Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

c1phr

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 8, 2011
I've been looking around the web at comparisons of these two bodies, and I'm still at a loss of which might be best (based on a few different things). I won't be buying either camera for a little while however.

First and foremost: I'm a photographer, so I want a photographer's camera, not a camera that hybridizes between photos and video.

Existing Canon gear: I'm upgrading from an EOS 10D (!!), so I have the kit lens for that (it's been adequate for what I've needed so far) which is an EF 28-135mm 3.5-5.6 USM. I also have a Speedlite 420ex (e-ttl).

Existing Nikon gear: 2 lenses left over from the film days (on an N65). A Nikkor 28-80mm 3.3-5.6 and a Quantary (Sigma rebrand) 70-300mm 4-5.6 and an offbrand external flash (which works in optical slave with my 420ex and has manual settings).

I've used the D7000 (borrowed for an assignment a few weeks ago) and absolutely loved it, the ergonomics of the dual wheels for full manual shooting was just perfect. The Canon spin wheel on the back of the camera is a little more difficult for me, as I'm a left-eyed shooter. But, I'm used to the Canon build and I was able to try a 60D in Best Buy one day, which felt pretty good in the hand (or at least, as good as possible with the big anti-left cord coming out of the bottom).

Pros for the 60D: I already have a lens for it (as well as a set of 72mm filters) and I can buy the 50mm prime I want now and use it until I get the new body. I can control my 420ex wirelessly from the pop-up (and in turn the other flashgun). However, I don't shoot with flash that much, as I generally do landscape photography and I'm far from a strobist in any sense. The 60D is also cheaper.