Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 23, 2011, 06:38 AM   #1
62tele
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Does anyone here use "Click to Flash"?

Is a suitable alternative to installing Flash on my MBA?

How does Click to Flash work?
62tele is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 06:42 AM   #2
glen e
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Quote:
Originally Posted by 62tele View Post
Is a suitable alternative to installing Flash on my MBA?

How does Click to Flash work?
Google it...yes...install flash....just puts a play button over the flash content...works very well.....
glen e is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 06:43 AM   #3
Ubuntu
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK/US
Quote:
Originally Posted by 62tele View Post
Is a suitable alternative to installing Flash on my MBA?

How does Click to Flash work?
It simply disables the flash component until you click it. It just gives you the choice which is a lot nicer on the MBA as Flash is known to kill the battery. You'd still have Flash on your MBA, its just a lot more controlled because flash content won't load automatically, which is the way it should be imo!
__________________
Windows & Mac user, iOS & Android developer.
Ubuntu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 06:48 AM   #4
CapnJackGig
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I found it unnecessary. I just use adblock, which disables all Flash ads. If I do see Flash content, it's because I purposely went looking for it.
CapnJackGig is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 09:50 AM   #5
62tele
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks for responses.

I'm going to try it.

Do I understand correctly that it plays content in Quicktime?
62tele is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 11:57 AM   #6
treynolds
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by 62tele View Post
Thanks for responses.

I'm going to try it.

Do I understand correctly that it plays content in Quicktime?
No, it plays Flash content normally; you just have to click on the Flash icon to get it to play. Very slick and absolutely essential IMO on an MBA.

Tony
__________________
Late 2009 27" iMac 3.06 C2D, 1TB, 12GB RAM | Late 2010 13.3" MBA 2.13 C2D, 256GB SSD, 4GB RAM | iPhone 4.0, 16GB | New iPad, 32GB WiFi
treynolds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 12:00 PM   #7
Apple OC
macrumors 68040
 
Apple OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hogtown
Quote:
Originally Posted by 62tele View Post
Thanks for responses.

I'm going to try it.

Do I understand correctly that it plays content in Quicktime?
Click To Flash is awesome ... I highly recommend it
__________________
one Stupid Blog
Apple OC is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 12:01 PM   #8
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
I do on old powermacs...
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 01:21 PM   #9
jfcmc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
I do on old powermacs...
Is your clicktoflash still working on youtube (playing quicktime)?

Mine stopped on my ibook g4, and I can't seem to even find a working forum to post the issue on the old CTF site.

Lighthouse says CTF cancelled their support site.
jfcmc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 03:41 PM   #10
Sinnthetic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I use it and Adblock and browsing the internet is bliss.
Sinnthetic is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 03:54 PM   #11
MisterPark
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Yessir! And it makes surfing the internet way more enjoyable and it's saving battery life. Win/Win !
MisterPark is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 03:57 PM   #12
The Catalyst
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
+1, Another vote for AdBlock.
The Catalyst is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 03:58 PM   #13
happyslayer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glendale, AZ
To install click2flash in Lion, you must go into Safari, goto Preferences, goto Extensions, goto Get Extensions (button) and download it there. I could not get it to work downloading it from the Internet. (That's for Snow Leopard I think)

And yes, I use it and swear by it and recommend it to all my friends and customers with Macs.

I easily get at least 30 min more battery time - although I use the Internet a lot.
__________________
2013 11.6 Macbook Air-1.3GHz i5, 8GB, 128SSD ; iPhone5-16GB, black ; iPad Mini Retina, 32GB, black, VZ LTE
happyslayer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 10:56 PM   #14
iphonsteve4ajob
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Click2ToPlugin Now...

I wanted to use C2F, but on the website there's a disclaimer at the top >>

Note: Safari 5.1 drops support for WebKit Plugins, which unfortunately includes ClickToFlash.
Try out Marc Hoyois’ ClickToPlugin Safari Extension.

So...I've been using ClickToPlugin and I have to say I'm very impressed. The preference menu is a bit complicated, but you'll figure it out in a couple of days.

Don't know if you do much YouTube surfing, but if you do you should "opt in" to the html5 trial >>> http://www.youtube.com/html5. Doing so will let you view videos which are available in html5 format, and if not will revert to the normal Flash player. However, remember that if you enable ClickToPlugin on YouTube, your browser will attempt to use an html5 player for "all" videos.

I actually disabled ClickToPlugin on YouTube since I opted into the html5 trial. Specifically because some of the videos I enjoy watching just load faster using the Flash player. I don't feel the need to block all Flash content on YouTube.

As for the rest of the web, yes ClickToPlugin all the way!
iphonsteve4ajob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 12:24 PM   #15
Surely
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphonsteve4ajob View Post
I wanted to use C2F, but on the website there's a disclaimer at the top >>

Note: Safari 5.1 drops support for WebKit Plugins, which unfortunately includes ClickToFlash.
Try out Marc Hoyois’ ClickToPlugin Safari Extension.

So...I've been using ClickToPlugin and I have to say I'm very impressed. The preference menu is a bit complicated, but you'll figure it out in a couple of days.

Don't know if you do much YouTube surfing, but if you do you should "opt in" to the html5 trial >>> http://www.youtube.com/html5. Doing so will let you view videos which are available in html5 format, and if not will revert to the normal Flash player. However, remember that if you enable ClickToPlugin on YouTube, your browser will attempt to use an html5 player for "all" videos.

I actually disabled ClickToPlugin on YouTube since I opted into the html5 trial. Specifically because some of the videos I enjoy watching just load faster using the Flash player. I don't feel the need to block all Flash content on YouTube.

As for the rest of the web, yes ClickToPlugin all the way!
There's still a stand-alone ClickToFlash extension......you can find it here along with the ClickToPlugin extension: http://hoyois.github.com/safariexten...clicktoplugin/
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 12:30 PM   #16
scarred
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
So far, I've been quite happy using Safari without Flash installed. I have youtube setup to use html5 (youtube.com/html5), which covers a lot.

I also installed google Chrome, which has a flash player built in. If there is ever a place I want to go that requires flash, I just fire up chrome real quick.
scarred is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 12:51 PM   #17
askrib
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Can you install "click to flash" on the Chrome web browser? If so....how ?

Thanks!
askrib is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 01:14 PM   #18
chiamac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Google Chrome

I don't have Flash installed.

I use Google Chrome (has Flash built into the browser, keeps my OS clean of Flash) with the "Click to Play" option enabled, it functions just like Click2Flash and disables other plugins besides Flash, I love it:

chiamac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 02:51 PM   #19
AppleTech22
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
I have it on the pro and everything is just a little bit quicker
__________________
13" 2011 MacBook Air, 1.7GHz i5,4GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPad 2 Wi-Fi White 32GB
iPhone 4S Black 16GB
120GB PS3
AppleTech22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 02:53 PM   #20
2IS
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I love Click to Flash. It's not so much that the ads bother me, but my battery life is greatly improved without all the useless flash content wasting resources.
2IS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 04:09 PM   #21
askrib
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiamac View Post
I don't have Flash installed.

I use Google Chrome (has Flash built into the browser, keeps my OS clean of Flash) with the "Click to Play" option enabled, it functions just like Click2Flash and disables other plugins besides Flash, I love it:

Image
Thank you!

But for the people that dont know how to get to that page to do so.....was me (had to google it). Type in "about:flags" in URL. Then scroll down to "click to play". Works great!

Thanks again.
askrib is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 05:25 PM   #22
rbrian
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
I used to use it, but I read somewhere that even with Click2Flash installed, the website registers you using Flash, which doesn't incentivise them to change. Instead, I uninstalled Flash, and just use Chrome for those sites that require it.
rbrian is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 05:52 PM   #23
Asmod4n
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Use Click to Plugin, Click to Flash is outdated. I'm using Chrome as my Flash Browser, not really useful for anything else.
Asmod4n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 06:01 PM   #24
AppleTech22
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmod4n View Post
Use Click to Plugin, Click to Flash is outdated. I'm using Chrome as my Flash Browser, not really useful for anything else.
Outdated?
__________________
13" 2011 MacBook Air, 1.7GHz i5,4GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPad 2 Wi-Fi White 32GB
iPhone 4S Black 16GB
120GB PS3
AppleTech22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2011, 07:12 PM   #25
Surely
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleTech22 View Post
Outdated?
Well:

Safari 5.1 drops support for WebKit Plugins, which unfortunately includes ClickToFlash.

That's why you have to use one of the new extensions that I discussed in my post above.
Surely is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very occasional "click" sound - rMBP 13" 2013 severage MacBook Pro 9 May 7, 2014 01:26 PM
OS X: CS:GO "command" + "left mouse click" causes "right mouse click" Whats wrong? oeppel Mac and PC Games 1 Apr 6, 2013 03:12 AM
Can't use the "Click to Tweet" and "Click to Post" in Notification Center jbcacdac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Feb 20, 2013 07:26 AM
Slow "Tap-to-Click" with "Dragging" enabled indshrty OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Oct 21, 2012 07:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC