Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2011, 05:18 PM   #1
mustnotsleep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
How to Use Tracfone Service with Unlocked iPhone?

I have been using T-mobile prepaid for a while now with an iPhone 4, but it only has minutes/texts with no mobile internet. I have read that buying an E71 from Walmart and switching sims would work for an iPhone, but I cannot find any specific details. Does this method still work? Is it 3G speed? What are the plan details exactly? $45/mo?

Basically, I just want a detailed description of what needs to be done before I spend $250 on the E71. Has anybody had any problems?

Thanks.
mustnotsleep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2011, 06:31 PM   #2
NikFinn
macrumors 6502a
 
NikFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustnotsleep View Post
I have been using T-mobile prepaid for a while now with an iPhone 4, but it only has minutes/texts with no mobile internet. I have read that buying an E71 from Walmart and switching sims would work for an iPhone, but I cannot find any specific details. Does this method still work? Is it 3G speed? What are the plan details exactly? $45/mo?

Basically, I just want a detailed description of what needs to be done before I spend $250 on the E71. Has anybody had any problems?

Thanks.
I haven't looked entirely into the specifics, but at the very minimum you're going to need to trim the sim card from the E71 into a microsim, assuming you're going to use an iPhone 4. They sell things online that'll cut it for you, but if you have scissors/a razor blade you can cut it yourself.
__________________
27" iMac i5 2.7Ghz/8GB/1TB. 11" MacBook Air 1.6Ghz/2GB/64GB. 32GB iPhone 5s. 16GB Verizon iPad(3).
NikFinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 02:19 PM   #3
mustnotsleep
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
That is the least of my worries. I do have an iPhone 4 and I have been through the SIM cutting process before. I am mainly curious if I can get 3G internet for $45/mo through the Tracfone process and how reliable it is.
mustnotsleep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 05:08 PM   #4
NikFinn
macrumors 6502a
 
NikFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustnotsleep View Post
That is the least of my worries. I do have an iPhone 4 and I have been through the SIM cutting process before. I am mainly curious if I can get 3G internet for $45/mo through the Tracfone process and how reliable it is.
Do you know what band 3G tracfone uses? This, in theory, would be the only limiting factor.
__________________
27" iMac i5 2.7Ghz/8GB/1TB. 11" MacBook Air 1.6Ghz/2GB/64GB. 32GB iPhone 5s. 16GB Verizon iPad(3).
NikFinn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 11:38 PM   #5
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
If tracfone is piggybacking on t-mobile's service, it'll be edge data only. However, if it's piggybacking off at&t, you should be able to access 3G bands.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2008 MBP 17" 2.5 GHz Penryn, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD 5400 rpm, 1920x1200 matte LED
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IPHONE 4 how to JAILBREAK AND UNLOCK bs2511feist Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Apr 14, 2012 05:52 PM
is it ok to restore my unlocked iphone 3g? & no pushnotifications/unlocked iphone? poohbear19 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 5 Dec 10, 2010 07:55 PM
How to use Studio Display with ADC with DVI or VGA? InfoTime Mac Peripherals 4 Jan 13, 2010 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC