Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 8, 2011, 12:01 AM   #1
MrMatt90
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Question iOS 5 Beta 1: Software Update Network Unavailable?

Hey guys just a quick question, been running the new beta, loving it, I know iTunes sync does not work as this is mentioned in the release notes. However, I tried software update and expected to see "Your software is up to date" or something along those lines, but instead I get a message saying the network is unavailable or too slow, and to connect to WiFi. I get said message while connected to a WiFi network. So is anyone else experiencing this? Is Apple's update server down? Is the feature disabled and just not mentioned in the release notes? Or is there something else going on?

Someone enlighten me here.
MrMatt90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 12:03 AM   #2
macingman
macrumors 68020
 
macingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I get the same thing when I try also. I assume apple hasn't turned on the system which sends OTA software upsets yet.
__________________
I am a professional DJ
macingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 12:04 AM   #3
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMatt90 View Post
Hey guys just a quick question, been running the new beta, loving it, I know iTunes sync does not work as this is mentioned in the release notes. However, I tried software update and expected to see "Your software is up to date" or something along those lines, but instead I get a message saying the network is unavailable or too slow, and to connect to WiFi. I get said message while connected to a WiFi network. So is anyone else experiencing this? Is their update server down? Is the feature disabled and just not mentioned in the release notes? Or is there something else going on?

Someone enlighten me here.
I don't have the beta (or for that matter a registered UDID or a dev account), but I'd be willing to bet that the OTA updates aren't even up yet.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 12:21 AM   #4
MrMatt90
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Okay, I think you guys misunderstand where I am coming from, I understand there won't be any OTA updates yet, it would be unheard of for them to start coming out this quickly, but what I am getting at, is, whether there is anything to connect to at all, for example a server simply to say yes your up to date. Or if they just haven't bothered setting up anything at all, and the only message they have coded in to explain what's happening is blaming our connection instead of saying there is no update server to connect to?
MrMatt90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 12:23 AM   #5
Mr Slippy IV
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMatt90 View Post
Okay, I think you guys misunderstand where I am coming from, I understand there won't be any OTA updates yet, it would be unheard of for them to start coming out this quickly, but what I am getting at, is, whether there is anything to connect to at all, for example a server simply to say yes your up to date. Or if they just haven't bothered setting up anything at all, and the only message they have coded in to explain what's happening is blaming our connection instead of saying there is no update server to connect to?
I think that there's nothing to connect to and the notification you're getting is the only way the OS knows how to tell you that the connection isn't going through. Once again, this is my amateurish two cents but it's all I've got.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro Early 2011 2.2 GHz
iPhone 4 32GB Black (CDMA)
Mr Slippy IV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 01:50 AM   #6
J Griz 757
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMatt90 View Post
Okay, I think you guys misunderstand where I am coming from, I understand there won't be any OTA updates yet, it would be unheard of for them to start coming out this quickly, but what I am getting at, is, whether there is anything to connect to at all, for example a server simply to say yes your up to date. Or if they just haven't bothered setting up anything at all, and the only message they have coded in to explain what's happening is blaming our connection instead of saying there is no update server to connect to?

Everyone on this beta should be getting the same thing. I get the same message as well. The software doesn't tell it that there is anything to connect to yet.

I assume the next beta or two will get this feature rolling.
__________________
Black iPhone 5 64gb | 13" Macbook Pro (2012), i7, 8GB RAM| Black iPad 3, 64gb | White iPad 2 32gb, 3g|
iPod Nano 2nd Gen(fav gen), 8gb | iPod Nano 6th Gen, 8gb| aTV(2012)|
J Griz 757 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2011, 05:11 AM   #7
macingman
macrumors 68020
 
macingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMatt90 View Post
Okay, I think you guys misunderstand where I am coming from, I understand there won't be any OTA updates yet, it would be unheard of for them to start coming out this quickly, but what I am getting at, is, whether there is anything to connect to at all, for example a server simply to say yes your up to date. Or if they just haven't bothered setting up anything at all, and the only message they have coded in to explain what's happening is blaming our connection instead of saying there is no update server to connect to?
That's what I said. I said I doubt apple has tuned on the OTA system meaning the servers aren't up yet.
__________________
I am a professional DJ
macingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason for iPhone being factory-reset updating to iOS 5 sobelizard iOS 5 and earlier 1 Oct 18, 2011 08:43 AM
iOS 5: Do I need to upgrade to 4.3.5 first? illiniry iOS 5 and earlier 5 Oct 12, 2011 01:15 PM
Resolved: Please help! iOS 5 beta 7 problems! matthew12 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Aug 31, 2011 09:23 PM
Can you downgrade from iOS 5 Beta 5? iWannaBeAdored iPhone 18 Aug 22, 2011 10:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC