Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Futhark

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 12, 2011
Northern Ireland
Hi I'm a total newbie to programming but would love to give an iPhone app a bash. I have just purchased a few books to help me from the Dummies range. The first one is Objective-C for Dummies which I feel is written for people with some programming knowledge as I am struggling to get to grips with it. The other was iPhone App Development for Dummies 7-1

This second book so far is written by the same author but easier to understand but the book is using an earlier version of Xcode which might make learning for me slightly trickier.

Can any one give me any advice or words of encouragement.

Many Thanks

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
This second book so far is written by the same author but easier to understand but the book is using an earlier version of Xcode which might make learning for me slightly trickier

Since most learning resources are still based on Xcode 3, I suggest installing it alongside 4 and using it when needed.

emyholdem

macrumors newbie
Jun 1, 2011
Norwich, United Kingdom
I'm totally new to programming, and I'm currently reading the Objective C for Dummie's book, the author says that the book is written for people with no previous experience of programming, and i'm currently on about page 110, and i'm finding as long as you follow the instructions and make sure you do exactly what the author says then you should be fine.

And as alot of people will say to you, code code code.

Futhark

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 12, 2011
Northern Ireland
I'm on Page 312 of 1162 if going by the iBook version. The start I found easy to understand but now I feel I'll have to go back and start again because I'm reading for the sake of reading but not understanding.

Shawnpk

macrumors 6502
Jan 13, 2011
Los Angeles, CA