Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 23, 2011, 11:20 PM   #26
danjahn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
same here

I have this same issue. As near as I can tell, it happened shortly after installing the latest beta of DropBox.
danjahn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2011, 05:23 AM   #27
amgpac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
...there was a problem connecting to server ...

Same problem here, but not with TextEdit. Seems to pop up after the computer's been idle for about 10 min.. Often it will pop up, I'll click OK, only to have it pop up again and sometimes a 3rd time. It's popped up while playing Angry Birds, while online; there really doesn't seem to be any consistent cause. Tried to reinstall Lion, but problem continues, so suspect it's a program loaded at original installation. Any remedy is greatly appreciated!

Last edited by amgpac; Jul 5, 2011 at 05:26 AM. Reason: subject inaccurate
amgpac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2011, 12:46 PM   #28
amgpac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
...there was a problem connecting to server ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by playmakerx View Post
i already deleted that file, and don't know how to create one...
one more thing i noticed, before deleting that, when i set the permissions in "get info", it shows thisImage
so does it has something to do with dropbox???
I just solved my problem, which was the same perplexing message that kept popping up. It happened to be a Time Machine issue. When I installed Lion, apparently the Time Machine had been turned on by the installer because it kept searching for the Apple.com server, to which I'm not subscribed. Prior to the installation I had always backed up to an external HD; not Apple's online service.
Searching Apple Support Forums, I found "Troubleshooting Time Machine' and followed the instructions to "reset Time Machine". Now things are back to normal. I hope this is of some help.
amgpac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2011, 07:15 AM   #29
sandeewhispers
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by amgpac View Post
I just solved my problem, which was the same perplexing message that kept popping up. It happened to be a Time Machine issue. When I installed Lion, apparently the Time Machine had been turned on by the installer because it kept searching for the Apple.com server, to which I'm not subscribed. Prior to the installation I had always backed up to an external HD; not Apple's online service.
Searching Apple Support Forums, I found "Troubleshooting Time Machine' and followed the instructions to "reset Time Machine". Now things are back to normal. I hope this is of some help.
I was having the same problem and I changed the settings in Time machine. Actually just turned it off because I don't use it either and no more pop up. THANKS!
sandeewhispers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 10:51 PM   #30
playmakerx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Sorry for not replying because of a long trip...Thanks to amgpac and mrapplegate for your kind help.
playmakerx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easiest/Best Version Control System to use with Eclipse? oxfordguy Mac Programming 0 Nov 19, 2011 10:01 AM
FIXED: "could not connect to the server because the name or password is not correct" stewdog1 Mac Basics and Help 3 Aug 28, 2008 06:39 AM
"There was a problem connecting to :22" iceman1407 iPod touch 0 Oct 11, 2007 04:44 PM
Safari Can't Open the Page because it could not connect to the server poppe iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 29, 2007 11:00 AM
No Route to Host/Could not connect to the server gbickford Mac Basics and Help 4 Nov 16, 2006 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC