Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 26, 2011, 11:37 AM   #1
psywzrd
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
problem receiving calls with Talkatone

I installed Talkatone on my iphone 4 (jailbroken but I don't know if that even matters) and I'm having trouble with incoming calls. I set up everything correctly as far as I know, but I can't seem to figure out how to answer the incoming call. I do get a notification of the incoming call on my lockscreen in LockInfo, but there's no way for me to actually answer the call. If I swipe to unlock, I'm simply taken to the homescreen and tapping on the notification in LockInfo does nothing. Am I doing something wrong?

Last edited by psywzrd; Jun 27, 2011 at 06:13 AM.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 08:35 AM   #2
psywzrd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Ok guys - I figured out the problem with answering incoming calls but I have another problem now and I'm hoping someone can help me with it. I am not getting any sort of ringtone on incoming calls via Talkatone. I've tried both a custom ringtone and one of the standard ringtones and nothing seems to work. When I get a call, I get the notification on my lockscreen in lockinfo, my phone vibrates twice very briefly and then the screen shuts off (and no my phone isn't in vibrate mode). I figured that maybe popup blocker was the problem so I allowed popups from Talkatone and tried again. Now I get the push notification popup telling me that I have an incoming call but all I hear is the tri-tone (or whatever it's called) instead of my ringtone. I can't help but think that my problem is somehow related to Lockinfo and/or Popup Blocker but I'm not sure how to fix it. Anyone?
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2011, 11:35 AM   #3
psywzrd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Anyone? I can't be the only person trying to use Talkatone with lockinfo and popup blocker, right?
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2011, 10:23 PM   #4
Afreeman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I hope this helps! I'm not sure exactly on how to fix the ringtone problem, but I know the techs on this site are really good about responding to any questions/concerns. My app rings automatically, I didn't have to change any setting or anything. I really hope this site solves your problem!

http://blog.talkatone.com/2010/11/30...-in-talkatone/
Afreeman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2011, 07:58 PM   #5
chinarut
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by psywzrd View Post
I can't be the only person trying to use Talkatone with lockinfo and popup blocker, right?
You're not the only one - just had this issue today.

When I tap to switch to the app, it doesn't give me an option to answer or reject the call.

Is there a way to selectively allow talkatone to popup as a workaround?

I love LockInfo & this is a bit of a showstopper!
chinarut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2011, 08:18 PM   #6
psywzrd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinarut View Post
You're not the only one - just had this issue today.

When I tap to switch to the app, it doesn't give me an option to answer or reject the call.

Is there a way to selectively allow talkatone to popup as a workaround?

I love LockInfo & this is a bit of a showstopper!
You can exclude Talkatone's pop-ups from being blocked in PopupBlocker's settings.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 04:51 PM   #7
chinarut
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by psywzrd View Post
You can exclude Talkatone's pop-ups from being blocked in PopupBlocker's settings.
I looked on Cydia and PopupBlocker is a different tweak - did you install with along with LockInfo?

I'm evaluating LockInfo along with Notified Pro.
chinarut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 11:25 PM   #8
chinarut
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Thumbs up

installing the Popup Blocker tweak did the trick.

while I was a bit lost in regards to what to turn on/off on NotifiedPro and LockInfo - I eventually got it to work.

Is there anyone out there who's put a cheatsheet in regards to how they've best configured Notified Pro, LockInfo and Popup Blocker together by chance?

this would be very helpful to us newbies!
chinarut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2011, 03:27 AM   #9
djyking
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
incoming call problem

Hello prywzrd,

I hope you see this. You said you fixed the problem of incoming calls, ie no popups for answering calls. I also have a jailbroken iphone 4.

If you dont mind, how did you fix the problem? thanks
djyking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2011, 10:27 AM   #10
psywzrd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by djyking View Post
Hello prywzrd,

I hope you see this. You said you fixed the problem of incoming calls, ie no popups for answering calls. I also have a jailbroken iphone 4.

If you dont mind, how did you fix the problem? thanks
Try installing popup blocker and excluding Talkatone's popups from being blocked - that's what did the trick for me.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2011, 12:20 PM   #11
djyking
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Thanks. Just so we're on the same page, when you had the incoming call problem, did you get the incoming call popup when talkatone was in the foreground? I get the popup when talkatone is open but only get notification and no way to answer when it's in teh background.

Talkatone faq mentions that jailbroken devices may cause talkatone to not work when it's in background...and in their blog, a Talkatone tech said that it is probably a mobile substrate issue which someone said they fixed by going to SBSettings and disabling the Alertblocker mobile substrate addon there. BUt I don't see it in SBSettings.

Is this basically what your solution does?

So once Popupblocker is installed, it automatically detects Talkatone and gives you option to exclude it from being blocked?

Sorry for being so longwinded and thanks
djyking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 4, 2011, 08:42 PM   #12
psywzrd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by djyking View Post
Thanks. Just so we're on the same page, when you had the incoming call problem, did you get the incoming call popup when talkatone was in the foreground? I get the popup when talkatone is open but only get notification and no way to answer when it's in teh background.

Talkatone faq mentions that jailbroken devices may cause talkatone to not work when it's in background...and in their blog, a Talkatone tech said that it is probably a mobile substrate issue which someone said they fixed by going to SBSettings and disabling the Alertblocker mobile substrate addon there. BUt I don't see it in SBSettings.

Is this basically what your solution does?

So once Popupblocker is installed, it automatically detects Talkatone and gives you option to exclude it from being blocked?

Sorry for being so longwinded and thanks
I honestly don't remember if I got the popup when talkatone was in the foreground. All I know is that when my phone was locked and a call would come in, I would only see a notification within Lockinfo. Once I installed popup blocker and turned push notifications on for talkatone, I received a popup notification and was able to answer the call by unlocking the phone. If the phone is already unlocked you get a popup with "Close" and "Answer" buttons.

I still have the problem where my phone doesn't always ring even though Talkatone is in the multitasking bar. It must be a problem with the app (I'm running the latest version too).
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 05:53 PM   #13
chinarut
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
PopupBlocker is what did the trick for me too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by psywzrd View Post
I still have the problem where my phone doesn't always ring even though Talkatone is in the multitasking bar. It must be a problem with the app (I'm running the latest version too).
yeah - i still have this issue as well. I don't think Talkatone is a particularly well-written app. I'm a the point where I'm wondering if I would more reliably receive GV calls if I forwarded my calls to a paid SkypeIn number - has anyone tried this by chance?
chinarut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 10:15 AM   #14
psywzrd
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinarut View Post
PopupBlocker is what did the trick for me too.



yeah - i still have this issue as well. I don't think Talkatone is a particularly well-written app. I'm a the point where I'm wondering if I would more reliably receive GV calls if I forwarded my calls to a paid SkypeIn number - has anyone tried this by chance?
I can't answer that question for you but what I can tell you is that if this solution requires you to keep the Skype app in your multi-tasking bar, it will drain the pi$$ out of your battery.
psywzrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2014, 01:07 AM   #15
shab.notif
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Hi dear. I have the same issue recieving calls on talkatone. I saw ur techniques but may I please ask what pop up blocker u unstalled and where on ur phone or conputer???
shab.notif is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All iPads: Receiving calls on a Wi-Fi iPad Batavian iPad 20 Jun 8, 2014 10:05 AM
Problem receiving calls DMoggo iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Nov 1, 2013 09:18 AM
iPhone: Ios 7 beta 3 not receiving calls Br0wnP4nd4 iOS 7 4 Oct 27, 2013 10:08 AM
Trouble receiving calls on Iphone 5? Boatboy24 iPhone 15 Dec 17, 2012 09:57 PM
Receiving calls while listening to music themumu iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Dec 8, 2012 07:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC