Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2011, 06:34 AM   #1
booch221
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
iPhone won't connect to wifi network, but iPad will

I'm visiting a friend for a couple of weeks and want to use her wifi. The first day I was here I could connect my iPhone 3GS and Ipad2 to her D-Link wireless network. The next day I noticed my phone was always displaying 3G or E.

Sometimes it show me connected to the network but I can't get mail or browse. Other times it says No Service. My iPad still connects fine. My iPhone will connect to a neighbors unlocked network.

I've tried renewing my lease, resetting my network settings on the iPhone, reentering the network password, and rebooting the router. Nothing works. Any other suggestions?

The router is a D-Link 524
The Security is WPA-PSK
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 09:39 AM   #2
RodThePlod
macrumors 6502a
 
RodThePlod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by booch221 View Post
I've tried renewing my lease, resetting my network settings on the iPhone, reentering the network password, and rebooting the router. Nothing works. Any other suggestions?
Compare your network settings on the iPhone to those on the iPad. Are they similar?

For example, are they both using static IP addresses or is the IP being assigned via DHCP? Is the IP address on the working iPad just one or two different from the iPhone, or are they completely different?

My guess is that on the iPad you're using DHCP whereas on the iPhone it's been trying to use a static IP address.

Cheers,

RTP.
__________________
Intentionally left blank
RodThePlod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 09:44 AM   #3
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Is your router a dual band?
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 09:54 AM   #4
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
network settings

Compare your network settings on the iPhone to those on the iPad. Are they similar?

On both of them IP Address is DHCP (color is blue) and HTTP Proxy is Off

On iPhone:
IP Address: 169.254.151.9
Subnet Mask:225.225..0
Router:
DNS:
Search Domains:
Client ID:

On iPad:
IP Address:192.168.0.101
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Router:192.168.0.1
DNS:66.211.211.22,66.211.211.21
Search Domains:
Client ID:
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 10:47 AM   #5
RodThePlod
macrumors 6502a
 
RodThePlod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by booch221 View Post

On iPad:
IP Address:192.168.0.101
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Router:192.168.0.1
DNS:66.211.211.22,66.211.211.21
Search Domains:
Client ID:
For some reason, your router isn't assigning an IP to your iPhone.

There could be a number of reasons for this, however if you want to get your iPhone online quickly, (and because you'll only be there for a couple of weeks), try setting a Static IP address.

For example select Static and set the IP address to something like: 192.168.0.107
Set the Subnet Mask and Router to the values you see above.

Does this help?

NOTE: When you get back home, remember to set it back to DHCP to enable your iPhone to find and connect to your home network in the same way that it normally does.

Cheers,

RTP.
__________________
Intentionally left blank
RodThePlod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 10:51 AM   #6
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
dual band?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
Is your router a dual band?
I don't think so.
Here is the description from D-Link:
http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=316
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 11:36 AM   #7
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
Quote:
Originally Posted by RodThePlod View Post
Does this help?
Somewhat.

In Safari, I get a message that says:
Cannot Open Page
Safri cannot open the page because it is not connected to the internet.


When I use the Opera Mini browser the pages load.

None of the apps that use an internet connection (like Instapaper, Feeddler, Craigslist, Redbox, ) work.

Last edited by booch221; Jul 4, 2011 at 11:43 AM.
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 11:48 AM   #8
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
It's a pretty old router and is not dual band. Make sure the firmware is up to date and if that doesn't work see if there's any 3rd party firmware like DD-WRT or Tomato for it.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 12:06 PM   #9
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
old router

Granted it is an old router, I updated the firmware on it last year.

But if the issue is age, why would my iPad work with it, but not the iPhone? And as I said in the OP, the iPhone worked the first day I was here.
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 12:12 PM   #10
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The iPad has a dual band radio the iPhone just a 2.4GHz. So there is a difference. You could try resetting your D-Link to factory and resetup.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 01:29 PM   #11
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
We just ordered a new Linksys Wireless-N Router from Amazon. It will arrive before I leave so I can set it up for her. We'll see what that does.
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 05:52 PM   #12
Dave Felix
macrumors 6502a
 
Dave Felix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Scranton, Pennsylvania
Did you try resetting the router? My girlfriends ipad didnt connect to her network but my mac did. After a basic router reset everything was all connected.
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB iOS 8.0|MacBook Pro 2.66GHz 8GB
Dave Felix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 09:54 PM   #13
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Felix View Post
Did you try resetting the router? My girlfriends ipad didnt connect to her network but my mac did. After a basic router reset everything was all connected.
Yes, I tried resetting the router.
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 10:00 PM   #14
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
Quote:
Originally Posted by booch221 View Post
We just ordered a new Linksys Wireless-N Router from Amazon. It will arrive before I leave so I can set it up for her. We'll see what that does.
It does not sound like you are understanding the problem. Does the new router you purchased have a 802.11n 2.4 GHz transceiver, and not just an 802.11 5 GHz transceiver? The iPhone is only capable of receiving signals in the 2.4 GHz band, so if you bought a 5 GHz router you aren't solving your problem.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 5, 2011, 07:35 AM   #15
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
802.11n 2.4 GHz

Does the new router you purchased have a 802.11n 2.4 GHz transceiver, and not just an 802.11 5 GHz transceiver?

Yes, it does. It's the same router I have at home and my iPhone connects to it.
http://downloads.linksysbycisco.com/..._NC-WEB-en.pdf
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2011, 03:38 PM   #16
booch221
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Anchorage AK
new router

Just installed the new router. Everything works. Can connect both the iPhone and iPad to the network. Thanks for the help everybody.
booch221 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2011, 04:39 PM   #17
RodThePlod
macrumors 6502a
 
RodThePlod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by booch221 View Post
Just installed the new router. Everything works. Can connect both the iPhone and iPad to the network. Thanks for the help everybody.
Wicked! Well done

RTP.
__________________
Intentionally left blank
RodThePlod is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Tags
connect, ipad 2, iphone 3gs, wifi problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maverick won't connect to certain wifi network devinesZ OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Nov 9, 2013 06:40 PM
3 iPhone 5s, 2 connect to our wifi, 1 won't BeckieLloyd iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Aug 31, 2013 05:09 PM
ipad 4thgen-wifi won't connect waterliliq iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Dec 14, 2012 03:00 PM
iPad Mini won't connect to home Airport WiFi Network anymore txa1265 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Dec 8, 2012 11:27 AM
Macbook Pro and iPad 2 won't connect to home wifi anymore daveme214 MacBook Pro 7 Jun 18, 2012 08:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC