Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2005, 10:36 PM   #1
GeeYouEye
macrumors 68000
 
GeeYouEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: State of Denial
Send a message via AIM to GeeYouEye Send a message via Yahoo to GeeYouEye
Launching X11, xterm with command

Does anyone know a way to launch Apple's X11, and then tell the xterm that shows up to run a command? I have the equivalent working for Terminal.app (via NSTask), but I really need to be able to do the same thing for X11. I'm not opposed to kludgy solutions, but so far I've come up with nothing.
__________________
I bring order to chaos. You are in chaos Windows, you are the contradiction, a bug wishing to be an OS.
Visit Softyards Software
NEW DEFINITION OF GEEK
Like politics, free speech, computers, entertainment, and more? Join us at Wordforge.net

Last edited by GeeYouEye; Mar 21, 2005 at 10:39 PM.
GeeYouEye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2005, 12:29 AM   #2
khammack
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Portland, OR
No need for a kludge. Launch a terminal and run these commands:

$ cp /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc .xinitrc
$ chmod +x .xinitrc

Now edit .xinitrc, and find this section:
Quote:
# start some nice programs

xterm &
You can add another 'xterm' command, suppose you want to run "top":

Quote:
xterm &

xterm -e top &
-kev
khammack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2005, 02:55 PM   #3
GeeYouEye
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
GeeYouEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: State of Denial
Send a message via AIM to GeeYouEye Send a message via Yahoo to GeeYouEye
Thanks, but I guess I wasn't being clear. I meant how to programmaticly do that in Cocoa, but no worries, I've got it working now.
__________________
I bring order to chaos. You are in chaos Windows, you are the contradiction, a bug wishing to be an OS.
Visit Softyards Software
NEW DEFINITION OF GEEK
Like politics, free speech, computers, entertainment, and more? Join us at Wordforge.net
GeeYouEye is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remap command q to command h and vice versa? TheArgonaut OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Jan 29, 2014 09:08 AM
General: iOS7 command line... Equivalent of "say" command? RobertoG Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Jan 19, 2014 05:05 PM
X11 installed in /opt/X11/ but can't point to it in Finder phyrexia OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Nov 20, 2013 03:52 PM
Remote xterm with XQuartz Cave Man Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 9 Oct 11, 2013 09:23 AM
Copy/Paste in xterm Cave Man OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 30, 2013 04:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC