Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2011, 05:38 AM   #1
b0rg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Automatic Graphic switching causes Macbook to freeze!

When i have Automatic Graphic switching enabled in Lion and I quit an application like Postbox, Parallels, etc my Macbook 2011 17" freezes!

With Snow Leopard i didn't had this problem.


Anyone else got the same problem under Lion?
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" Retina , 2.3GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 512GB SSD
b0rg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 08:27 AM   #2
Tozzi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Yes. I have exactly the same problem.

EDIT: I'm starting to think it might have to do with the 8GB RAM in this machine.
That would explain why so few people are suffering from this.
__________________
iMac 27" (2010) i7 2.93GHz 16GB, SSD & 2TB
MBP 17" latest (2011) 8GB, SSD & 1TB
iPad (3rd gen.) 64GB WiFi, iPhone 4S 64GB

TV (3rd gen.)

Last edited by Tozzi; Jul 24, 2011 at 09:06 AM.
Tozzi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 10:24 AM   #3
b0rg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
What do you mean by the 8 gb ram?

I have Kingston 8GB ram into my Macbook and a lot of people have 8GB ram.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" Retina , 2.3GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 512GB SSD
b0rg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 02:55 AM   #4
Tozzi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Well, I'm just trying to figure out what might be the difference between our machines and the majority (who seem unaffected).
But you're right, the 8GB alone don't really explain it.
__________________
iMac 27" (2010) i7 2.93GHz 16GB, SSD & 2TB
MBP 17" latest (2011) 8GB, SSD & 1TB
iPad (3rd gen.) 64GB WiFi, iPhone 4S 64GB

TV (3rd gen.)
Tozzi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 03:00 PM   #5
b0rg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Look like a bug in Lion, dunno how to contact apple about this..
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" Retina , 2.3GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 512GB SSD
b0rg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 03:05 PM   #6
JRoDDz
macrumors 68000
 
JRoDDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
There is no extra charge for this "feature". It's all included in the $29.99 price.
JRoDDz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 03:08 PM   #7
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rg View Post
Look like a bug in Lion, dunno how to contact apple about this..
You can use the feedback form.
If you are a developer you can file a bug report.
mrapplegate is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turn off Automatic Graphic Switching on AC power? stillmatic MacBook Pro 6 Dec 21, 2011 05:39 PM
Question on Automatic Graphic Switching Yaboze MacBook Pro 12 Nov 6, 2011 04:26 AM
automatic graphics switching on battery wilycoder MacBook Pro 1 May 7, 2010 07:44 PM
Automatic graphics switching nzmc36 MacBook Pro 4 Apr 13, 2010 11:26 AM
UITextView causing me headaches; Causes app to freeze Fontano iPhone/iPad Programming 7 Oct 5, 2008 11:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC