Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JacaByte

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 26, 2009
I've been using Windows 7 on my MBP since I got it in 2010, and have been using WinClone under Snow Leopard to make an image of my bootcamp partition for backup reasons. I want to back up my bootcamp partition before upgrading to Lion, but the trouble is that WinClone doesn't work on Lion, so if Lion somehow goofs up my bootcamp partition I won't be able to restore it.

So what I need is a imaging utility like Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper that works with NTFS partitions but is not WinClone, and works with Snow Leopard and Lion. Anybody know of an application that will suffice?

dalstott

macrumors member
Mar 8, 2008
NC
Here is the text from a post made by "The Hatter" on the Apple BootCamp forum. I have Casper 6 and it is easy to use. I have ordered Paragon Hard Disk Manager 2011 Suite as it seems to be a bit better.

Cloning Apps for Windows on Mac
You should bite the bullet after making backups and try one or more as if you were writing a review.
*Acronis won't. It must support GPT (and EFI). I think the same for Ghost.
*One program for 'foreign' OS also means you are asking a lot, maybe a linux CD for instance.
*Not everyone has the same results too. Clonzilla works but some thought "oh, that is too complicated."
Casper 6 works for Windows on Boot Camp only, and was the first commercial program. You just use SuperDuper for your HFS partition.
*You will need NTFS for your Windows clone.
*CopyCatX is more lengthy and sector copy so takes the longest.
Paragon has come out with more programs to support Apple Boot Camp than anyone else, but I only use the one that I need and have not used it in the manner you want.
Paragon Hard Disk Manager 2011 Suite
blog.paragon-software.com
Paragon Drive Copy Pro - Hard Disk Copy, Disk Cloning and System Migration

JacaByte

macrumors 6502
Original poster