Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oli*w

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 31, 2011
Hi all, i'm new to the forum, hope i'm in the right place!

I have an old Mac Mini that has been sat looking a little sorry for its self. I had a brainwave yesterday... ok i'm not the most tech savvy person so stick with me... can I turn my old Mini into a file server? access it by using FTP?

I have started to get it working, and when at home it works a treat but the moment I go elsewhere it doesn't work. I have been trying to use all free software so accessing it using Cyberduck on my Macbook Pro. I have just graduated so on a budget...

the Mini is a G4 with the 1.25GHz processor, 256MB of RAM and a 40GB hard drive (I'm thinking I will add a couple of external hard drives if it works well) its running 10.3.9.

I'm a freelance designer, so would like to enable other people to access it to. maybe if I could setup a restricted account for other people?

I would also like to run it without a screen so maybe remote access would be good but I cant imagine that would work without spending some money... I know i'm being very stingy! it might also be a problem because my Macbook Pro is running Snow Leopard?

Any help would be amazing!

Oli

Last edited:

MacForScience

macrumors 6502
Sep 7, 2010
USA
I recommend you read about managing servers and then consider if you really want to do it. (http://www.apple.com/server/macosx/docs/File_Server_Admin_v10.6.pdf)

If you are not tech savvy you most likely will end-up with more frustration then success. A G4 mini is never going to be much of a server so you are essentially talking about an FTP share. My guesses as to why you can't access it offsite:

1.) You have a dynamic IP
2.) Your router is blocking you
3.) Your settings are wrong on your Mini or on your access computer

Cheers

Paulywauly

macrumors 6502a
Sep 26, 2009
Durham, UK