Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:33 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Mac OS X Lion Can Run in Chrome OS-Like Browser Only Mode







While all the focus has been the many new features found in iOS 5 Beta, Apple also released a new developer beta of Mac OS X Lion last week.

Many of Mac OS X Lion's features have been known for months, but Apple has snuck in at least one interesting new feature called "Restart to Safari". According to a tipster, on the user lock screen, you are given the option to "Restart to Safari" rather than logging in. This allows you to boot the computer into just the web browser and nothing else. This browser only mode allows unauthorized users to simply browse the web through Safari rather than having access to any personal files or other applications on the machine. Of course with Lion's new auto-save and application restore feature, returning users will find themselves back at the same place they were before the restart. This browser-only mode is reminiscent of Google's lightweight Chrome OS which is designed to offer the user a web-only based operating system.

Apple's motivations for offering such a browser-only mode differs from Google's. Google is partnering with manufacturers in order to build Chrome OS only laptops that offer cheap browser-only machines. Apple's not likely to be going that route with Mac OS X Lion but is instead offering a nice sandboxed mode so Lion can easily act as a secure and anonymous web kiosk.

Article Link: Mac OS X Lion Can Run in Chrome OS-Like Browser Only Mode
MacRumors is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:44 AM   #2
deadlystriker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
THIS > Chrome book
__________________
MacBook Pro 2011 15" 2.2 i7 / 8 GB RAM / 256 GB SSD / Hi-Res Anti Glare
Apple Cinema HD Display 30" ,
MacBook Air 2010 Ultimate 11" SL 10.6.8
White iPhone 4 32GB,
deadlystriker is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:46 AM   #3
World Citizen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
MS remote app

Pleas let someone try to use an MS remote app. ( you know, the internet distributed apps...)

If this works, I will change our company's infra structure.

Mac mini clients, only safarilogon + remote cms and office app. Thats about 50 clients who dont need more than that

10 heavy users can get a normal useracount on the mac, and use rdp to connect to an MS workplace.

I can invest in apple hardware NOW... To change completly in the future.
Our CMS software is bieng rewritten for osx as we speak.. So in 2 year its testetd + we got the hardware = we leave MS except for exchange and office for mac.

Perfect!
World Citizen is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:51 AM   #4
mike5411
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I wonder if a Mac running this browser only mode would have better battery life than running OSX?
mike5411 is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:52 AM   #5
Becordial
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
This would be great for iOS too. If you want to allow people to use your iPad or iPhone but dont want them to go to your email this would be quite handy.
Becordial is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:56 AM   #6
AAPLaday
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester UK
Am I reading this wrong or could anyone who used my Mac now have full access to the internet on it? (Still drunk from last night ha!)
AAPLaday is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:58 AM   #7
8CoreWhore
macrumors 68000
 
8CoreWhore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Big D
Wow! I wonder how much of the OS is running? Maybe all... this is a lock-down feature, not resource saver.
__________________
Late 2013 Haswell 15" rMBP... iPhone 5S iOS7... AEBS 802.11AC ... iPod Shuffle...
8CoreWhore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:05 AM   #8
el3ktro
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
@MacRumors: The official name for this new operating system is now "OS X Lion" and NOT "Mac OS X Lion". Apple dropped the "Mac" in front of it.
el3ktro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:05 AM   #9
Michaelgtrusa
macrumors 601
 
Michaelgtrusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere
Really good.
__________________
iMACAll life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.
TWITTER TUMBLR
Michaelgtrusa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:05 AM   #10
Apple_OD
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

This was actually an advertised feature. It was mentioned as part of the "find my mac" feature to trick potential thieves into using the Internet whilst stopping them from gaining access to any personal files.
Apple_OD is offline   9 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:17 AM   #11
Jens Engels
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Question

Wow this is pretty nice, i hope battery life improves then.

i have also a question, does somebody know a program or anything to only watch movies on you macbook pro, without the whole OS working/booting, so you can have a longer battery power, so more movies to watch?

or will this be integrated also in OS X lion?
Jens Engels is offline   -5 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:20 AM   #12
Gilj
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Great!
So when Apple will close the system completely, and we could install App Store Apps only, we could use the Browser only mode for Jailbreakme.com . YAY!
__________________
Samsung Galaxy Note | 15" 2011 MacBook Pro - 2.2GHz Quad-Core i7, 8GB Ram, Radeon 6750 1GB, 750GB 5400rpm, Anti-glare high resolution display
Gilj is offline   -18 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:21 AM   #13
Gonky
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK
This is a great idea. I work from my Macbook Air so have to always have a regularly changing password set, however it's also my personal computer and sometimes my girlfriend wants to quickly check something online. This is a good way for her to use the web without needing to remember a constantly changing password.
Gonky is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:23 AM   #14
Ulf1103
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

It's not that I'm gonna use that a lot, but it's a nice extra.
Ulf1103 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:38 AM   #15
clinton1550
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Great feature but how do I use it?

I've booted into my Lion DP4 partition to try it out but I can't find the option to restart into Safari. It's not in the Lock Screen or the Login Window.

Did the "tipster" have any further details?
clinton1550 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:40 AM   #16
baryon
macrumors 68030
 
baryon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
What's even better is that Safari Only mode runs not from the primary partition but from the recovery partition. This means that you can use Safari even if your entire system crashes or anything happens to it. That's very useful to get help or do emergency communication.

So unless you have a hardware failure, you will ALWAYS have access to the net.
__________________
Sent from my iPod Shuffle
baryon is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:47 AM   #17
duyvan82
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by clinton1550 View Post
Great feature but how do I use it?

I've booted into my Lion DP4 partition to try it out but I can't find the option to restart into Safari. It's not in the Lock Screen or the Login Window.

Did the "tipster" have any further details?
+1 can't find it anywhere on the lock screen.
__________________
27" iMac Core2Duo (late 2009) | 13" Macbook Pro Core i5 (2011) | Mac mini Core2Duo (early 2009) | iPhone4 16GB
duyvan82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:51 AM   #18
theLimit
macrumors 6502a
 
theLimit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: up tha holler, acrost tha crick
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

Finally, Wife Mode! Now when she wants to use my computer for a minute to surf, she won't accidentally mess up any of my important (porn) files.
theLimit is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:53 AM   #19
AdeFowler
macrumors 68020
 
AdeFowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England
Do Extensions work? How about Flash?

I assume it has access to a subset of fonts? What about Java?

So many questions
__________________
15 2012 MacBook Pro | Mac Pro 6-core | 30 ACD
64gb 3g iPad and an iPod or two
AdeFowler is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:53 AM   #20
xappeal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brisbane - Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to xappeal
It is not on the login screen, but the lock screen.

Set a password, wait for your computer to lock and the option will be on the screen where it asks for your password.
xappeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 04:54 AM   #21
Aussiebute
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Logon Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by clinton1550 View Post
Great feature but how do I use it?

I've booted into my Lion DP4 partition to try it out but I can't find the option to restart into Safari. It's not in the Lock Screen or the Login Window.

Did the "tipster" have any further details?
Quote:
Originally Posted by duyvan82 View Post
+1 can't find it anywhere on the lock screen.
Log off your user account, I think this is on the Logon Screen


Quote:
Originally Posted by xappeal View Post
It is not on the login screen, but the lock screen.

Set a password, wait for your computer to lock and the option will be on the screen where it asks for your password.
sigh i don't have a dev account
Aussiebute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 05:03 AM   #22
clinton1550
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by xappeal View Post
It is not on the login screen, but the lock screen.

Set a password, wait for your computer to lock and the option will be on the screen where it asks for your password.
No dice. I see "Cancel" and "Switch User". A friend on Twitter says he can't find it either.
clinton1550 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 05:08 AM   #23
silexh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Send a message via MSN to silexh Send a message via Skype™ to silexh
Anyone here who can find it? (I can't either)
__________________
iMac G3 (2001) - 15" HR Macbook Pro (2010)
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
silexh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 05:09 AM   #24
Luis Ortega
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fetcham Surrey UK
My little Asus netbook has the same feature called express gate cloud os.
You can press a button on the keyboard and it turns on quickly to the asus os that lets you use the internet and some programs.
To be honest, I don't use it since I prefer to just turn on the netbook and have access to all of its features.
Luis Ortega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 05:10 AM   #25
macsmurf
macrumors 65816
 
macsmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by World Citizen View Post
Pleas let someone try to use an MS remote app. ( you know, the internet distributed apps...)

If this works, I will change our company's infra structure.

Mac mini clients, only safarilogon + remote cms and office app. Thats about 50 clients who dont need more than that

10 heavy users can get a normal useracount on the mac, and use rdp to connect to an MS workplace.

I can invest in apple hardware NOW... To change completly in the future.
Our CMS software is bieng rewritten for osx as we speak.. So in 2 year its testetd + we got the hardware = we leave MS except for exchange and office for mac.

Perfect!
..Or you could just use Citrix today. This is just a kiosk mode feature, albeit a nice one.

The MS platform is actually very well suited for enterprises. That's why so many enterprises use it. You would be insane to leave all that for kiosk mode.

Apple is not an enterprise oriented company and care little for their enterprise customers. A switch from MS to Apple entails a lot of extra risk and should be justified with some heavy benefits. The benefit of kiosk mode? Please
macsmurf is offline   -1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac OS X Lion v 10.7.5 keeps crashing due to Chrome pacuthbert Mac Applications and Mac App Store 15 Jun 11, 2014 09:37 AM
Chrome browser problems? rgr555 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 9 Oct 12, 2013 01:01 PM
mobile OSs: Windows 8 UI within Chrome Browser/Chrome OS Assault Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices 0 Jul 29, 2013 10:03 PM
iWork via Chrome browser jonasdamn iCloud and Apple Services 0 Jun 29, 2013 11:42 AM
Which browser: Chrome or Firefox? MacNoobGuy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Jun 17, 2013 01:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC