Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2011, 01:00 AM   #1
Jac0b
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Connecting a Monitor to Powermac G5

Hey, I have a Powermac G5 and I have forgotten about having to get a converter to connect my non-apple monitor to my powermac. But, instead of waiting for it to come in the mail. Is it possible to replace the VGA video slot with one from a old windows desktop. So that I can connect my monitor to my mac.
Jac0b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 01:11 AM   #2
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
It will not be possible to put a PC graphics card in a G5. Does the monitor you are using not have VGA?
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 01:23 AM   #3
cocacolakid
macrumors 6502a
 
cocacolakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago
Your video card should normally have two outputs, ADC for the Apple monitors, and either VGA or DVI. If it is DVI, it looks like the ADC output but it's just slightly smaller.

This picture here shows DVI on the left and ADC on the right. http://www.wap.org/journal/powermacg5/pm5backlg.jpg

You can get an inexpensive adapter to convert DVI to either VGA or HDMI if your monitor doesn't have a DVI input.



In the U.S., Monoprice is usually the cheapest place online for cables/adapters, but any computer/big box electronics store will carry them.
__________________
2012 Mini 2.3 i7 Samsung 840 250 GB SSD 16GB RAM
2012 13" MBP Samsung SSD, 16GB RAM
TBD, iPad 4, iPhone 4S
cocacolakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 02:28 AM   #4
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
Newer G5s have dual DVI. Older G5s have one DVI and one ADC. If you need to connect a "non-Apple" display, you still would utilize the DVI ports. If you need VGA, any old DVI->VGA adapters from anywhere would work fine. There are also ADC-> DVI adapters you can use if you want to utilize the ADC port.
__________________
Once you go you never go back
iPhone 5S 16GB White & Silver Sprint::2010 MacBook Air 13" 1.86 C2D::iPad mini Space Gray 16GB Wi-Fi::Various other Apple products.
dontwalkhand is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 10:56 AM   #5
Jac0b
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I'm sorry I got mixed up. What I meant was that I need to replace the DVI slot with a VGA slot. But, yall have answered my question anyways. And thanks for help
Jac0b is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting second monitor marfrie56 iMac 3 Apr 25, 2013 09:12 AM
Connecting my MacBook Air to a monitor Kobayagi Mac Peripherals 8 Feb 25, 2013 03:13 PM
Connecting Mac mini1,1 to iMac(Powermac) screen sharing Lakelife Mac mini 7 Jan 15, 2013 01:01 PM
Connecting rMBP to 30 inch monitor carolle MacBook Pro 1 Sep 7, 2012 07:11 PM
Connecting LED 24" Cinema Display to Powermac G5. Liquinn PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 17, 2012 12:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC