Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
Jul 4, 2004
Anyone who may have read about our plasma screen at work and the trials and tribulations thereof, will obviously be heartened that the bloody thing has been ordered and will be installed within the next couple of weeks along with a PC (Boo) to run Flash content on.
https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/90405/

Unfortunately, it means an increased workload for me & my colleagues who are print designers by trade.

It is now up to me to get a grasp of Flash so we can get some simple content up there asap. Any recommendations of books, resources, tutorials?

And of course, any other advice would most definitely be welcome.

Thanx
BV

Chaszmyr

macrumors 601
Aug 9, 2002
Macromedia's software comes with a lot of tutorials, as well as a very useful help library. I personally have used the help library, but never the tutorials, I have a couple of friends who taught themselves from the tutorials though. Flash is only a little tough to dive into... But I've been using it for years now and I'm still not particularly good with it, I guess I just don't have the artistic talent necessary.

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
Jul 4, 2004
Thanks. I guess one of the advantages, from our perspective, is that it doesn't have to be interactive like a website. More like a short animation with easily updateable text that's on a loop...

angelneo

macrumors 68000
Jun 13, 2004
afk
Blue Velvet said:
Thanks. I guess one of the advantages, from our perspective, is that it doesn't have to be interactive like a website. More like a short animation with easily updateable text that's on a loop...
You can use external text files as a source for your text in Flash. so in case you need to edit those text often, you just need to edit those text files and flash will read them in.

pulsewidth947

macrumors 65816