Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

awadeee

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jan 21, 2011
Canada
Some of you may already know me as I am very active in the iPhone forums, but this is my first post in the Mac section as I have always been a Windows user (moreso for financial reasons than anything else) and I recently came into some money that my family gave me for graduation. I would really like to purchase a MacBook Pro 13.3" with the i5 processor but I was wondering if I should buy one now or wait for a refresh? Although I am familiar with the Mac UI and the computer itself, I am rather new to the refresh dates and performance of the machine.

In case you TLDR'ed the first paragraph, I'm essentially asking if I should buy a MBP 13.3" i5 now or wait for a refresh, when the refresh has been speculated to arrive, how the computer performs for daily tasks such as internet browsing and some gaming, and basically how much you like your MBP.

I did a quick forum search and the results I yielded didn't really answer all my questions so please excuse me for making a new thread. I anticipate and appreciate your responses.

:)

ECUpirate44

macrumors 603
Mar 22, 2010
NC
Buy now. They were updated in February and the next refresh won't be until 2012 for ivy bridge.

Dark Void

macrumors 68030
Jun 1, 2011
i would also buy now, going to be quite a few months before it gets updated.

awadeee

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jan 21, 2011
Canada
Thank you very much for your input! I've been hearing "refresh" lately and was scared to buy one but now I know exactly what I'll do. :)

Is the i5 still a pretty good processor? I'm essentially trying to get the cheapest MBP possible but still having acceptable performance.

Durious

macrumors 6502
Apr 11, 2008
Calgary, Alberta
Thank you very much for your input! I've been hearing "refresh" lately and was scared to buy one but now I know exactly what I'll do. :)