Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2011, 06:31 AM   #1
iphoneipad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Can i use Time Machine to transfer from Leopard to Lion

Just bought an i5 256gb MBA 13. I was using macbook running Mac OSX Leopard, i am just wondering can i use time machine to transfer my stuff across.

Many thanks
iphoneipad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 08:16 AM   #2
sparkhill
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Yes. Once you start the transfer, do not interrupt though as it is pretty easy to corrupt the Time Capsule sparse bundle.
sparkhill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 08:36 AM   #3
Robosagogo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
What's the actual process?

Do I just plug my external hard drive into the Air before turning it on for the first time?
Robosagogo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 08:57 AM   #4
ZBoater
macrumors 603
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
i don't think you want to do a restore. That would overwrite Lion, wouldn't it? After you boot up you MBA, you want to run Migration Assistant.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad Air | Dell Venue Pro 8 | Nexus 7.2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 09:05 AM   #5
vow
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
When you first load up OS X on the new MBA, it will ask if you want to import from a Time Machine backup.

Or you can set everything up and then use migration assistant to import from a TM backup.

Keep in mind that if you want to import using migration assistant and want to keep the exact same username/Full Name, do NOT create that same user account when setting up Lion. Create a dummy account that will get deleted once you finish importing. If you don't care about keeping the exact username, you can import the content to as a new user.
vow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine problem: how can I manually transfer my Time Machine files to a new user Lucagfc OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Apr 17, 2014 02:44 PM
Is Mountain Lion time machine backup compatible with Snow Leopard konradphoto Mac Basics and Help 3 Jan 30, 2013 11:04 AM
use G4 Leopard as Time Machine for Lion rockinmyshoe Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Jan 22, 2013 04:32 PM
Downgrading from Lion to Snow using time machine and USB (Snow Leopard) djarsalan2006 OS X 0 Jan 18, 2013 11:37 PM
Can I migrate a mountain lion time machine to a machine that only supports Lion? GHicks iMac 2 Oct 8, 2012 04:38 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC