Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 20, 2005, 09:08 AM   #1
pulsewidth947
macrumors 65816
 
pulsewidth947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: squarefrog.co.uk
USB KVM Switch UK?

I've been trying to find a USB KVM switch in the UK, and i'm not having much luck. The only ones i can find are ones where the output of the keys/mouse is usb, but the Input of the unit is PS/2.

I really want one with USB inputs, so i can use an Apple keyboard. Does anyone have any idea of where to look? I've checked ebay, dabs, ebuyer, pc world. They only seem to sell the PS/2 > USB ones..

ta!
pulsewidth947 is offline   0
Old Mar 20, 2005, 09:21 AM   #2
cubist
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Muncie, Indiana
Send a message via AIM to cubist
We are in a time of transition. Soon, there will be dozens of USB/DVI KVMs which work perfectly. At this time, though, KVMs are mostly VGA/PS2.

You can get adapters which convert PS2 to USB and the other way quite cheaply. I've used an old Master Console for years this way. I must note, however, that I wasn't able to get the Apple keyboard to talk to the Master Console with a USB-to-PS2 adapter. Newer models may work better.

The best bet might be to use one of the little $90 jobs temporarily, and plan to get a new KVM in a year or two when better models are available. If you can't get the Apple KB to work thru an adapter, make sure you get a PS2 keyboard that has the Windows key, as that will become your cloverleaf key. F12 is eject.
cubist is offline   0
Old Mar 20, 2005, 11:40 AM   #3
dotdotdot
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
A way to get 'around' the issue of the USB apple keyboards not working - buy a crappy, $10 PS/2 keyboard and plug that in. Put it behind your mac or somewhere unnoticable... then plug the USB keyboard into a USB slot and it should work...

That is if you get a PS/2 KVM which also has 2 USB ports...
dotdotdot is offline   0
Old Mar 20, 2005, 11:59 AM   #4
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Dabs do a couple of Dr. Bott ones.

That one and the 4 socket one.

We have the 4 socket one at work and Dabs is where I got it from.
Blue Velvet is offline   0
Old Mar 20, 2005, 01:15 PM   #5
pulsewidth947
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
pulsewidth947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: squarefrog.co.uk
Thanks for your replys.. at nearly 100 for that Dr Bott one, i think i'll give it a miss.

I'll just buy a cheap one just for monitor switching.. i got a ps/2 keyboard and a cheap usb keyboard that i can leave plugged into PC/mini mac. And i'll just swap my m$ optical mouse over

its just becoming a pain in the arse swapping the monitor over everytime i wanna play a game or jam in Reason!
pulsewidth947 is offline   0
Old Mar 20, 2005, 02:40 PM   #6
dotdotdot
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Well, If you own 2 keyboards and 2 mice then why don't you check to see if your monitor already supports 2 computers and that will save you money?
dotdotdot is offline   0
Old Mar 21, 2005, 04:55 AM   #7
pulsewidth947
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
pulsewidth947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: squarefrog.co.uk
Yeah i have it doesnt. Its a cheap 15" analogue TFT from about 3 years ago.

I think i've got enough desk space for another 15".. might look into that. One with DVI, as that would be cool when i'm writing music
pulsewidth947 is offline   0
Old Mar 21, 2005, 05:01 AM   #8
stevep
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK
What about this one from Amazon.co.uk ? - no audio but only about 30.
stevep is offline   0
Old Mar 21, 2005, 07:13 AM   #9
pulsewidth947
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
pulsewidth947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: squarefrog.co.uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevep
What about this one from Amazon.co.uk ? - no audio but only about 30.
Thats absolutely perfect Steve!! I'll order it as soon as I get in from work

Thanks for all your help guys.

:EDIT: i took the plunge and bought it, i'll let you know how i get on. I never think of checking amazon for computer goods! I still think of Amazon as a Book/Music/DVD store!

Last edited by pulsewidth947; Mar 21, 2005 at 08:41 AM. Reason: adding info..
pulsewidth947 is offline   0
Old Mar 21, 2005, 11:04 AM   #10
stevep
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: UK
Hope it works for you - I would like to know how you get on with it. Good luck
stevep is offline   0
Old Mar 24, 2005, 12:25 PM   #11
pulsewidth947
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
pulsewidth947's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: squarefrog.co.uk
Got my Belkin KVM switch today.. my initial impressions are that its really nice. Once you press the button to switch, it takes about a second for the keyboard and mouse to become usable, but that beats unplugging them from the back of the PC then plugging them into the Mini!!

I'll update the post after a few weeks if anything strange starts happening, but right now i'm happy. 25 and it does what i want, and i didnt have to install any drivers on my PC.. awesome..
pulsewidth947 is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB KVM-switch for rMBP Boomhowler MacBook Pro 0 Apr 9, 2014 02:26 AM
Best KVM switch for Mac - PC combination ? gvanvoor Mac Basics and Help 1 Nov 22, 2013 09:21 PM
PC>KVM Switch<MAC mini DotCom2 Mac mini 6 Nov 10, 2013 11:05 AM
KVM switch or Software for Power PC G5, 10.4.11? tanquiano PowerPC Macs 1 Sep 4, 2013 04:44 PM
One PC one Mac mini.... KVM switch? flatfoot99 Mac mini 24 Jun 18, 2013 09:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC