Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 25, 2011, 11:05 AM   #1
ault45
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Delaware, OH
G5 Quad transplant into 2.3 dual core

I have a fully functional 2.3 dual core that is pristine. I also have a 2.5 quad that has serious case damage, but other than that is 100%.

My question is what all need to be switched out to put the quad in the dc case since all of the components inside the 2.3 are good?

Thanks
__________________
Macbook 2.2 ghz core 2 duo
Powermac G4 733 mhz "Digital Audio"
17" Imac 1.83 ghz core duo
Imac G3 333 mhz
ault45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 11:42 AM   #2
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
You might run into problems with the logic board standoffs inside the case. You should double check this, before starting anything.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 01:03 PM   #3
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by ault45 View Post
I have a fully functional 2.3 dual core that is pristine. I also have a 2.5 quad that has serious case damage, but other than that is 100%.

My question is what all need to be switched out to put the quad in the dc case since all of the components inside the 2.3 are good?

Thanks
I would think it makes more sense to find dead 2.5 somewhere that you can transplant the working one you have into. Your going through all that trouble to take perfectly working computer and possibly you screw it up by the transplant. Then your left with no working machine could just be me but I think that would be the best route to take.
__________________
MacPro 5,1 16gb HD6870; MacPro 4,1 5,1 12x2.66ghz 24gb GT120
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 02:20 PM   #4
burnout8488
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Endwell, NY
I believe all the late 2005 machines have identical cases. The swap should work. Older cases will not however.
__________________
Intel: iMac 4,1 (Flashed to 5,1), 2012 MBA 13" Base
PPC: iMac G4 700
iOS: iPhone 5C 16GB Sprint / iPad 2 - 16GB Verizon
burnout8488 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 03:25 PM   #5
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacUser2525 View Post
I would think it makes more sense to find dead 2.5 somewhere that you can transplant the working one you have into. Your going through all that trouble to take perfectly working computer and possibly you screw it up by the transplant. Then your left with no working machine could just be me but I think that would be the best route to take.
Good advice. Listen to this guy. It's also very easy to find dead G5's. They die often.
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2011, 08:26 PM   #6
adcx64
macrumors 65816
 
adcx64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cudi Zone
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen.state View Post
They die often.
ain't that the truth!
__________________
iPhone 5S, iOS 7, Verizon LTE
Xbox One (Titanfall Alpha!)
Competitive Call of Duty
adcx64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 02:05 AM   #7
mac.tastic
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Get a new case. They are not hard to find.
mac.tastic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 01:52 PM   #8
burnout8488
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Endwell, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac.tastic View Post
Get a new case. They are not hard to find.
Very expensive when you find a good condition one, though. I couldn't justify $150+ for a mint case, so I had a go at repairing mine.

Just depends on how anal the OP is about their Macs
__________________
Intel: iMac 4,1 (Flashed to 5,1), 2012 MBA 13" Base
PPC: iMac G4 700
iOS: iPhone 5C 16GB Sprint / iPad 2 - 16GB Verizon
burnout8488 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 05:26 PM   #9
lindstedt56
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I dont know much about the g5 but why would the op want to go out and spend more money on parts that he already has? I would attempt to transplant the computer if you know what your doing. If it doesnt fit put them back.
lindstedt56 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2011, 09:42 PM   #10
mac.tastic
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
The 2.3 is a much more reliable and desired computer over the Quad due to its air cooling. The only selling point to a Quad is its processing power. Keep the 2.3 as-is and sell the Quad. The money from both will buy a good Quad with a few hundred $ left over.
mac.tastic is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real world difference between dual-core 13" rMBP and my quad-core iMac PatriotInvasion MacBook Pro 8 Apr 1, 2013 02:00 PM
Mac Mini (2012) Dual Core vs Quad Core as a media center CeratixD Buying Tips and Advice 14 Feb 20, 2013 12:32 AM
2012 i5 Dual core Base or 2011 i7 Quad Core server? kenfused Mac mini 3 Dec 12, 2012 01:45 PM
Performance difference between Dual core i7 in 2012 MBP 13 v/s Quad Core 2011 iMac i5 mjoshi123 MacBook Pro 3 Sep 14, 2012 02:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC