Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2005, 08:50 PM   #1
Joeytpg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vienna, Austria
Powerbook Hard Drive Replacement?

hi guys, i'm in need of a new Hard Drive, i was thinking about buying an external drive (120 - 160 gb) but i started thinking.....can i replace my powerbook 60gb internal hard drive?.....for a bigger/faster drive?

if so, where can i get it?...how much would it cost?

What do you recommend?...to keep the original drive and buy an external for storage ?


thank you.

-Joey-
Joeytpg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2005, 10:27 PM   #2
deebster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Olde Englande
What Powerbook do you have?

The 12" model is slightly more difficult (read: scary) to open up, but it is still doable.

The hard drive is just a basic 2.5" laptop drive, so there are plenty of choices as to where to buy them, and many manufacturers to choose from.

The maximum capacity of laptop drives has just hit 100 GB, so if you were thinking of being able to put a 'bigger' drive than that in then you are out of luck mate.

Also, bear in mind that drives come in different speeds (4,200 - 5,400 - 7,200 rpm) so if you are getting a new one then don't waste your time and money with 4,200 rpm. Current powerbooks all have 5,400 rpm ones, but many users report that 7,2000 works fine also. The choice is of course yours.

www.xlr8yourmac.com has a database of user reports and also many links to online guides for opening and working on the internals of 'books.
deebster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2005, 07:20 AM   #3
Joeytpg
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vienna, Austria
thanks you very much dude.......

i'll start looking, if it's only 100 gb then i think an external would suit me better..........'cause i'll have 60 gb (the origianl h.d. in my powerbook) and 120 + extra gb from the external.

by the way i have a 15" pbook, rev c. 1.33ghz, 768 ram, 4,200 rpm drive. I'd love to have 7,200, because i've heard they work a lot faster, but i guess i'd complement that when i buy my 1gb stick of ram and have 1.5gb

anyways, thanks a a lot


anyone else?

another suggestion?
Joeytpg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2005, 07:22 AM   #4
Lacero
macrumors 601
 
Lacero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
My PB HD just crashed so I am also looking at getting a new HD for my PB? Still under warranty. Do you think I can get Apple to replace my HD with a bigger and faster model?
Lacero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2005, 09:28 AM   #5
aricher
macrumors 68020
 
aricher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chi-il
I doubt that they would replace it with a bigger/faster model free of charge. is your PB under AppleCare/ Usually they will just replace it with a comparable hard drive to what the original drive is. Also, if you install a new HD yourself you will void your AppleCare. If you have AC you should buy a new drive online and then take it into an authorized Apple service specialist for installation. If your PB isn't under AppleCare anymore you can either install yourself or take it into a service specialist for installation.
aricher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 08:51 AM   #6
YS2003
macrumors 68020
 
YS2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finally I have arrived.....
replacing an internal HD for 550 MHz Ti PB

My old Ti PB has a 20 GB (more like a 18 GB when formatted). I would like to put in 80 GB or 100 GB internal HD. I heard any 2.5 inch notebook/internal HD should fit for PB (Ti, Al) and iBook as long as HD's height is 9.5 mm. I am interested in getting a Seagate 100 GB at 5200 RPM; its spec says its width is 2.75 inch and its height is 9.5 mm.

Some of the PB repair web sites showed their replacment internal HD's width is 2.5 inch. Does 2.75 inch fit in the Ti PB?
__________________
YS2003
Mac, High tech, Cars, Diving, Digital Cameras, Fountain Pens... every year, my toys are ever more expensive... well, time to get on with the rat race!
YS2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 10:55 AM   #7
DickArmAndHarT
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lacero
My PB HD just crashed so I am also looking at getting a new HD for my PB? Still under warranty. Do you think I can get Apple to replace my HD with a bigger and faster model?
Nope, but they will give you the same model

Or if it gets around 6 repairs, and they dont fix your issues and you yell and scream, they give you a new one My hopefully now 1.67 from 1ghz model is on the way, or the older but beter 1.5 ghz would be just dandy !!!
DickArmAndHarT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 11:05 AM   #8
zap2
macrumors 604
 
zap2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington D.C
Quote:
Originally Posted by deebster
What Powerbook do you have?

The maximum capacity of laptop drives has just hit 100 GB, so if you were thinking of being able to put a 'bigger' drive than that in then you are out of luck mate.
Then How does Apple have a 120GB in there 17'' laptop??
__________________
"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by." Will Rogers
zap2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 11:25 AM   #9
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by YS2003
My old Ti PB has a 20 GB (more like a 18 GB when formatted). I would like to put in 80 GB or 100 GB internal HD. I heard any 2.5 inch notebook/internal HD should fit for PB (Ti, Al) and iBook as long as HD's height is 9.5 mm. I am interested in getting a Seagate 100 GB at 5200 RPM; its spec says its width is 2.75 inch and its height is 9.5 mm.

Some of the PB repair web sites showed their replacment internal HD's width is 2.5 inch. Does 2.75 inch fit in the Ti PB?
2.5" is a standardized size, there are no 2.7" drives. That must be a typo.

Seagate - Seagate Momentus 5400.2 ST9100823A - Hard drive - 100 GB - internal - 2.5" - ATA-100 - 44 pin IDC - 5400 rpm - buffer: 8 MB


It is an excellent policy to have an external Firewire drive no matter what you decide to do with the internal. It can be a backup, a stay-at-home storage when you want to travel light, a bootable drive for repairs/disasters, and because the firewire drive is a less expensive, faster 3.5" drive, you get more for the money. So if you are considering a 120 Gb internal laptop drive for $mucho.00 , get an 80 Gb internal instead and a 160 Gb external Firewire.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 12:22 PM   #10
YS2003
macrumors 68020
 
YS2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finally I have arrived.....
Seagate 100 GB 5400 rpm

I just put in the Seagate 100 GB in my Ti PB, following the steps shown on PBFixIt website. So far, I was able to take out the old IBM Travelmate 20 GB hard drive and put in this new Seagate. I securely put in the orange connector to this Seagate and click the other end of the connector to the mother board.

As I boot up from OS DVD to install the OS, the installer does not show the hard drive. "Select a Destination" window in the installation process does not show any hard drive.

Can someone tell me how to make this new Seagate HD recognized by this Ti PB?
__________________
YS2003
Mac, High tech, Cars, Diving, Digital Cameras, Fountain Pens... every year, my toys are ever more expensive... well, time to get on with the rat race!
YS2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 12:34 PM   #11
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by YS2003
I just put in the Seagate 100 GB in my Ti PB, following the steps shown on PBFixIt website. So far, I was able to take out the old IBM Travelmate 20 GB hard drive and put in this new Seagate. I securely put in the orange connector to this Seagate and click the other end of the connector to the mother board.

As I boot up from OS DVD to install the OS, the installer does not show the hard drive. "Select a Destination" window in the installation process does not show any hard drive.

Can someone tell me how to make this new Seagate HD recognized by this Ti PB?
You need to Erase the hard drive (format it) with Disk Utility first. Boot from your OS CD and choose Disk Utility from the menu.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 12:49 PM   #12
YS2003
macrumors 68020
 
YS2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finally I have arrived.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
You need to Erase the hard drive (format it) with Disk Utility first. Boot from your OS CD and choose Disk Utility from the menu.
Thank you, CanadaRam. I will do that. Before I saw your post, out of desparation, I pulled out the old Apple Hardware Test CD (which came with my Ti originally) to give it a quick test (of course, hardware passed the test).
__________________
YS2003
Mac, High tech, Cars, Diving, Digital Cameras, Fountain Pens... every year, my toys are ever more expensive... well, time to get on with the rat race!
YS2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 01:10 PM   #13
Heb1228
macrumors 68020
 
Heb1228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Send a message via AIM to Heb1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by deebster
The maximum capacity of laptop drives has just hit 100 GB, so if you were thinking of being able to put a 'bigger' drive than that in then you are out of luck mate.
I just upgraded the HD in my PB to a 120GB Seagate 5400 rpm drive. I cost around $240 or so from newegg.com. I didn't think the installation was too bad, I'd say medium level difficulty.

CanadaRAM is right about it being a good idea to also have an external drive.

If you're having to upgrade from a 60GB drive, you'll probably run out of space again quickly with 80GB. I'd say a 100GB drive is he minimum you should think of and if you can afford it, go ahead and get the 120. You can never have too much HD space.
Heb1228 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2005, 02:08 PM   #14
YS2003
macrumors 68020
 
YS2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finally I have arrived.....
I am now installing OS on this new Seagate 100 GB hard drive in my Ti PB. I bought Norwood Micros' white enclosure so that I can use Ti's old 20 GB for an external storage. I already have Maxtor 250 GB, Lacie 250 GB, Lacie 160 GB, Lacie Mobile 100 GB, Acom 160 GB. So, I am currently having more than enough storage capacity.
__________________
YS2003
Mac, High tech, Cars, Diving, Digital Cameras, Fountain Pens... every year, my toys are ever more expensive... well, time to get on with the rat race!
YS2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2005, 09:04 AM   #15
Over Achiever
macrumors 68000
 
Over Achiever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
Send a message via AIM to Over Achiever Send a message via Yahoo to Over Achiever Send a message via Skype™ to Over Achiever
I just wanted to add my input as to replacing the hard drive using pbfixit's website, and it was much easier than I expected. One think you should remember is to reconnect the keyboard/trackpad connector at the bottom of the laptop, that is a little tricky!

Otherwise the whole procedure is very straight forward, if it doesn't recognize the HD you should format and erase it. Usually they come initialized already, but not always the case.

Applecare will not replace your HD with a bigger and better model, they will match the current stock HD. If they happen to not have the correct speed, they will bump up the speed, but that is doubtful.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgment."
Panasonic Lumix GF1 11" MBA | Dell XT Google Nexus One
Over Achiever is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive replacement Msaavedra Mac Basics and Help 13 Jun 21, 2014 10:34 PM
Hard Drive Replacement Borja1055 MacBook 4 Nov 26, 2013 06:00 PM
iMac no longer sees fusion drive after hard drive replacement cole01 iMac 6 Jul 21, 2013 11:44 AM
Hard drive replacement headviking MacBook Pro 9 Oct 31, 2012 07:24 PM
Hard Drive Replacement Help ChrisR01 MacBook Pro 4 Jul 5, 2012 04:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC