Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 31, 2011, 07:56 PM   #1
marktronics
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
extending wireless network with Airport Express

I have a D-Link DIR-655. I have a power-over-ethernet set up to get a wired connection to my Airport Express. I want to extend the wireless network from my D-Link.

I followed the instructions posted here: https://discussions.apple.com/messag...ageID=12007114

The main instructions are as follows:

Click the Base Station tab below the icons to name your device, assign a device password and adjust Time Zone settings.

Click the Wireless tab below the icons
Wireless Mode = Create a wireless network
Wireless Network Name = Exact name of your Netgear network
Radio Mode = 802.11n (802.11b/g compatible)
Channel = Automatic
Wireless Security = Exact setting of your Netgear router
Wireless Password = Same password as the Netgear

Click the Internet icon
Connect Using = Ethernet
Connection Sharing = Off (Bridge Mode)

In the end, I do have only one wireless network, since the SSID, is the same.

The issue is - I will sit in front of the Airport Express and get horrible signal including high latency, dropped packets.

Thoughts?
marktronics is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2011, 07:22 AM   #2
b-rad g
macrumors 6502a
 
b-rad g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by marktronics View Post
Click the Wireless tab below the icons

Wireless Mode = Create a wireless network

Thoughts?
Not saying it's wrong, but why would you "Create a wireless Network"?

Seems like you should choose "Join" or "Extend" Wireless Network. IDK, hopefully someone with more experience will hop in.
b-rad g is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2011, 07:31 AM   #3
nebo1ss
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by marktronics View Post
I have a D-Link DIR-655. I have a power-over-ethernet set up to get a wired connection to my Airport Express. I want to extend the wireless network from my D-Link.

I followed the instructions posted here: https://discussions.apple.com/messag...ageID=12007114

The main instructions are as follows:

Click the Base Station tab below the icons to name your device, assign a device password and adjust Time Zone settings.

Click the Wireless tab below the icons
Wireless Mode = Create a wireless network
Wireless Network Name = Exact name of your Netgear network
Radio Mode = 802.11n (802.11b/g compatible)
Channel = Automatic
Wireless Security = Exact setting of your Netgear router
Wireless Password = Same password as the Netgear

Click the Internet icon
Connect Using = Ethernet
Connection Sharing = Off (Bridge Mode)

In the end, I do have only one wireless network, since the SSID, is the same.

The issue is - I will sit in front of the Airport Express and get horrible signal including high latency, dropped packets.

Thoughts?
You have two options for setting up your network.

You can extend the existing network by selecting Extend a wireless network instead of create a wireless network. In this case you do not need to use the
Ethernet connector extension. The Express will pick up the wireless signal and extend it.

The alternative is to do what you are doing and connect over Ethernet and use create a wireless network but you should give it a different name that the existing network.
nebo1ss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2011, 08:44 AM   #4
marktronics
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebo1ss View Post
You have two options for setting up your network.

You can extend the existing network by selecting Extend a wireless network instead of create a wireless network. In this case you do not need to use the
Ethernet connector extension. The Express will pick up the wireless signal and extend it.

The alternative is to do what you are doing and connect over Ethernet and use create a wireless network but you should give it a different name that the existing network.
I was under the assumption that the Airport Express could not wireless extend networks created by non-Apple routers, hence why I have an ethernet cord plugged into it. I feel that would give me improved performance anyways, right?
marktronics is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 12:33 PM   #5
Vicmeow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Marktronics, did you ever resolve this issue? I am also trying to extend a non-Apple network using Airport Express. This seems to be the only question in the history of the universe that cannot be answered by some genius on the internet.

Does anyone know whether this has been solved?

These wonderful people posted solutions to older routers (FIVE years ago!) but the dialogs aren't really the same. It's all very messy and I couldn't make it work:

Linksys WRT54G, Airport Express, and WDS
http://rgbdream.com/?p=44

and
Extend a Linksys WRT54G network via AirPort Express http://hints.macworld.com/article.ph...60609053254368

FYI, here is my info:

I have a Linksys WRT150N router and Airport Express 802.11n (AX)

I bought the AX new about a year ago and never got around to tackling the setup... when I plugged in the AX lastnight, I allowed a firmware upgrade, which was probably the last nail in the coffin of making this work.

Current setup:

The ROUTER is in an office that's detached from the house. (The buildings are about 10 feet apart.)

THE PROBLEM: The wireless signal in the house is weak and I want to improve it by extending the network using the AX.

An ethernet cable is hard-wired to the house (in the location where I want to improve wireless signal). That cable is connected to an AppleTV device for the television.

THE PLAN:

Part 1. Extend wired network using workgroup HUB in the house: Plug ethernet cable to UPLINK port on hub (other end is connected to router in other building). Come OUT of the hub with another ethernet cable to the AppleTV device. After doing this, the AppleTV device is working fine.

Part 2 of the Plan Which Should Be Easy But Doesn't Work: Connect ethernet cable OUT of the hub INTO the AX; then enable a wireless signal from the AX.

I cannot enable WDS for the AX because Apple prevents WDS to be activated unless it detects an Apple device to extend from. (They've become Grade-A control-freak jerks.)

Any help out there? Thank you.

Victoria
Vicmeow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 12:41 PM   #6
skorpien
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Set the Express in bridge mode. This allows your current router to handle DHCP and only uses the Express as a wireless access point. Then you can name the SSID on the Express anything you want, set up any encryption you want, and any devices connected to that SSID should be able to see all devices connected to your other router/SSID.
__________________
17" 2.6 GHz Penryn MBP
Collector's Edition 2.4 GHz Alu MB
Time Capsule 2TB (1st Gen); Apple TV 160GB; iPhone 5S 64GB; iPod Video 30GB
skorpien is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Tags
airport express, extending networks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issues when extending airport extreme network with airport express Birkovic Mac Peripherals 17 Yesterday 08:47 AM
Airport Express not extending network. ausmint Mac Peripherals 2 Mar 16, 2014 11:15 AM
Airport Express Extending Network Josh Kahane Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Jan 7, 2013 09:55 AM
Extending Network with Airport Express RNVarma Mac Peripherals 2 Nov 12, 2012 02:46 PM
Airport Express Extending Network FamiliaPhoto Mac Peripherals 8 Oct 2, 2012 10:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC