Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2005, 02:12 PM   #1
swindmill
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
using a pc as a server (storage) in home network

I'm new to home networking, but I have figured out how to use my iMac G3 as a server. My regular computer is a powerbook. I have an old pc (windows 95) that I'd like to use as a server to store files on. Ideally, it will just sit on the floor with nothing attached and act as an electronic filing cabinet. I have it hooked into my router, and it can get online. I have enabled file sharing and windows sharing on both macs. My pc is not showing up in my Server menu on either Mac, nor are the macs showing up in the network neighborhood on the PC. What do I need to do in order to access the pc from my Macs?

Quick Update:

my macs are now showing up in the PC's network as MY-NAME_C. When I click on them, they ask for a password, but my OS X password does not work.

2nd update:

maybe I'll end up figuring most of this out by chance, but here's more:
I now have both macs showing up on the pc and both of the macs themselves. It appears they are showing up on the macs normally (file sharing) as well as in a workgroup folder. The PC is now showing up on the imac which is connected to the router via ethernet, but not on the powerbook, which has a wireless connection. As I type this I restarted the pc and now it is not showing up on the imac again. aaaaaahhhhhh!!!!!

[any guidance might save me from self destruction]

Last edited by swindmill; Mar 17, 2005 at 03:03 PM. Reason: update
swindmill is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 04:08 PM   #2
musicpyrite
macrumors 68000
 
musicpyrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cape Cod
To access your Windows machine from your Mac, under the Finder, go to Go>Connect to Server (or command K) type in "smb://192.168.0.101/c" but make sure to replace the 192.168.0.101 with the IP address of your PC. To find the IP address of your PC, click Start>Run and type in 'command' then in the prompt, type 'ipconfig' and look for an IP address.

To access your Mac from your Windows Machine, click on Start>Run then type in '\\192.168.0.100\YOURNAME' and replace the YOURNAME with your short username, and replace the IP address with the IP address of your Mac. To find the IP address of your Mac, under the Finder, go to Apple>About this Mac>More Info, and when System Profiler opens, under Contents, select the Network, and look for you IP address in that window.

Edit: to access your Mac from your PC, you need to use your OS X password and username. To access your PC from your Mac, you need to use your windows password and username.
__________________
For SCIENCE!!
musicpyrite is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 04:38 PM   #3
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
I tried connecting that way and it said "1 or more items cannot be found". I guess that means the issue now is that my macs aren't recognizing my pc, or finding it. At one point, the pc was showing up in Networks in the finder of both macs, but after restarting the pc it is no longer there. I am trying to set it up so that it wil be a reliable place the store files, so I guess I need to figure out why the pc is not being found consistently.
swindmill is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 04:46 PM   #4
musicpyrite
macrumors 68000
 
musicpyrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cape Cod
When ever you cannot, for some reason, connect your Mac to your PC, open up the Termianl and type 'ping 192.168.0.101' and see if you Mac sees your PC on the network (don't forget to replace the IP with your PC's IP)

And do the same with your PC -> Mac problems, only using the DOS prompt.
__________________
For SCIENCE!!
musicpyrite is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 05:00 PM   #5
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
My powerbook is now seeing my pc. I was running virus protection and a software firewall on the pc, and had to disable both for the powerbook to see it. the imac still is not seeing it, and I can't begin to think why. I will try the reccomendation you provided above on the imac and see what happens.

update:

I ran the ping command and it came up with 56 data bytes. I don't understand how putting my IP address in the command tells me that the imac is seeing the pc. My IP address is same whether the pc is connected to the router or not.

[Do I need to set the pc to be my server?]
- I just connected it to the router, putting it in the network, but have done nothing to designate it as "the" server

Last edited by swindmill; Mar 17, 2005 at 05:10 PM.
swindmill is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 05:14 PM   #6
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Go buy a basic networking book. Seriously. It sounds like you're almost shooting blindfolded and you're just confusing yourself.

Also, for what it's worth, ditch Windows 95. It's an atrocious OS and is no longer supported anywhere. Format and reinstall either Linux (which would be better suited for OS X) or Windows 2000, both of which are actually designed to serve in a server capacity.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 05:18 PM   #7
slooksterPSV
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nowheresville
Send a message via AIM to slooksterPSV Send a message via MSN to slooksterPSV Send a message via Yahoo to slooksterPSV
I hate to say this, but you'll have better luck with Linux like they said. Use Linux and share whatever you need. I share my Music drive on my XP Computer, but the problem is sometimes it won't show up, like I can't find the *server* or so its called (its actually the shared workgroup computer). So... I mean if you have Linux, that's more dedicated, so that would work better. If you are new to Linux, just go through a tutorial on another computer.
__________________
AMD Phenom 9600, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI Radeon 4850, Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Gateway NV53 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit & Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx 64-bit
slooksterPSV is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 05:19 PM   #8
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
I am most definately shooting blindfolded. I've been googling various networking phrases all day trying to figure things out. Just googled Linux and realize it's free. I guess should figure out how to do it now.

Last edited by swindmill; Mar 17, 2005 at 05:23 PM.
swindmill is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 05:24 PM   #9
ChrisBrightwell
macrumors 68020
 
ChrisBrightwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by swindmill
How much will it cost me to switch this old pc over to linux?
It can cost as little a few hours, but you're apparently pretty green as far as networking in concerned.

Go look at something like Linux for Dummies. Find and read the section describing how to setup a fileserver. If that doesn't help, try the next book.
__________________
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication."
ChrisBrightwell is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 05:43 PM   #10
kg9ov
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In front of a computer...
As others have said, Win95 is very old and unsupported. It would be better to upgrade to something newer. But, I'll throw my two cents in anyway. Also, this is all from memory since I haven't used any Win9x stuff in a very long time...

When the Win95 box boots, do you get the username/password dialog or does it boot right to a desktop? If you get the username/password dialog, you must enter at least a username in it. If you hit <escape> or the Cancel button, the Windows file sharing will not work. I don't remember if this effects other systems on the network connecting to shares on the Win95 box.

When connecting to a share on the network, Win95 does not allow you to enter a username. It will only prompt for a password for the share. You must enter the correct username in the username/password dialog when you "log in". This username should be the username for your user account on your Mac.

-Tony
__________________
:wq!
kg9ov is offline   0
Old Mar 17, 2005, 08:34 PM   #11
musicpyrite
macrumors 68000
 
musicpyrite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cape Cod
I'm not so sure about using Linux.... installing/configuring/mantaning a Linux server can be pretty complicated... but you could probably do it with a few good books.

Quote:
Originally Posted by swindmill
I ran the ping command and it came up with 56 data bytes. I don't understand how putting my IP address in the command tells me that the imac is seeing the pc. My IP address is same whether the pc is connected to the router or not.
The ping command will tell you weather or not the Mac and PC are capable of seeing each other, thus, able to network. If they don't see each other, sharing files might not be possible, or in most cases will require special configuration.

Also there is a difference between a internal IP and an external IP. You only have 1 external IP per ISP, and is just a random number assigned to you buy your ISP (sort of anyways, thats all you need to know for now). And you also have a LAN (local area network) IP, which distributes the IP amongst other computers in your house. Normally this number is a special number like 192.168.x.x, 127.0.0.1, or 10.0.1.1 for example. You always ant to work with your LAN IP when trying to create a LAN based network.

All this would be better explained in a networking book. I'm not so good with words. Try to upgrade to 2000 or XP if your machine can handle it, they are far easier to work with.

Check this thread by edisgnuk, it might reveal some useful information.
__________________
For SCIENCE!!
musicpyrite is offline   0
Old Mar 18, 2005, 08:59 AM   #12
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
Thanks for all the info. It seems like the consensus is to use something other than 95. For now, I have the workgroup set up and the macs recognize the pc, but only one at a time can see it. If the imac can see it, the powerbook can't. Then if I resart the imac, it will show up on the powerbook and not the imac. Once I get a newer OS, and everything is working, will it be possible to just leave the pc running, without a monitor, and use it as an e- filing cabinet?
swindmill is offline   0
Old Mar 18, 2005, 09:06 AM   #13
edesignuk
Moderator emeritus
 
edesignuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, England
SCRAP 95, it's awful at networking, get 2000 or XP, and follow this guide.
__________________
edesignuk is offline   0
Old Mar 18, 2005, 09:29 AM   #14
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Ditch Win95. It SUCKS.

If you want a true server, try FreeBSD. Might be a bit much for you, but hey-- Google is here to help.

Or Win2k would be nice if you don't care for FreeBSD but it costs some money....
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0
Old Mar 18, 2005, 06:09 PM   #15
swindmill
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
swindmill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KY
I actually have everything working as I want it to, now. Both macs recognize the pc and can load drives from it. I discovered how old the pc is, though, when I attempted to store my music library on it and wouldn't allow it, saying 'not enough free space'. I guess it will work for now, until I find something with more space and a newer OS.
swindmill is offline   0
Old Mar 18, 2005, 07:37 PM   #16
Mechcozmo
macrumors 603
 
Mechcozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by swindmill
I discovered how old the pc is, though,
~cough~Windows Ninety-five~cough~

If you load a stripped down Win95 install onto it or a smaller OS then you might get some space... or even a LiveCD Linux distro and wipe out the hard drives.
__________________
This is not the signature you're looking for.
This is not the signature we're looking for.
You can scroll down now.
You can scroll down now.
Mechcozmo is offline   0
Old Mar 18, 2005, 09:40 PM   #17
dotdotdot
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
A suggestion,

LINUX: Linspire - it costs money but is the easiest linux for a windows user (never used it but my friend got a WalMart PC - no clue why - and it came with it) and it updates itself and it look good... it used to be called Lindows, like Linux Windows, but, well you know Microsoft, always suing...

Also, on the Mac OS if you want to use Windows 95, test an account called "Win95" or something and see if that connects - create a password for it and try to use the networking that way.

If you want Windows, get Windows 2000 Professional or Server or Windows XP Professional or Server... (Pro is cheaper in both cases) then look on Google for ways to disable Windows interface (so it looks like Windows 3.1 w/o colors which uses no resources basically) and install AntiVirus and Firewall and AntiSpyware, set it up to Automatically run at a certain time DAILY.

Put the internet into Windows XP and buy a wired/wireless router. Windows will automatically detect the router, just install drivers and it should work right off the bat.

Create a unique name but Don't encrypt the router! You need a password to access the files but dont encrypt the router - Macs dont like Windows with Encrypted routers just as the same goes for Windows. So, in Windows, make an Unsecured Wireless Network with a name of your choice, no spaces or caps or numbers or weird letters... (NOTE: When you become more experienced, then you can try to encrypt the router)

There shouldn't be a problem...

Hope this helps!

Keep in mind that an upgrade will run you very little...

If you go XP, don't get Home edition! It is the current equivelent of Windows ME, and XP Home is unsupported long before Pro...
dotdotdot is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > General Mac Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X Server for Managing a Home Network haravikk Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 30 Mar 1, 2014 07:35 AM
Mass Home Server/Network Setup w/ OS X Server WAM2 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Jun 29, 2013 09:18 AM
Home Network/Server eightysjoe Buying Tips and Advice 16 Mar 8, 2013 12:26 AM
OS X Lion Server Purchase for Home Network dmax35 Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 7 Jan 23, 2013 11:48 AM
Home NAS/Network storage extension and backup solution misterklubhead Mac Peripherals 31 Jan 16, 2013 09:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC