Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wwooden

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 26, 2004
Burlington, VT
Hey guys, this is my first time entering this part of the forum to post something (I love the thread about the tablet!). Anyways, I found an old Powerbook 170 in our barn and i am curious as to what operating system it ran. I am also curious as to how I can get a copy of it. It starts up but it only gets to the point where it is flashing the folder icon, so there must not be anything on the harddrive. Thanks guys. I would love to get this thing going again and put Sim City back on it because I have great memories of playing it the back seat of my dads car, that blew me away at the time.

yellow

Moderator emeritus
Oct 21, 2003
Portland, OR
It cam with OS 7.0.1, the best it could run was OS 7.6.1. Where can you get that stuff? eBay. That's about it. That Mac was discontinuted over 12 years ago. I'd be wary that it's not lacking an OS, but that the hard drive is toast.

wwooden

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 26, 2004
Burlington, VT
yellow said:
It cam with OS 7.0.1, the best it could run was OS 7.6.1. Where can you get that stuff? eBay. That's about it. That Mac was discontinuted over 12 years ago. I'd be wary that it's not lacking an OS, but that the hard drive is toast.

If the harddrive is toast, it's no big deal. It's still fun to show my friends the computer. Thanks for the info.

cubist

macrumors 68020
Jul 4, 2002
Muncie, Indiana
I think you can download 7.5 from Apple. Copies of 7.6 are plentiful in eBay and flea markets too, tho. The 170 is black & white, right? But it is a sharp, bright screen.

As long as you're on eBay, you might look for another older powerbook so you can swap power adapters, batteries, etc.