Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 29, 2011, 09:48 PM   #1
highdefw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
How to jump start a Mac Pro backboard?

How exactly do I jump the backboard plane? Must all 4 pads be connected for whatever functioning I'm trying to activate?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	425.7 KB
ID:	291711  
highdefw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2011, 09:00 AM   #2
Detrius
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
Huh? Your question makes absolutely no sense. What are you trying to do?
__________________
ACMT, ACTC, ACSA
C# w/.NET 4, Entity Framework, and T4; JavaScript; Bash; Awk; C++ w/wxWidgets and Boost; ANTLR(C), flex/bison; Objective-C; C
Detrius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2011, 09:15 AM   #3
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
It was a duplicate post of this... http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1179325 because at the time, the OP had not got a satisfactory reply.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2011, 09:37 AM   #4
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
what generation Mac Pro is it? 2008, 2009, 2010?
AppleNewton is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2011, 11:27 AM   #5
nobiggiestudio
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sweden
The easiest way to find out is just to get a multimeter, stick one of the conductors on the soldering at the ON/OFF button and the other conductor you move around on the different soldering until you get an conductive signal trough the two conductors.

When you found the circuit, fallow it all the way until were it starts...probably somewhere on the motherboard.
You could just find the cable also going of the card at the front of the mac.
But just to be on the sure side, I would fallow the circuit to the motherboard it self.
Short the two soldering and a signal is given to the PSU and it will give power to start the motherboard.
Manual start up..the "hard" way!
nobiggiestudio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 2011, 03:04 PM   #6
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
Try this reference:

AppleNewton is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Tags
backboard, jump, mac, pad, pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's start a petition to keep the old Mac Pro and rebadge it as the Mac Pro Classic! vander Mac Pro 96 Jan 7, 2014 12:17 PM
Possible jump test psu 2006 model mac pro? ReillyD Mac Pro 3 Feb 28, 2013 12:24 AM
Jump start MacBook Pro without keyboard 2009 2.66GHz? joecool99 MacBook Pro 2 Feb 10, 2013 06:00 PM
MacBook Pro Retina v Mac Book Pro 2011 Start Up Speed ramykhuffash MacBook Pro 10 Jun 20, 2012 10:40 AM
Backboard?!?!?! DinoMachino iOS 6 30 Jun 13, 2012 10:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC