Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 22, 2011, 10:53 AM   #126
Dragonsoul4826
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fix for Optimum app Iphone

Please see post:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthre...723&highlight=

breebauer
macrumors newbie

Join Date: May 2010

Not sure if this helps, but the deb in this reddit page works for the iPhone

http://www.reddit.com/r/iphone/comme...s_ruled_legal/

Here's the deb:
http://www.mediafire.com/?babafx2hp9nnk62
Dragonsoul4826 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2011, 11:18 AM   #127
nickrinaldi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
seems to work for everyone but me, i tried everything. maybe its cause my firmware is still 4.2.1
nickrinaldi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2011, 11:33 AM   #128
breebauer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickrinaldi View Post
seems to work for everyone but me, i tried everything. maybe its cause my firmware is still 4.2.1
Open cydia to make sure it's installed.
Sometimes I have to do that after using ifile for some reason...
breebauer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2011, 11:55 AM   #129
nickrinaldi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
no its shows up installed in cydia, i'm thinking its something to do with my phone.

either its cause i'm on 4.2.1 firmware and this tweak needs me to be on a more recent firmware. or if something is still on my phone that is being detected by optimum server or something is cached etc..
nickrinaldi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2011, 12:04 PM   #130
Fofer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Hey guys, there's already a couple of threads for the Cablevision/Optimum app here... and here...

Any chance you could keep discussion of that app there, so this thread can remain about the TWCable app? Now that crossingman and milk424 know about the issues with the other app, perhaps they'll participate in those threads, but hijacking this one to handle that other app doesn't strike me as the best course of action. Thanks...
Fofer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 11:02 AM   #131
TomiY1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
The app has been updated yet again! (v2.5)...anyone dare to try it and see if it still works with a JB iPad?
TomiY1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 12:52 PM   #132
Fofer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Yep - I've just boldly updated to v2.5 to test it out in my jailbroken iPad v1.

(with crossingman's latest hack still installed)

1) It launches fine, no complaint about jailbroken hardware
2) There's a screen that pops up with "Terms and Conditions" you have to agree to, in order to use the app. That only appears on first launch though.
3) App seems to work fine, I watched a few channels.
4) I then quit, established a VPN connection to my home network, and relaunched. It still works fine, no complaint about VPN connections.

So it appears the coast is clear to update.

That being said, I don't have a TWC cable box, I use a TiVo Premiere DVR. Watching live TV with this app still works as I have a valid TWC account and eligible cable package. What doesn't work is the "Guide" button (for TV schedule/listings, apparently those come from the cable box) or the "DVR" button (makes sense.) Tapping them gives me a pop-up error explaining...

Also, when I go to "Settings," all I see is "Sign Out" and nothing else. So I cannot take advantage of some of the newer features, like marking channels as favorites (or specifically mentioned with the 2.5 update,) parental controls, and closed captioning.

From the iTunes page:


My guess is those features somehow depend on a cable box... which seems sort of odd to me.

Can anyone else (with or without a TWC cable box) check to see if those "Settings" features are available to them? It's not a huge deal as I can live without them, and vastly prefer the TiVo Premiere to whatever set top box TWC is offering these days... but I am just curious if this limitation is here because of the JB and crossingman's hack, or if it's because I don't use a TWC cable box.
Fofer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2011, 11:36 AM   #133
musicmax
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
iPad 1st Gen 64GB. 4.3.3 JB/sn0wbreeze. TWC 2.5. FakeTimeWarner 1.0. No VPN. 3 Cable Boxes - one of which is DVR.

I updated from TWCable TV 2.0.3923 (none of the previous updates had features I cared about).

Everything works. Loads kinda slow and crashes if I don't use RemoveBG first.

Under Settings I can move from box to box - only the DVR box shows DVR data. Guide works (again pretty slow). Can also select Favorites though that only seems to affect Guide.
musicmax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2011, 03:01 PM   #134
Cify
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Irvine, CA
can anyone post the deb file again all the dropbox links are 404'd
I just got my VPN set up but get the authorization error when trying to connect over external wifi
Cify is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 05:12 PM   #135
iSIILENT
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I haven't updated yet , does the patch still work for the latest update
__________________
Macbook Pro Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.16ghz , 500gb scorpio black iPhone 3gs 32gb JB Ipad 2 Blk 64Gb Wifi JB, Blk iPhone 4s 64gb w/ 4s Commuter case
iSIILENT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 11:55 AM   #136
Fofer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
New version out today, 2.5.1. Anyone wanna do the honors and check it out? See if it still works with crossingman's patch (that disables the jailbreak and VPN check?)



----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by crossingman View Post
Ok, one more time: if this works I will push to Cydia. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2897463/com....honeos-arm.deb

Thanks to milk424 for the wifi vpn code.
Has this made its way to Cydia yet? I'm not seeing it. Is there a special repo?
Fofer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 07:27 PM   #137
Fofer
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Okay - I bit the bullet and upgraded to 2.5.1.

crossingman's "FakeTimeWarner" hack still works just fine :up:
Fofer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 07:29 PM   #138
einmusiker
macrumors 68030
 
einmusiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Location: Location:
faketimewarner is in cydia and works
__________________
I <3 Macbook pro, I <3 GoOgle Voice, I <3 my Android phone.
waiting for the shtuff to hit the fan when people start using tons of data on LTE :Popping popcorn:
einmusiker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 10:15 PM   #139
TomiY1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fofer View Post
Okay - I bit the bullet and upgraded to 2.5.1.

crossingman's "FakeTimeWarner" hack still works just fine :up:
We safe to update?
TomiY1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2011, 03:50 AM   #140
EvilSpock
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Brighthouse networks in Orlando and Tampa Fl just launched the Time Warner TV app today. app version 1.0.1 same app as the Time Warner just rebranded to Brighthouse. the fake time warner app in Cydia will work after you make a minor change to the FakeTimeWarner.plist using IFile under /var/null/Library/MobileSubstrate/DynamicLibraries on the ipad.

In FakeTimeWarner.plist change the line <string>com.timewarnercable.simulcast</string>
to look like
<string>com.bhn.simulcast</string>
save your edits and your done.
EvilSpock is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2011, 06:03 PM   #141
jr1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thanks EvilSpock for the details, app works well (w/ Cydia) in Tampa.
Unfortunately it doesn't have the local channels (ABC/NBC/CBS/FOX), just the brand-name channels

To clarify step-by-step:

Download Bright House TV app through App Store
Download FakeTimeWarner through Cydia
Download iFile through Cydia
Open iFile, goto (& open) FakeTimeWarner.plist in /var/null/Library/MobileSubstrate/DynamicLibraries
Change the line <string>com.timewarnercable.simulcast</string>
to <string>com.bhn.simulcast</string>
Hit save edit and done
Open Bright House TV app, sign in with Bright House username/password


Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilSpock View Post
Brighthouse networks in Orlando and Tampa Fl just launched the Time Warner TV app today. app version 1.0.1 same app as the Time Warner just rebranded to Brighthouse. the fake time warner app in Cydia will work after you make a minor change to the FakeTimeWarner.plist using IFile under /var/null/Library/MobileSubstrate/DynamicLibraries on the ipad.

In FakeTimeWarner.plist change the line <string>com.timewarnercable.simulcast</string>
to look like
<string>com.bhn.simulcast</string>
save your edits and your done.
jr1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2011, 09:28 AM   #142
Kid Red
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I'm in Orlando with Brighthouse and a JB'd iPad. I haven't been following the topic but do I need this work around just because my iPad is JB'd? I'm not clear if this workaround is to get the signal for non-BH customers or it f it's because the iPads are JB'd?

How are you editing the plist on the iPad? iFile? I'll have to grab that.
Kid Red is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2011, 07:28 AM   #143
cris2332
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
*

*

Last edited by cris2332; Nov 11, 2011 at 07:51 AM. Reason: Known issue
cris2332 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2011, 11:46 AM   #144
inthemix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
****

Last edited by inthemix; Nov 3, 2011 at 11:50 AM. Reason: Withdrawn. Known issue
inthemix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2011, 01:18 AM   #145
jajaish
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Status

Questions....

1.
is the latest version for FTW still 1.0? Sounds like crossingman made an update, but the latest on cydia is 1.0. And all links in this thread are dead.

2.
Should the latest Time Warner app (2.5.1?) work with FTW 1.0 via VPN? I can confirm that the hack bypasses the JB, but not the VPN.

Thanks!

iPad 1/16/wifi
4.3.3

Trying to connect via win 7 VPN

Last edited by jajaish; Nov 26, 2011 at 02:10 AM.
jajaish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2011, 03:46 AM   #146
shenan1982
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
So I see the xCon from n00neimp0rtant is updated showing confirmed to disable the DIRECTV 1.3.5 App jailbreak detection, but I don't know how to use it... I unzipped the file from his site (I can't post so just google "n00neimp0rtant xcon github" or "xcon jailbreak" and the first link on another site for more info, but nowhere does it say how to use it in conjunction with Directv app.

/Layout/
Makefile
README
Tweak.xm
xCon.deb

How do I use this on conjunction with the DIRECTV app? I'm excited to see he posted on his link that it's confirmed to now be updated for the newly broken DIRECTV app, now I just need help how to use it, hehe

Thanks!
shenan1982 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2012, 10:13 AM   #147
micROORganism
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
VPN and TWC app

From my experience, the iPad app detects VPN despite the FakeTimeWarner tweak. I had to get creative and use my iPhone.. connect to wifi, disable data, enable VPN, and turn on pdanet. This essentially uses your phone as a VPN router via wireless.. Pretty sweet. Has anyone found a better method to circumvent the VPN check?
micROORganism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 02:38 AM   #148
milk242
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I just installed the new TWC TV app for the iphone and using my old tweak I can get past jailbreak detection and vpn detection. From this, I feel like TWC TV app for the iPad should still work. Maybe you should remove TWC, install the tweak, respring, then install TWC.
__________________
I own everything
milk242 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 02:00 PM   #149
TomiY1
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Has anyone tried FakeTimeWarner with the new iPhone App? I just tried it and it won't authorize...seems like the cydia tweak needs an update

Update: Let me be more specific... it wont authorize when on 3G (Im not expecting to watch TV per say, but would like to set DVR recordings from, anywhere like i can on my iPad TWC app)

Last edited by TomiY1; Jan 22, 2012 at 12:08 AM.
TomiY1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 03:33 PM   #150
milk242
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomiY1 View Post
Has anyone tried FakeTimeWarner with the new iPhone App? I just tried it and it won't authorize...seems like the cydia tweak needs an update
try this:
http://cl.ly/2x0B2C2f2w0C0A0Z2s2e

I made this myself with basically the same code in post #118. It works fine for me. I've only tested this via microcell + vpn via easyVPN.
__________________
I own everything
milk242 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Is it possible to reset jailbroken iPad2 on 6.0.4 and maintain Jailbreak icebergx Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Apr 5, 2014 10:07 PM
MBP 2012 detects external monitor as TV? razamajaz MacBook Pro 0 Aug 11, 2013 08:49 AM
iPad: Jailbreak iPad2 envasi0n broke plex Jumpshooter43 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 15, 2013 09:27 PM
How to jailbreak ipad2 again? Pls help, thks much! Strangeer iPad Hacks 0 Sep 12, 2012 01:46 PM
How can I jailbreak my ipad2 without making an expensive brick? IOS Auodate 5.1.1 Oragami Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Jul 29, 2012 12:29 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC