Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 13, 2011, 07:23 PM   #1
HE15MAN
macrumors 6502a
 
HE15MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida's Treasure Coast
New to UVerse, need more wireless strength

Due to location of phone lines, and the need to have a direct Ethernet connection for my ADT Pulse iHub, my wireless Uverse Gateway is on one side of my large two story house.

Question: what can I add to increase strength or speed for upstairs and other side of house? I get signal, but often times it is slow.

Do I need an access point or range extender?

Thanks
HE15MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2011, 09:10 PM   #2
Peteman100
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Berkeley, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by HE15MAN View Post
Due to location of phone lines, and the need to have a direct Ethernet connection for my ADT Pulse iHub, my wireless Uverse Gateway is on one side of my large two story house.

Question: what can I add to increase strength or speed for upstairs and other side of house? I get signal, but often times it is slow.

Do I need an access point or range extender?

Thanks
You can get a repeater, but those will result in reduced speeds. The best option would be to run ethernet to the other side of the house and attach another wireless access point.
Peteman100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 06:15 AM   #3
HE15MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
HE15MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida's Treasure Coast
so that would mean just adding another uverse gateway correct?
HE15MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 06:16 AM   #4
davidwarren
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
No. Just another wireless router.
davidwarren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 07:27 AM   #5
Moof1904
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2004
I dont know about your uverse but mine is just 802.11g. I wanted 802.11n, and I wanted my airport extreme to handle it. I set my uverse up so that the uverse handles dhcp but my aebs handles wireless. You can find instructions online for doing this.
Moof1904 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 07:32 AM   #6
mstrze
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Send a message via AIM to mstrze
An in-between measure is to mount it as high as possible, perhaps on top of a bookcase or the like to improve signal strength throughout your house.
mstrze is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 07:42 AM   #7
HE15MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
HE15MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida's Treasure Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidwarren View Post
No. Just another wireless router.
I thought I needed a modem as well to connect the phone line to
HE15MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 07:42 AM   #8
HE15MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
HE15MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida's Treasure Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moof1904 View Post
I dont know about your uverse but mine is just 802.11g. I wanted 802.11n, and I wanted my airport extreme to handle it. I set my uverse up so that the uverse handles dhcp but my aebs handles wireless. You can find instructions online for doing this.
Mine very well may be a G router. I haven't looked that closely to it. DO you think adding an Airport Extreme would help range and speed wise?
HE15MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 08:32 AM   #9
r0k
macrumors 68040
 
r0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit
We were planning to get Uverse installed last month but had to bail at the last minute due to a family illness. In the lead up to getting Uverse, I was able to clarify with At&t that the Uverse modem includes a wifi access point but there is nothing stopping you from connecting your own router and wifi AP to the Uverse "residential gateway".

This is the topology I had planned:

fiber/telco-pair<-->Residential Gateway<-- airport extreme -->most of house<--airport express range extender--> rest of house (kids' bedrooms)

I would have Uverse receivers connected directly to the RG so there would be 2 networks in our house. One filtered by the RG and one filtered by the AEBS. I never got a chance to try this setup but this is what I was planning to do. AT&T claimed the signal from the RG would be a lot stronger than a typical router but I like the "guest network" feature of the AEBS so this was my plan. If we ever get around to setting a new install date, this will be our intended hookup. At&t says they "don't support" using your own router but I expect it to work the way I have shown above. This is especially critical for us because we are more than 2500 feet from the fiber and require a 2 pair version RG that mounts outside the house.
__________________
-r0k
Macbook Pro (late 2011) + iPad mini + iPhone5 + (GS4 for work)
Got a scan to ftp scanner? Enable ftpd in Mavericks!

Last edited by r0k; Jun 14, 2011 at 08:44 AM.
r0k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 10:21 AM   #10
kingtj
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Poolesville, MD
Send a message via ICQ to kingtj
I have U-Verse ....

... and I can tell you a few things.

1. No, the U-Verse "RG-1000 residential gateway" (their router) does not really have a stronger wi-fi signal than any other comparable wireless router. It's not using anything special, hardware-wise, inside. It's your typical 802.11g wi-fi and nothing more. It doesn't even have an external antenna on it, meaning it's probably WORSE than some models.

2. There's a long-standing firmware bug in the U-Verse gateway that will cause it to suddenly stop issuing out IP addresses via DHCP to wireless devices, if you've got too many different wireless devices on your home network. I'm not exactly sure what the limit is, but the problem started appearing on about a "once every 1-3 days" basis for me when the kids got iPod touches and we linked them up to the wi-fi. Before that, I probably had about 4 wireless devices linked up and working normally.

3. I recommend what someone else suggested; disabling the wireless radio in the U-Verse gateway (easy to do from a web browser) and attaching something like like an Airport Extreme to one of the wired ports on the back of it. Use it to make all your wireless connections. You'll be upgrading to wireless "n" and bypass the firmware flaw, plus likely get a little better signal strength too.
kingtj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 10:39 AM   #11
CorvusCamenarum
macrumors 65816
 
CorvusCamenarum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Birmingham, AL
Quote:
Originally Posted by HE15MAN View Post
Due to location of phone lines, and the need to have a direct Ethernet connection for my ADT Pulse iHub, my wireless Uverse Gateway is on one side of my large two story house.

Question: what can I add to increase strength or speed for upstairs and other side of house? I get signal, but often times it is slow.

Do I need an access point or range extender?

Thanks
This is what I had to do. Since our house is the last one in line from the switch, they had to install the router on one end of the house, and the computers are on the other end. For some reason, my wife's (Dell) laptop can pick up the signal from the AT&T router just fine, but my MBP has trouble.

What I ended up doing was went out and bought a roll of ethernet cable, plugged one end into the back of the AT&T router, ran it through the house, and plugged up our old router so we have two access points. Works fine now.
__________________
Much of modern liberalism consists of people trying to get revenge on the football players to whom they felt inferior in school.
CorvusCamenarum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 11:18 AM   #12
HE15MAN
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
HE15MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Florida's Treasure Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorvusCamenarum View Post
This is what I had to do. Since our house is the last one in line from the switch, they had to install the router on one end of the house, and the computers are on the other end. For some reason, my wife's (Dell) laptop can pick up the signal from the AT&T router just fine, but my MBP has trouble.

What I ended up doing was went out and bought a roll of ethernet cable, plugged one end into the back of the AT&T router, ran it through the house, and plugged up our old router so we have two access points. Works fine now.
Sounds good! But I will have some difficulties running ethernet very far due to it being a two story house. Would a power line adapter work for this method?
HE15MAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 11:43 AM   #13
r0k
macrumors 68040
 
r0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by HE15MAN View Post
Sounds good! But I will have some difficulties running ethernet very far due to it being a two story house. Would a power line adapter work for this method?
No need for a long cable if you use an Airport Extreme (AEBS) and an Airport Express (AE) to extend the wireless network created by the AEBS. That's what we do. We have an AEBS in the basement east end of the house and an AE plugged in (with no ethernet or usb) simply acting as a range extender at the west end of the house on the second floor. Everybody always gets good wifi in our house. Usually you can't mix brands when extending a wireless network so you couldn't use an AE or AEBS to extend the At&t RG network but you can use the AE to extend the AEBS wireless network.
__________________
-r0k
Macbook Pro (late 2011) + iPad mini + iPhone5 + (GS4 for work)
Got a scan to ftp scanner? Enable ftpd in Mavericks!
r0k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 04:47 PM   #14
midloman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Midllothian, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingtj View Post
... and I can tell you a few things.

1. No, the U-Verse "RG-1000 residential gateway" (their router) does not really have a stronger wi-fi signal than any other comparable wireless router. It's not using anything special, hardware-wise, inside. It's your typical 802.11g wi-fi and nothing more. It doesn't even have an external antenna on it, meaning it's probably WORSE than some models.

2. There's a long-standing firmware bug in the U-Verse gateway that will cause it to suddenly stop issuing out IP addresses via DHCP to wireless devices, if you've got too many different wireless devices on your home network. I'm not exactly sure what the limit is, but the problem started appearing on about a "once every 1-3 days" basis for me when the kids got iPod touches and we linked them up to the wi-fi. Before that, I probably had about 4 wireless devices linked up and working normally.

3. I recommend what someone else suggested; disabling the wireless radio in the U-Verse gateway (easy to do from a web browser) and attaching something like like an Airport Extreme to one of the wired ports on the back of it. Use it to make all your wireless connections. You'll be upgrading to wireless "n" and bypass the firmware flaw, plus likely get a little better signal strength too.
Option #3 is what I did. I have Verizon FIOS (which comes with a wireless G router) and I had devices that could use wireless N. I bought an Airport Extreme and followed some instructions I tracked down from one of the forums on the Verizon FIOS site and set things up (disabling the wireless on the FIOS router and using the Airport Extreme for wireless N). Works great for me (and still keeps my TV set-top box functionality). I'm not sure if the "guest" feature of the AE is available, but I didn't need that anyway.

There were some other setup options that would allow/not allow certain functionality or allow/not allow other setup/expandability options. What I did was exactly what I was hoping to do; I've been very happy with the setup.
midloman is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uverse app oldhifi iPad Apps 2 Mar 9, 2013 07:31 PM
Uverse oldhifi Buying Tips and Advice 14 Mar 6, 2013 01:00 PM
uVerse vs. Direct TV marddin Community Discussion 17 Feb 23, 2013 11:47 PM
Expanding wireless strength and coverage jetjaguar Mac Peripherals 13 Nov 10, 2012 12:58 PM
Time Capsule and Uverse Staindsoul Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 17, 2012 10:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC