogs and an xbox steering wheel. Oh, and the New iPad which apparently is the iPad 2 according to iTunes...
Nomadski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2011, 12:50 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadski View Post
Hopefully the Applications folder is where it actually should be. If the Utilities folder is not inside it, im guessing I can drag the Utilites folder he has from the desktop into the Applications folder on the hard drive and we can all stop sweating?
That should work, but you may be prompted to enter the admin password, which is okay.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2011, 05:05 PM   #9
Nomadski
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Screenshared with my mate, found the actual app folder and utility folder was present.

Deleted the utility folder from desktop and from the sidebar (he made a folder there last night too lol) and made a new alias for applications and dragged to sidebar. The icon changed to what I recognise (sort of two rulers making an A).

Everything is all good in the land of my friends mac. Have linked him to the links u gave me, and I think he gets it too now.

Thanks for all your help, Ive learnt a lot myself
__________________
2008 Macbook Pro 13", 32GB iPhone 4, 2x old 2nd Gen Nanos, Windows PC, a dishwasher, 2 dogs and an xbox steering wheel. Oh, and the New iPad which apparently is the iPad 2 according to iTunes...
Nomadski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2011, 01:15 PM   #10
Nomadski
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Maybe Ive talked too soon. Got a ring from him today saying his missus saying the macs been running slow yesterday, and now just wont boot. Just goes to a blank blue screen.

He bought Applecare with his mac, ive told him to use it...
__________________
2008 Macbook Pro 13", 32GB iPhone 4, 2x old 2nd Gen Nanos, Windows PC, a dishwasher, 2 dogs and an xbox steering wheel. Oh, and the New iPad which apparently is the iPad 2 according to iTunes...
Nomadski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2011, 04:05 PM   #11
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadski View Post
Maybe Ive talked too soon. Got a ring from him today saying his missus saying the macs been running slow yesterday, and now just wont boot. Just goes to a blank blue screen.

He bought Applecare with his mac, ive told him to use it...
You could try these steps:
Mac doesn't boot

Resolve startup issues and perform disk maintenance with Disk Utility and fsck

Troubleshooting: My computer won't turn on

A flashing question mark appears when you start your Mac
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2011, 05:58 PM   #12
iRobby
macrumors 6502a
 
iRobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fort Myers, FL USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomadski View Post
My friend bought his first mac (iMac) recently and during a screenshare to help him noticed he had Utilities folder on his desktop.

How do you get Screenshare on your iMac? how it work?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Retina (2012) 2.3GHz, 8GB RAM; 256GB SSD
iPhone 5S Gold 64GB AT&T
iPad (3rd Generation) White 64GB Verizon
Airport Extreme (5th Generation)
iRobby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2011, 03:04 PM   #13
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by iRobby View Post
How do you get Screenshare on your iMac? how it work?
TeamViewer can help, or even Mobile Me, if I remember correctly.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2011, 04:29 PM   #14
Nomadski
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Cheers but I tried some of them with him and none worked, he had Appleguy on the phone and they couldn't sort it, sounded bad to the manager who was on the phone as well (who seems to think it has something to do with the vodafone dongle he used, or the 3 dongle he used before which he had big problems with) so they've arranged for a replacement mac to be sent out and the current one picked up.

Felt bad recommending a mac to him tbh, because it was all based on my own experiences (and those of my sister who purchased one on my recommendation, with no issues) and then all this happening from day one, but his experience with Apple support has been excellent, so he actually sounded really chirpy about the whole thing on the phone. Fingers crossed the next mac will run flawlessly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iRobby View Post
How do you get Screenshare on your iMac? how it work?
We simply added each other as buddies on iChat and did it thru there (right click buddy>ask to share his screen) you can use iChat if you have mobileme account, or get a free AIM (AOL) account name.
__________________
2008 Macbook Pro 13", 32GB iPhone 4, 2x old 2nd Gen Nanos, Windows PC, a dishwasher, 2 dogs and an xbox steering wheel. Oh, and the New iPad which apparently is the iPad 2 according to iTunes...
Nomadski is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Utilities Folder missing from Applications Dock Folder stonewall777 Mac Basics and Help 2 Jan 20, 2014 12:52 PM
Desktop folder keeps popping up-help! ghostriver MacBook Pro 0 Oct 5, 2013 03:35 AM
Are the desktop and the desktop folder the same? Nigel123 OS X 4 Sep 21, 2013 11:07 PM
Ideas to keep a Macbook folder and a Windows 8 desktop folder in sync Sid-R OS X 6 May 14, 2013 03:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC