Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 21, 2011, 07:46 PM   #1
Bluisnblklungs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
MacBook 4,1 Worth Upgrading to Lion

I have a MacBook 4,1 2.4ghz 4GB of RAM, I'm wondering if its worth it to upgrade to lion for me? It seem that most of the cool news you need a multi touch trackpad. Anyone else upgrade using a 4,1?

Thanks Guys & Gals
Bluisnblklungs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:03 AM   #2
TechSpotting
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Bluisnblklungs, I have just wrote to blog posts on this subject, Lion Features & is it worth upgrading to Lion you might want to check them out
TechSpotting is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:05 AM   #3
Aniday
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
It's not all just the multitouch, it's got lots of other features. It'll probably be worth it for you, especially considering the price.
Aniday is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:11 AM   #4
parish
macrumors 65816
 
parish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wilts., UK
I've just updated my MBP 3,1 (spec in my sig) so a generation older than yours.

Yes, I don't get all the multi-touch functionality as my trackpad only supports 2-finger gestures () - and not all of those (no pinch-zoom or rotate) - but I still think it's a worthwhile upgrade. There's no noticeable drop in performance over SL - if anything, it feels a bit snappier

Go ahead and u/g; you know you want to
__________________
Retina MBP 2.6GHz/16GB/512GB | MBP3,1 15.4"/2.4GHz/6GB/160GB | 400MHz Ruby iMac G3 | 32GB iPhone 5C | 32GB iPhone 4S | 32GB Wi-Fi iPad | AEBS | ATV3
parish is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:17 AM   #5
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluisnblklungs View Post
I have a MacBook 4,1 2.4ghz 4GB of RAM, I'm wondering if its worth it to upgrade to lion for me? It seem that most of the cool news you need a multi touch trackpad. Anyone else upgrade using a 4,1?

Thanks Guys & Gals
Works great on my MacBookPro4,1 mate, all the multi-touch gestures are supported on our model. What doesn't work though it AirDrop; Apple don't support the Broadcom chipset the 4,1 has for this function.
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:38 AM   #6
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Gestures will not work on the 4,1 model MacBook. The trackpad isn't built to support them. I updated my 4,1 black MacBook and have no problems, just no gestures.

One other thing, 64bit is not supported on this machine either.
hexonxonx is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:45 AM   #7
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexonxonx View Post
Gestures will not work on the 4,1 model MacBook. The trackpad isn't built to support them. I updated my 4,1 black MacBook and have no problems, just no gestures.

One other thing, 64bit is not supported on this machine either.
Not sure what kind of crack you're on mate, but you can't install Lion on anything less than a Core 2 Duo, which both of our machines have (look it up), and C2D is 64bit.

Also, your machine doesn't support multi-gesture, but mine (Early 2008 17" MBP C2D) does. Please don't post incorrect information like this, it confuses people.
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:47 AM   #8
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draeconis View Post
Not sure what kind of crack you're on mate, but you can't install Lion on anything less than a Core 2 Duo, which both of our machines have (look it up).

Also, your machine doesn't support multi-gesture, but mine (Early 2008 17" MBP C2D) does. Please don't post incorrect information like this, it confuses people.
Did you read my post carefully? There was nothing incorrect about it. 64 bit does not run on the core 2 duo 4,1 MacBook. I've checked.
Also, when I installed Windows 7 on my MB, I could not get 64bit to install, had to go 32bit.


You sir better lay off the pipe.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:48 AM   #9
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Yes, yes, very quick editing, well done.
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:52 AM   #10
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draeconis View Post
Yes, yes, very quick editing, well done.
Huh? The poster was asking about his 4,1 MacBook. which is why I left out the MacBook part of the 4,1 in my post above, which I corrected to include the MacBook part to avoid confusion.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:06 AM   #11
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
So, on your machine, under System Information>Software, it says:

Quote:
64-bit Kernel and Extensions: No
Even though the machine is 64bit? I know the EFI on those models is all 32bit, but I've had Lion running on iMac 5,1 models which also have EFI32, and they run in 64bit kernel mode?

And even though it might not run the 64bit kernel, the hardware is entirely 64bit capable..?
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:08 AM   #12
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draeconis View Post
So, on your machine, under System Information>Software, it says:



Even though the machine is 64bit? I know the EFI on those models is all 32bit, but I've had Lion running on iMac 5,1 models which also have EFI32, and they run in 64bit kernel mode?
Correct:
Attached Images
 
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:08 AM   #13
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
That's really weird.
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P

Last edited by Draeconis; Jul 22, 2011 at 09:15 AM.
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:10 AM   #14
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draeconis View Post
That's really weird.
Yes, that's what I thought as well but as I found out long ago when I installed Windows 7, only the 32bit would install. Installing 64bit gave me the message that my machine was not able to use that version. It is a 4,1 2.4GHZ black MacBook, core 2 duo.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:15 AM   #15
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexonxonx View Post
Yes, that's what I thought as well but as I found out long ago when I installed Windows 7, only the 32bit would install. Installing 64bit gave me the message that my machine was not able to use that version. It is a 4,1 2.4GHZ black MacBook, core 2 duo.
But even the 2,1 has a C2D... so even that should run the 64bit kernel and extensions...?

What do your processes say in Activity Monitor?
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:18 AM   #16
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draeconis View Post
But even the 2,1 has a C2D... so even that should run the 64bit kernel and extensions...?

What do your processes say in Activity Monitor?
I'll post a screen cap if you tell me what to look for.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:19 AM   #17
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexonxonx View Post
I'll post a screen cap if you tell me what to look for.
Under Activity Monitor, under the 'Kind' Column, do your processes say 'Intel' or 'Intel (64 bit)'?
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:22 AM   #18
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draeconis View Post
Under Activity Monitor, under the 'Kind' Column, do your processes say 'Intel' or 'Intel (64 bit)'?
I have a MBP 5,4 that shows 64bit all the way.

Activity monitor for my black MB:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2011-07-22 at 8.20.27 AM.png
Views:	144
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	295210  
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:29 AM   #19
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Ahhh, just remembered I never could get the 5,1 iMacs to boot the 64bit kernel because it's got EFI32. That's what's preventing your machine from booting the 64bit kernel (which is now the default on all machines with EFI64), but your machine can run 64bit apps under the 32bit OS X kernel because that's how OS X is written, and EFI32 can't prevent that.

So it seems EFI32 can also prevent you from installing x86_64 versions of Windows? Didn't know that!

Sorry I got a little bit heated with you mate, your original post said something like 'dunno what this guy is on about' and I didn't take too kindly to that lol
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:35 AM   #20
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
I did some checking on this EFI32 or 64 bit thing.

I ran this command in terminal, which tells you which version you have:
ioreg -l -p IODeviceTree | grep firmware-abi

Mine came back and said it has EFI64.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:37 AM   #21
Draeconis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
What?!

Have you tried booting with '6' and '4' held down? That forces the 64bit kernel on machines with EFI64.
__________________
MacPro5,1 | W3670 | 16Gb RAM | 2x Intel SSDs | 8Tb RAID-Z pool | EVGA 680 GTX Mac Edition | Sonnet Tempo E2P
Draeconis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:44 AM   #22
CREA
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I have the same MacBook 4,1 (2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM) and I would definitely recommend upgrading. Of course, it does not support multitouch on the internal trackpad, but 90% of the time I keep it hooked to an external display and bought a Magic Trackpad, and it is wonderful.

However, due to the horrible X3100, graphics are not always 100% smooth, but it's more than tolerable. For example, the graphic effect of going from full screen and back can be a bit choppy, but that could possibly improve with dot releases (I doubt though, considering the GPU is weak and 3+ years old).

Regarding 64 bit operation, all of my applications run in 64 bit mode. Not sure why anyone would be having issues with that...

Overall, I would say this is quite an improvement over Snow Leopard and have thoroughly enjoyed Lion since the GM came out. It will be great once we get an update or two to iron out some very minor bugs here and there.

edit: I ran the same command in terminal that was mentioned earlier, and it says EFI64 on my machine as well.

Last edited by CREA; Jul 22, 2011 at 09:50 AM.
CREA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:46 AM   #23
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draeconis View Post
What?!

Have you tried booting with '6' and '4' held down? That forces the 64bit kernel on machines with EFI64.
I tried two times rebooting the computer this way and both times it booted up with 64bit kernel showing as no.
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:46 AM   #24
paulsalter
macrumors 68000
 
paulsalter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Send a message via ICQ to paulsalter Send a message via AIM to paulsalter Send a message via MSN to paulsalter Send a message via Yahoo to paulsalter
get yourself a track pad and it should run without issues

I am using the older 2,1 MAcBook and dont notice any issues
__________________
Macbook C2D 2.16 GHz, 16GB 3G iPhone, 64GB iPod Touch & MobileMe
paulsalter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 09:56 AM   #25
hexonxonx
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsalter View Post
get yourself a track pad and it should run without issues

I am using the older 2,1 MAcBook and dont notice any issues
All the gestures in Lion work with the MB using the Magic Trackpad?
hexonxonx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will you upgrade to Lion or do a clean install? unobtainium Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 78 Oct 24, 2011 12:51 AM
can't connect to wireless since upgrading to Lion staypuffinpc Mac Basics and Help 3 Aug 9, 2011 12:59 AM
will sl ever support ssd trim or is it time to upgrade to lion ? UKBeast OS X 3 Jul 11, 2011 01:48 PM
Have 2008 White Macbook is it worth upgrading to the new macbook nikkiwilley MacBook 12 Aug 9, 2010 07:03 PM
Have a 13" MacBook now - Worth upgrading to 13" MBP? Noisemaker Buying Tips and Advice 6 Apr 26, 2010 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC