Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Old Jun 7, 2011, 12:26 PM   #1
Reg88
macrumors member

Install Application for Single User Only - Is is Possible? Assistance needed, please

Hi,
I'm new to OS X and I'm wondering if it's possible to install an application for only one user. And then also to unstall an application for only one user. I have two examples below of what I'm talking about:

1) My OS X iMac has three user accounts. Following instructions I saw on another forum, I installed the DW CS5 trial within user1's account under /users/user1/user1Applications/dwcs5 -- thinking that as long as I didn't install it in the global /applications folder, then it would be restricted to user1 only.

However the DW icon appears on all THREE users desktops.

2) I installed SpiderOak (a backup program along the lines of dropbox, etc) and each account has it's own install. Now ONE of the user accounts is having a problem and I need to reinstall the software. Can I uninstall an application -- located in /Applications -- just for one user and then reinstall it?

Thank you so much for any help.
Reg88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 7, 2011, 07:37 PM   #2
MisterMe
macrumors G4

If the application uses Installer, then you may have no choice but to install it in the global Applications folder. Quite a few applications present you with a choice, but do not actually give you the choice. If the application uses drag & drop installation, then you should simply drag it to the specific user's Applications folder.

In the case of your Example No. 1, you intended to install the application into a specific user's Applications folder. However, you actually installed it in the global Applications folder. The Applications folder in your Finder sidebar is the global folder.