Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2011, 11:42 PM   #1
sou1 so1di3r
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to sou1 so1di3r
Question iPhone 3GS not getting signal

My sister was using my old 3GS. It was working great. Then a while ago I found out she was using a 4 and she told me the 3GS stopped "getting signal" or would just get 1 bar but never work. So she had to get a new phone.

I think she took it to an AT&T store as well... so I'm thinking it's a hardware issue?

I was hoping maybe she was just technologically inept, so I asked for the phone and am trying to figure out if it's anything I can fix. I just reset everything on the phone and tried putting in a few old sim cards that we don't use anymore.

They were showing up as having 1 bar but no carrier or anything was listed when the "connect to iTunes" screen was up, but after I synced it once it just says no service. I have yet to try an active SIM card because I don't have one (just my micro sim). I might try to borrow someone's at work tomorrow just to give it a shot.

Anyway, is there any known issue like this out there? If it is a hardware issue, how much would it cost to fix? The phone is perfectly fine otherwise and is basically a 16GB iPod touch right now.

Thanks for any info
sou1 so1di3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 12:42 AM   #2
DeanPuwananuwat
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Auckland, NZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by sou1 so1di3r View Post
My sister was using my old 3GS. It was working great. Then a while ago I found out she was using a 4 and she told me the 3GS stopped "getting signal" or would just get 1 bar but never work. So she had to get a new phone.

I think she took it to an AT&T store as well... so I'm thinking it's a hardware issue?

I was hoping maybe she was just technologically inept, so I asked for the phone and am trying to figure out if it's anything I can fix. I just reset everything on the phone and tried putting in a few old sim cards that we don't use anymore.

They were showing up as having 1 bar but no carrier or anything was listed when the "connect to iTunes" screen was up, but after I synced it once it just says no service. I have yet to try an active SIM card because I don't have one (just my micro sim). I might try to borrow someone's at work tomorrow just to give it a shot.

Anyway, is there any known issue like this out there? If it is a hardware issue, how much would it cost to fix? The phone is perfectly fine otherwise and is basically a 16GB iPod touch right now.

Thanks for any info
Try set the iPhone to 2G...
Settings>>General>>Network - turn Cellular Data and 3G off.

Is the iPhone 3Gs updated to the latest software? (latest - 4.3.3)
Sounds like a hardware-related problem.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro (2011); iPad 2 32GB White (WiFi); iPhone 4 16GB Black; iPod Touch 2G (16GB)
Nintendo 64/Wii
Sony VAIO EB Series Laptop
DeanPuwananuwat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 10:15 AM   #3
sou1 so1di3r
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to sou1 so1di3r
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanPuwananuwat View Post
Try set the iPhone to 2G...
Settings>>General>>Network - turn Cellular Data and 3G off.

Is the iPhone 3Gs updated to the latest software? (latest - 4.3.3)
Sounds like a hardware-related problem.
I turned that stuff off. And no, it's running 4.2.1.......


I also think it's a hardware issue.. I was just not sure if anyone had a similar issue and had it fixed/replaced and if so how much $$$ it usually runs.
sou1 so1di3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 10:52 AM   #4
sparkyms
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southampton UK
i think its $199 in the US for an out of warranty replacement.. I might be wrong though. For that they just swap it for a refurbed unit.
sparkyms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2011, 11:21 AM   #5
sou1 so1di3r
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Send a message via AIM to sou1 so1di3r
uhmm ok so I just borrowed a guy from work's 3GS SIM card and swapped it in.

The phone works perfectly..........

I just called my iPhone from it.



My sister is dumb
sou1 so1di3r is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tethering on a iPhone 3GS? How do you connect your Mac to wifi via your iPhone 3GS? Ulf1103 iPhone 6 Aug 14, 2011 10:26 PM
Is the Iphone 3Gs out of date? cootersgarage6 iPhone 22 Nov 29, 2010 12:23 PM
Should I get the Iphone 3GS cootersgarage6 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Nov 27, 2010 11:17 PM
iPhone does not get signal after installing Cydia app alansmallen Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Sep 17, 2009 04:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC