Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DeltaHF

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 14, 2008
I'm an iOS developer, and I'm considering installing the iOS 5 Developer Preview on my iPhone 4 to take advantage of the new features and begin testing my own applications. Are these "beta" iOS releases generally stable enough to use on a daily basis? Is this a bad idea for my personal, primary cell phone?

I'd appreciate input from any of you who may have already upgraded to iOS 5 or have used developer preview versions of iOS before.

DDustiNN

macrumors 68020
Jan 27, 2011
I am considering installing iOS 5 too, since I have a developer account, and I would genuinely like to know the answers to the OP's question... :(

Last edited by a moderator:

RafaelT

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2010
NM
Wondering the same thing. I am ok with new features being buggy and not working. But I need the core features to be stable enough so I can still use my phone, I don't have a test device.

Branskins

macrumors 65816
Dec 8, 2008
I am just going to go for it. If there are major bugs, hopefully they are willing to fix them quickly OTA!

Hansr

macrumors 6502a
Apr 1, 2007
Using beta software on a primary device is generally a really bad idea, especially something as essential as a phone. If you are an active developer grab a iPod touch or a second iPhone to use as a dev device.

RafaelT

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2010
NM
So can anyone help a new developer with the whole install process and what needs to be done in terms of registering the device?

I just signed up a few days ago and I think I have it figured out but I want to be sure.

RafaelT

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2010
NM
Yes, my biggest thing is figuring out exactly what I need to register and where on the dev site so I can install it on my phone.

mms13

macrumors 6502
Jun 29, 2010
Baltimore, MD