Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 23, 2011, 11:46 AM   #1
kevin222
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Restore Lion to factory/wipe all data

I upgraded my macbook pro to Lion and then decided to buy a new Air and sell the Pro. How can I safely wipe everything off my pro and get Lion back to complete factory settings? Typically I would just use the recovery disc but we all know that's not possible anymore. I was reading about the built in recovery mode of Lion (command + R on boot up) - will this allow me to reinstall Lion and wipe everything? From the way I read, it may just reinstall Lion, leaving all my stuff/settings still here. Any help would be appreciated!
kevin222 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 12:23 PM   #2
Bill Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Open Disk Utility from the restore partition and reformat the Lion partition first.
__________________
Mid-2010 15" MacBook Pro / 2.66GHz / 8GB RAM / 240GB SSD
16GB iPhone 5
Bill Gates is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 02:11 PM   #3
kevin222
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Gates View Post
Open Disk Utility from the restore partition and reformat the Lion partition first.
How do I do that, restart in recovery mode?
kevin222 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 02:45 PM   #4
steveoc
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Adirondacks NY
You could make a clean install of Snow Leopard reformatting the drive then install Lion over it.
__________________
MacPro Nehalem Octad 2.26 32 GB RAM 2.6 TB internal & external; PowerMac G5 2X2 GHZ 7 GB RAM 750 GB HD; PowerMac G4 1 GHZ 1.4 GB RAM 250 GB Internal.
steveoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 04:11 PM   #5
saberahul
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On my iPad
Can't you just hold option while restarting?
__________________
iPhone iPad MacBook Pro
saberahul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 04:36 PM   #6
kevin222
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveoc View Post
You could make a clean install of Snow Leopard reformatting the drive then install Lion over it.
I was considering this, but my goal was to put it back to an "out of the box" state. If I do this, I would have to actually log into the computer for the first time after reinstalling, enter my credentials back at the Mac App store etc. I'd just like to just wipe it all and then shove it back in the box with a fresh version of Lion on it if possible...Can that be done using the recovery mode do you know?
kevin222 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 04:42 PM   #7
mmduluth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Download Lion again and burn it to a DVD and restore using that.
mmduluth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 04:44 PM   #8
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Restart the computer holding +R. Choose the option relating to Disk Utility and erase the Macintosh HD. Close Disk Utility and from the list of options, reinstall Lion.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2011, 05:38 PM   #9
kevin222
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
Restart the computer holding +R. Choose the option relating to Disk Utility and erase the Macintosh HD. Close Disk Utility and from the list of options, reinstall Lion.
Oh that sounds like it will work - thanks! That will definitely get rid of everything, including settings, right?
kevin222 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 06:26 PM   #10
fritzsaam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Erase and reinstall Lion

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
Restart the computer holding +R. Choose the option relating to Disk Utility and erase the Macintosh HD. Close Disk Utility and from the list of options, reinstall Lion.
I searched for two days to find what you offered in two sentences! Your 'erase and reinstall' procedure worked flawlessly. Many thanks
fritzsaam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 03:12 PM   #11
StrollerEd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
just read this thread with interest as I have similar problem to solve I think.

I have bought the 2011 mba and using the Migration Assistant I tried to transfer everything from my 2009 mba. It took a while using my domestic wifi but somewhere I took a wrong turning and have ended up with two accounts on my 2011 mba, one including the stuff from the 2009 mba, and I dont seem to be able to access one from another.

Talking things through with a colleagues we thought about

a) copying all new files that I have created since I have had the 2011mba
b) using this procedure just described.
c) re-trying the Migration Assistant and making sure that I do it right this time.

Any flaws in the above - even if I dont know where I went wrong last time?
StrollerEd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2011, 12:23 AM   #12
ybhco
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Question re: formatting hard drive

Hi folks, I followed the steps above, but I'm still confused. On the SuperDrive screen where I'm trying to delete the drives, I've got "320.07 GB Hitachi..." and a subheading "Macintosh HD." I deleted the "Macintosh HD," and it's grayed out now, but the heading is still there.

It also lists "disc2" with a subheading "Mac OS X Base System." Should I delete this as well?

I'm handing over a Macbook Pro to a co-worker (I got a new one) and need all of my data deleted and the system restored to factory settings. Sorry to be a n00b. Can anyone help?

mp
ybhco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2012, 08:57 PM   #13
blackbrant
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
option + R no worky

Ok, so I already deleted the Lion .dmg file so I can't rip a disc, and I tried reformatting clean installing leopard and Lion does not allow this. I've tried to option + R and it brings me to a grey screen with a password prompt (before the apple logo appears)...what gives?
blackbrant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 11:52 PM   #14
alexstrider18
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: dublin , ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybhco View Post
Hi folks, I followed the steps above, but I'm still confused. On the SuperDrive screen where I'm trying to delete the drives, I've got "320.07 GB Hitachi..." and a subheading "Macintosh HD." I deleted the "Macintosh HD," and it's grayed out now, but the heading is still there.

It also lists "disc2" with a subheading "Mac OS X Base System." Should I delete this as well?

I'm handing over a Macbook Pro to a co-worker (I got a new one) and need all of my data deleted and the system restored to factory settings. Sorry to be a n00b. Can anyone help?

mp
so did you ever get an answer for that question ,.
It also lists "disc2" with a subheading "Mac OS X Base System." Should I delete this as well?

I restored a new replaced mbp , that i got due to soo many faults with the old machine,.. and i think i brought some of the old probs into the new machine when i did a restore from my time machine ,. :-/ ,.. I've 15 GB of GHOST data in the folders on the backup ,.. cleaned that up,. fixed iMovie,and iPhoto,.. did a full system restore ,.. command=r ,disk utility erase mac HD ,.... quit that and do a full lion iOS reinstall ,. twice now ,.. and no joy,.. was afraid to delete the "Mac OS X Base System" ?? love some advice
alexstrider18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2012, 09:15 AM   #15
rayward
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
Restart the computer holding +R. Choose the option relating to Disk Utility and erase the Macintosh HD. Close Disk Utility and from the list of options, reinstall Lion.
I am having trouble with my iMac, and I tried to erase the Mac HD using Disk Utility, but it says it cannot. It instructed me to reformat the drive and then restore a backup.

My question is this: how do I initiate a reformat? It is not an option under Disk Utility. TIA.
__________________
27" iMac (2.93GHz i7, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD); 64GB iPhone 5S; 32GB iPad Air; 3 x TV3, 2TB WD "My Book Studio XL" HDD; 4TB WD "ShareSpace" NAS
rayward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2012, 07:59 AM   #16
Poimetheus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Thumbs down Horse ****

The whole concept is utter bull ****. Why does such a simple task have to be so damn Cantankerous?! I should be able to put whatever OSX version I please into any hardware and perform an install. Apple thinks everyone should have their "latest and greatest" and upgrade when appropriate; so **** compatibility and anything else we might want to do with it. I will NEVER own fascist technology.
Poimetheus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2012, 09:39 PM   #17
Pacwell
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poimetheus View Post
The whole concept is utter bull ****. Why does such a simple task have to be so damn Cantankerous?! I should be able to put whatever OSX version I please into any hardware and perform an install. Apple thinks everyone should have their "latest and greatest" and upgrade when appropriate; so **** compatibility and anything else we might want to do with it. I will NEVER own fascist technology.
Good lord. No need for such anger.
Pacwell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 12:34 PM   #18
Shade12
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA,OHIO
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
Restart the computer holding +R. Choose the option relating to Disk Utility and erase the Macintosh HD. Close Disk Utility and from the list of options, reinstall Lion.
hey i bought a imac it has mac 10.6.8 and i want to restore it and erase all data how can i do that can you help me ?
Shade12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 04:11 PM   #19
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade12 View Post
hey i bought a imac it has mac 10.6.8 and i want to restore it and erase all data how can i do that can you help me ?
Reinstalling Mac OS X 10.6.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2012, 07:06 PM   #20
Shade12
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA,OHIO
Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
but i dont have the cd can i do it without it ?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
Restart the computer holding +R. Choose the option relating to Disk Utility and erase the Macintosh HD. Close Disk Utility and from the list of options, reinstall Lion.
is apple logo means command ?
Shade12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2012, 04:26 AM   #21
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
If the seller did not give you discs, you'll need to purchase replacements provided they can still be acquired. If yours is a computer that shipped with 10.6, you need the gray discs specific for that model. If the Mac was upgraded to 10.6 a retail copy of 10.6 will do nicely. To see whether your Mac shipped with 10.6 or earlier, take a look at this.

And yes, the and Command keys are one and the same.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 08:16 AM   #22
Shade12
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA,OHIO
Thanks for respond I bought cd for Mac 10.6.8 I think I erased the hard drive cuz when I turn Mac on a folder comes up with a question mark on it can you please send me link or instructions how to erase hard drive and reinstall Mac so I have fresh Mac. Nothing on it. Thanks. Cuz I bought used.
Shade12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2012, 05:55 PM   #23
Aryababa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Claremont
Folder with question mark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shade12 View Post
Thanks for respond I bought cd for Mac 10.6.8 I think I erased the hard drive cuz when I turn Mac on a folder comes up with a question mark on it can you please send me link or instructions how to erase hard drive and reinstall Mac so I have fresh Mac. Nothing on it. Thanks. Cuz I bought used.
Hey, I am i the EXACT same boat as you. Got the folder with the question mark! Except what I did before I got the question mark was completely erase the hard drive via the COMMAND + R key (right as you turn on the computer). I am returning my mac back to the online store and wanted to do a clean erase myself.

So it seems like you erased it yourself. What you need to do is restart your computer and hold down those buttons mentioned above. Hold them until you see a dark ashy gray screen (almost black) and then release the keys. The menu will pop up saying you can 1) restore from a time machine backup 2) restore lion from the .dmg thats saved in the computer automatically 3) (forgot what this one was) and 4) use disk utility to format/erase a hdd.

If you want a clean install of lion, select the restore from lion option! Make sure your computer is hooked up with an internet cable as it will need to verify the computer with apple servers and voila. Hope this helps.
Aryababa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 10:35 PM   #24
jenz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
I'm gonna try to do that, I sold my iMac today and I need to ship it tomorrow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JediMeister View Post
Restart the computer holding +R. Choose the option relating to Disk Utility and erase the Macintosh HD. Close Disk Utility and from the list of options, reinstall Lion.
jenz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 11, 2013, 01:20 PM   #25
mspomer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Guess I need help after reading through.

I'm selling a mackbook pro (late 2008) and want to wipe and have as though the buyer just bought.

Problem is I have the original disk, but no cd/dvd (as it has been replaced by a data doubler and 2nd hard drive).

Can anyone tell me how to wipe and reset to factory lion default?

Thanks.
mspomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with factory restore OSX Mountain lion interzone92 Mac Basics and Help 1 Oct 10, 2013 07:15 PM
What is the best way to restore to factory settings, but keep all your data? Firesign3394 iPhone 6 Apr 25, 2013 01:00 PM
Factory restore Lion before selling iMac straber Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Dec 31, 2012 02:30 AM
Restore MacBook Pro 13 (Early 2011) and updated to Lion to factory default settings gvk5904 MacBook Pro 5 Jul 20, 2012 09:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC