Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2011, 02:40 PM   #1
Randomdood
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Iphone says connect to itunes

Ok so i bought an iphone 3gs. When its on, it says connect to itunes when u do it says please insert sim card.So i did, now it says please use official sim card or supported.Now my question is, if i get an official one will i need to activate the phone? I just want to unlock the phone but i cant without sim card, is there an alternative way?Can i unlock the phone without a sim card? How would i find out the os to jailbreak it then unlock.I know how to unlock just never been in this situation.
Randomdood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 02:54 PM   #2
NikFinn
macrumors 6502a
 
NikFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomdood View Post
Ok so i bought an iphone 3gs. When its on, it says connect to itunes when u do it says please insert sim card.So i did, now it says please use official sim card or supported.Now my question is, if i get an official one will i need to activate the phone? I just want to unlock the phone but i cant without sim card, is there an alternative way?Can i unlock the phone without a sim card? How would i find out the os to jailbreak it then unlock.I know how to unlock just never been in this situation.
Did you buy it new or used? If used (and possibly new) you could use tiny umbrella to kick it out of recovery/dfu which should reveal the software version.
__________________
27" iMac i5 2.7Ghz/8GB/1TB. 11" MacBook Air 1.6Ghz/2GB/64GB. 32GB iPhone 5s. 16GB Verizon iPad(3).
NikFinn is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 02:57 PM   #3
Randomdood
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikFinn View Post
Did you buy it new or used? If used (and possibly new) you could use tiny umbrella to kick it out of recovery/dfu which should reveal the software version.
It is used, im lookin at red snow atm and wondering if i should do a hacktivation.My only problem is i dont know the software version, what is this you were recommending? I know dfu mode, but then what would i do to check software again?
Randomdood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:06 PM   #4
NikFinn
macrumors 6502a
 
NikFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomdood View Post
It is used, im lookin at red snow atm and wondering if i should do a hacktivation.My only problem is i dont know the software version, what is this you were recommending? I know dfu mode, but then what would i do to check software again?
If you want to be sure of the software version (for redsn0w and to unlock) you can use Tiny Umbrella. In Tiny Umbrella there's an option labeled "Exit Recovery" (if I remember correctly). This will get you out of the "connect to iTunes screen" and show you the home screen, which will give you access to settings where you can check the software version.

Alternatively, you could try using redsn0w with different IPSW versions until you find one that works.
__________________
27" iMac i5 2.7Ghz/8GB/1TB. 11" MacBook Air 1.6Ghz/2GB/64GB. 32GB iPhone 5s. 16GB Verizon iPad(3).
NikFinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:09 PM   #5
Randomdood
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikFinn View Post
If you want to be sure of the software version (for redsn0w and to unlock) you can use Tiny Umbrella. In Tiny Umbrella there's an option labeled "Exit Recovery" (if I remember correctly). This will get you out of the "connect to iTunes screen" and show you the home screen, which will give you access to settings where you can check the software version.

Alternatively, you could try using redsn0w with different IPSW versions until you find one that works.
Thank you, but i hear if you keep guessing, you will have to do a real restore because you could potentially ruin your os.
Randomdood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:13 PM   #6
NikFinn
macrumors 6502a
 
NikFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomdood View Post
Thank you, but i hear if you keep guessing, you will have to do a real restore because you could potentially ruin your os.
No problem.

I've never heard of that problem before. But the first method, Tiny Umbrella, is incredibly simple.
__________________
27" iMac i5 2.7Ghz/8GB/1TB. 11" MacBook Air 1.6Ghz/2GB/64GB. 32GB iPhone 5s. 16GB Verizon iPad(3).
NikFinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:18 PM   #7
Randomdood
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikFinn View Post
No problem.

I've never heard of that problem before. But the first method, Tiny Umbrella, is incredibly simple.
Yes dld it verified what i already knew, this can put your iphone in recover mode.And tell you all the info on it/ now what else can you do with this, if you dont mind me asking it seems like an incredibly powerful tool tbh.
Randomdood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:25 PM   #8
NikFinn
macrumors 6502a
 
NikFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomdood View Post
Yes dld it verified what i already knew, this can put your iphone in recover mode.And tell you all the info on it/ now what else can you do with this, if you dont mind me asking it seems like an incredibly powerful tool tbh.
It's primary function is to save your SHSH blobs, and allow you to restore to an older version of iOS if you have the blobs saved. iTunes/Apple only signs the newest firmware version, so if you tried to restore to 4.1, for example, iTunes would throw an error. If you run Tiny Umbrella and start the TSS server, it will trick iTunes into thinking Apple is still signing whatever software version you're trying to install, as long as you have that blob saved inside of Tiny Umbrella.
__________________
27" iMac i5 2.7Ghz/8GB/1TB. 11" MacBook Air 1.6Ghz/2GB/64GB. 32GB iPhone 5s. 16GB Verizon iPad(3).
NikFinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:28 PM   #9
Randomdood
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikFinn View Post
It's primary function is to save your SHSH blobs, and allow you to restore to an older version of iOS if you have the blobs saved. iTunes/Apple only signs the newest firmware version, so if you tried to restore to 4.1, for example, iTunes would throw an error. If you run Tiny Umbrella and start the TSS server, it will trick iTunes into thinking Apple is still signing whatever software version you're trying to install, as long as you have that blob saved inside of Tiny Umbrella.
Ok so i saved mine i beleive, i should be ok if i mess up then correct?
Randomdood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 03:33 PM   #10
NikFinn
macrumors 6502a
 
NikFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randomdood View Post
Ok so i saved mine i beleive, i should be ok if i mess up then correct?
As long as yours are saved, you should be fine as if anything goes wrong you can always restore to that firmware.
__________________
27" iMac i5 2.7Ghz/8GB/1TB. 11" MacBook Air 1.6Ghz/2GB/64GB. 32GB iPhone 5s. 16GB Verizon iPad(3).
NikFinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! iPhone stuck in Connect to iTunes Loop Coolio-Alert Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Mar 26, 2012 02:23 PM
Why does Mac OS say 3 users are connected to my shares? I'm the only one connected? alexreich Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 7 Oct 2, 2011 02:16 PM
Help with iphone 3g connecting to computer! meep master2 iPhone 1 Nov 22, 2010 08:59 PM
T-mobile iphone says connect to itunes? sikhiphone Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 May 1, 2009 09:47 PM
Says connect to Itunes..? Bastones iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Sep 24, 2008 12:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC