Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 8, 2011, 06:55 AM   #1
Yury
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
iMac 2011: replace HDD with SSD?

Hi Folks,

Can I replace the HDD for SSD in new iMac with no issues?
Maybe someone has an experience in it?

I was googling, but no results till now. On hardmac says that it's impossible but date of that post is may 14. At OWC nothing new.

Tnx in advance!
Yury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 07:09 AM   #2
AppleDApp
macrumors 68020
 
AppleDApp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
So you would like the possibility of having 2 SSD's in your iMac. It is possible but you have to take apart the mac which is a pain. Check out the iFixit teardown
AppleDApp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 07:24 AM   #3
Yury
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleDApp View Post
So you would like the possibility of having 2 SSD's in your iMac. It is possible but you have to take apart the mac which is a pain. Check out the iFixit teardown
Replacing HDD with SSD is no big deal, I was asking about fan issue that OWC was talking about.
Yury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 07:28 AM   #4
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
If that's the case, put in an ssd in addition to the HD and boot off of that. No fan control issues then.
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, late 2013 13" rMBP, 64gb gold iPad Air 2, 64gb gold iPhone 6+
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2011, 07:38 AM   #5
Yury
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyde2801 View Post
If that's the case, put in an ssd in addition to the HD and boot off of that. No fan control issues then.
I know, but wanna to pull out HDD for NAS. And honestly, I don't like an idea to jerking off with additional cables, with taking out motherboard & others...

Just replacing is much easier & not so painful
Yury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2011, 06:20 PM   #6
Yury
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Up! Any news? Anyone?
Yury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 04:34 PM   #7
soomster
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I know this is a old thread, but is there a solution?
soomster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 06:52 PM   #8
soomster
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Anyone?
Einhver?
soomster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2013, 07:02 AM   #9
naiver12
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
You could use the ssdfanctrl to controll the Fan speed. Im using it about one year now, without any problems. I replaced the HDD with a Crucial m4
naiver12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spring 2009 iMac - can I replace the HDD with an SSD? pixeltarian iMac 1 Sep 7, 2013 04:38 AM
imac 2011 replace stock hdd denisvj iMac 5 Aug 7, 2013 09:24 PM
2011 imac ssd with external HDD or 2012 with internal HDD and thunderbolt ssd Black Tiger iMac 2 Jan 26, 2013 11:17 AM
Imac 27": Replace the 7200 HDD with a SSD? mixart iMac 6 Dec 2, 2012 12:27 PM
Replace Original HDD with SSD in 2011 21.5 in. iMac trancinchino iMac 0 Nov 9, 2012 03:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC