Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sammio2

Cancelled
Original poster
Aug 16, 2008
Hi Guys,

I was just wondering if any of you helpful and knowledgable people could give me any advice or pointers. I'll start by saying i've searched previous posts, and have done a fair amount of research on the topic, but I guess i'm looking for someone to help / advise on my personal situation.

I'm an amateur photographer, used to be very active and enthusiastic, but have recently been at Uni and really didn't have time to pursue my hobby much. Having finished Uni now i'd really like to get back into it, but here is my conundrum...

I currently have a Canon EOS 10D (handed down many years ago by a family member) and the results are just not pleasing to me anymore. I am well aware that a lot of it has to do with my skill level (pretty low), but a couple of years ago, my friend had just brought a Nikon D40 and out on a shoot, he let me have a go, and I was producing images with qualities that were leaps and bounds better than from the 10D, in terms of colour, white balance, sharpness, everything really.

I understand also the importance of good lenses, however the same family member who handed the 10D down to me, has a good collection of Canon lenses, most are L series. I'm incredibly fortunate that i'm allowed to borrow some of these lenses, so i'm sure it's not the lenses.