Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 27, 2011, 12:41 AM   #26
n8236
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I have v3 and it still works fine w/ Lion.
__________________
MBP Duo Core (02/14/06) : Pro Core 2 Duo (12/23/08) : MBP i7 (04/16/10) : MBP i7 v2 (02/03/11) : MBPr (08/25/12)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/405480361.png
n8236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 04:43 PM   #27
barnetda
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew Lococo View Post
Hi everyone,

This is a convoluted one so hold on to your seats.

You need sound flower and LineIn for this to keep Rosetta Stone from changing the Sample Rate of your USB Headset to 16kHz. In LineIn make the input from field your USB Microphone then make the output to Sound Flower 2ch then select Pass Thru. In both the Sound Flower and USB setting in the Utility Audio MIDI setup make sure that everything is 44.1kHz Make sure Rosetta stone is pointed to Sound Flower 2ch.

You sound output can remain the USB Headset. The software bug is Rosetta Stone changing the input to 16kHz and then Rosetta Stone does nothing after that. Sound flower and LineIn run interference to keep it from doing that


Worked for me!
good luck!

Matthew

I downloaded Soundflower but it doesn't seem to work with Lion??

Anyone got a workaround to get a mic either internal or external to show in Rosetta Stone Version 3 with Lion please? Its still greyed out in the Rosetta Stone software but the external mic definitely works in Skype.

Thanks
barnetda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2011, 06:57 PM   #28
E3BK
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by F48 View Post
Hi,
Some of you are discussing a problem where your microphones are no longer visible in the list of microphones after upgrading to OS 10.7. At least in my case I was able to upgrade to the most current version of rosetta stone and my microphones are now listed and work fine. I was at V3.4.5 of the Rosetta Stone, here is the link :

http://support.rosettastone.com/link...ation-Versions

Just download and install the new version.

iMac V10.7
I upgraded to Lion a few weeks ago and a friend gave me her Rosetta Stone program to learn French. It was an older version 3.3.7. I was having the same mic problems with RS not even seeing the microphone. I tried setting the sound to line-in and volume at half but it didn't work.

Then I upgraded to 3.4.5 and it fixed everything. RS is MUCH better with speech recognition. Only thing is I have to go back and repeat some of the lessons C'est la vie!
E3BK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 08:32 PM   #29
marvstodolsky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
RosettaStone & Soundflower

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnetda View Post
Matthew

I downloaded Soundflower but it doesn't seem to work with Lion??

Anyone got a workaround to get a mic either internal or external to show in Rosetta Stone Version 3 with Lion please? Its still greyed out in the Rosetta Stone software but the external mic definitely works in Skype.

Thanks
=======
M Lococo's fix is working fine for me, though it took a little jiggling.
1) See https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
for restoring the Applications/Utilities/Audio Midi Setup
---
With this Ap open, one can choose to use for the output: SunFlower 2ch
for the USB mike Input on my System: AK5 370
and 44100 Hz

Clicking the Sunflower app indeed doesn't seem to do anything.
However Sunflower is somehow perceived by "Audio Midi Setup"
and LineIn

Within LineIn, there can be chosen
Input: AK5 370
Output: Sunflower (2ch)
----
Then when one selects PassThrough, speaking into the mike,
shows a response in the LineIn graphic

Additionally one may/maynot have to reset the settings in RosettaStone Ver3
after each restart.

I haven't yet been able to write a script to do the above automatically,
not yet haven't found documentation on the component utilities.
If anyone has useful info this regard, please assist.
marvstodolsky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 03:28 PM   #30
returnshift
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Halifax, Canada
Running RS 3.4.5 with Lion

I was having trouble with opening RS 3.4.5 (using lion). I kept getting the "PPC apps are no longer supported" message. So I right clicked rosetta stone, clicked "show package contents", then went to Contents>MacOS> and opened 'Rosetta Stone" if you open this executable RS works fine... Not sure why, but now I'm learning German!

Hope that helps.
returnshift is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 11:04 AM   #31
pisadoo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Rosetta stone V3.4.5 / Lion 10.7

Bonjour.

Très souvent le micro n'est pas reconnu avec 10.7 parce que le fichier hosts est corrompu.
Voir HD/private/etc/hosts.

++
pisadoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2011, 12:01 PM   #32
r0k
macrumors 68040
 
r0k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Detroit
Quote:
Originally Posted by pisadoo View Post
Rosetta stone V3.4.5 / Lion 10.7

Bonjour.

Very often the microphone is not recognized with 10.7 because the hosts file is corrupted.
See HD / private / etc / hosts.

++
(...Via google translate)

I considered buying Rosetta Stone during the Borders' liquidation. They sold out before they got low enough in price for me to buy one. But I'm still somewhat interested so I found this thread.

What could the hosts file possibly have to do with the microphone? Can you be a little more specific?

(Via google translate...)
J'ai envisagé d'acheter Rosetta Stone lors de la liquidation de la frontière ». Ils ont vendu avant ils ont obtenu des prix suffisamment bas pour moi d'en acheter un. Mais je suis toujours un peu intéressé alors j'ai trouvé ce fil.

Que pourrait faire le fichier hosts éventuellement avoir à faire avec le micro? Pouvez-vous être un peu plus précis?
__________________
-r0k
Macbook Pro (late 2011) + iPad mini + iPhone5 + (GS4 for work)
Got a scan to ftp scanner? Enable ftpd in Lion/Mavericks/Yosemite!
r0k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2011, 04:32 AM   #33
pisadoo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by r0k View Post
What could the hosts file possibly have to do with the microphone? Can you be a little more specific?
Je ne comprend pas pourquoi le fichier hosts pose problème.
Et honnêtement, je ne sais plus ce qui m'a guidé sur la piste du fichier hosts.

J'ai cherché longtemps pourquoi le micro n'était pas reconnu par RosettaStone sur mon MBP, alors que le fonctionnement était parfait sur mes autres machines..

Sur mon MBP, j'ai constaté que le fichier hosts était corrompu.
Je l'ai remplacé par celui pris sur une autre machine et RosettaStone à reconnu le micro.

J'ai regardé sur les machines de deux amis qui avaient le problème de reconnaissance du micro par RosettaStone.
Les deux machines avaient le fichier hosts corrompu.
J'ai remplacé le fichier hosts et le micro était reconnu...

Le point commun de ces machine est l'utilisation de 10.7 et RosettaStone.

Sinon, elles utilisent différentes langues principale end/fr/de.
Les micros ont toujours fonctionnés avec iChat, Skype, VirtualBox, VWware Fusion, etc..

Mon anglais est très mauvais, donc j'écris en français.
Excusez moi. :-)
pisadoo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2012, 05:38 PM   #34
ego eimai
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Rosettastone headset not recognized here is the solution.

Hey guys, if you have trouble with rosettastone not recognizing your microphone, and you are stuck, here is the solution:
Install parallels, install a copy of windows xp, and then install rosettastone in the windows operating system, not on the mac.
It will recognize the headset and any kind of mic and it will work like a charm. Worked great for me.
ego eimai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 09:21 PM   #35
RNGypsy03
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
And the answer is...

OK, I have the new 15" retina display macbook pro running 10.8.2
I installed a "gifted" copy of Rosetta Stone v3.4.5 for MAC
When I set up the program there were no Microphones to choose from. I tried everything, sound flower, Linein, I set it up to the 44.4 hz thingie, and pointed it to my logitech h540 USB headset. And this might have all worked except....I had done one last thing before I had set up the sound flower....I went to the Rosetta Stone support page and found an update that they had recently released. I was afraid at first to do the update, because I was afraid it would mess up my 'gifted' copy of Rosetta stone, (I didn't have an activated version) . But, what the hey..I tried to download it and it installed. Now, I had soundflower, and linein all set up...my headphones were plugged in, the update was downloaded...time to reboot...I did so and
Voilà! Suddenly Rosetta saw my internal microphone and the Soundflower Ch2 and Ch64. I chose CH2, as suggested above...set up the microphone 1,2,3,4,5... and it worked! Except the sound was going in through the Logitech and out through the computer.

So, I deleted Soundflower..and Linein...unplugged my Logitech headset...reset my microphone in Rosetta to Internal Microphone...then went back to my computer Sound Setup and made sure everything there was pointing to the internal microphone......Back to Rosetta, and I was up and running. Next I plugged in a set of Apple earbuds...from my old iphone 4s...and the whole thing WORKS! yeah!!

Bottom line...skip the Soundflower and Linein...and just install the little update for version 3...even if you have a 'gifted' copy...

Here is the link for the download for the MAC update for Rosetta V3 or V3.4.5

http://success.rosettastone.com/arti...q=Text&l=en_US

Au Revoir
RNGypsy03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2013, 12:56 PM   #36
seporad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Solution

Ok this worked !!! I followed the link to

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

and once there I followed a post that advised the following update. Version 3 updated to 3.4.5. All my user progress was unaffected. The microphone worked just fine after this. I was having the same problem that everyone else had. I had Version 3 of Rosetta Stone but had upgraded to Mac OS Lion 10.7.5 and no microphone was recognized despite functionality in preferences. Here is the link for the auto dmg-download upgrade:

http://resources.rosettastone.com/rs...3%20Update.dmg

Last edited by seporad; Jun 15, 2013 at 01:25 PM.
seporad is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who Would Jesus Stone? steve knight Politics, Religion, Social Issues 26 Mar 24, 2014 03:56 PM
Help: Rosetta Stone German 1-5 Sallymandar OS X 0 Sep 20, 2012 09:16 PM
Rosetta under Lion DockMac Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 7 Aug 8, 2012 11:58 AM
The Stone Age madius MacBook Pro 2 Jul 18, 2012 02:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC