Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 19, 2011, 06:38 AM   #1
Zmaran
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Macbook Pro RAM question

I have a Macbook Pro 6.2 ( 15inch mid 2010 2.4 GHz core i5). I want to upgrade my RAM from 4gb to 8gb modules. I believe that the compatible RAM is the DDR3 1066 MHz modules but I was wondering if I would be able to use the 1333 MHz one's instead as those are the only one's available nearby.

I have been searching high and dry for this compatibility question and even though I get information regarding the same query, but not for the particular mbp that I own. Can anyone verify the 1333MHz compatibility for mbp 6.2 ?

Thanks.
Zmaran is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 06:46 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Yes, you can use them.
My 2009 MBP now uses 1333MHz modules and even recognises them as that.
Upgrading RAM in MacBooks and MacBook Pros




simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 06:53 AM   #3
Zmaran
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Yes, you can use them.
My 2009 MBP now uses 1333MHz modules and even recognises them as that.
Upgrading RAM in MacBooks and MacBook Pros


Image
Image
I was under the impression that the motherboard forces the RAM modules to underclock if they aren't compatible ??? You just swapped the RAM sticks, that's it right?
Zmaran is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 06:56 AM   #4
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zmaran View Post
I was under the impression that the motherboard forces the RAM modules to underclock if they aren't compatible ??? You just swapped the RAM sticks, that's it right?
The 2009 and 2010 MBPs come with 1067MHz RAM, but some 2009 MBPs are able to recognise 1333MHz RAM as 1333MHz RAM, if there are two of them and no 1067MHz RAM module is combined with a 1333MHz module.

And yes, I first bought one 1333MHz module, which was down clocked, but now I have two 1333MHz modules working at 1333MHz in my 2009 MBP.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 07:01 AM   #5
Zmaran
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
The 2009 and 2010 MBPs come with 1067MHz RAM, but some 2009 MBPs are able to recognise 1333MHz RAM as 1333MHz RAM, if there are two of them and no 1067MHz RAM module is combined with a 1333MHz module.

And yes, I first bought one 1333MHz module, which was down clocked, but now I have two 1333MHz modules working at 1333MHz in my 2009 MBP.
See that's the thing, I have seen the core i7 model of 2010 mbp and a bunch of 2009 models, including yours, work with 1333Mhz RAM but haven't had any confirmation of the 15inch core i5 mid 2010 mbp model supporting that RAM.
Zmaran is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 07:04 AM   #6
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zmaran View Post
See that's the thing, I have seen the core i7 model of 2010 mbp and a bunch of 2009 models, including yours, work with 1333Mhz RAM but haven't had any confirmation of the 15inch core i5 mid 2010 mbp model supporting that RAM.
If that is the only RAM available to you, then get it. It will work, maybe it will be down-clocked, but it will work.
I bought CnMemory RAM, which is not a top brand, and it works fine.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 10:46 AM   #7
Naimfan
macrumors 68030
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
1333 MHz sticks will work fine in your machine. Been there, done that.

Even if your machine only runs it at 1067 MHz you'll never see the difference in real world use; only on artificial (albeit fun) benchmarks.

And just because the machine shows it as 1333 MHz does NOT mean it is actually running at that speed.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2011, 02:04 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naimfan View Post

And just because the machine shows it as 1333 MHz does NOT mean it is actually running at that speed.
But I have seen an increase. Porn does render faster now, it just takes two seconds instead of three for that grandiose finale.

In all funniness, is there a way to test, at which speed the RAM runs at and not just is registered at?
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro late11 Ram question lympero MacBook Pro 0 Jun 15, 2013 08:47 AM
Mid 2012 Macbook Pro 15 inch RAM upgrade question. SeanZy MacBook Pro 8 Jan 21, 2013 07:27 PM
Base 15" MacBook Pro RAM question theking79 MacBook Pro 8 Nov 30, 2012 07:18 AM
Yet another Macbook Pro 15" Eary 2008 RAM question btatarov MacBook Pro 1 Sep 26, 2012 06:06 PM
Question about RAM on the 15' MacBook Pro geesang MacBook Pro 1 Jun 12, 2012 11:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC