Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2011, 06:31 AM   #1
iphoneipad
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Can i use Time Machine to transfer from Leopard to Lion

Just bought an i5 256gb MBA 13. I was using macbook running Mac OSX Leopard, i am just wondering can i use time machine to transfer my stuff across.

Many thanks
iphoneipad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 08:16 AM   #2
sparkhill
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Yes. Once you start the transfer, do not interrupt though as it is pretty easy to corrupt the Time Capsule sparse bundle.
sparkhill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 08:36 AM   #3
Robosagogo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
What's the actual process?

Do I just plug my external hard drive into the Air before turning it on for the first time?
Robosagogo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 08:57 AM   #4
ZBoater
macrumors 603
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
i don't think you want to do a restore. That would overwrite Lion, wouldn't it? After you boot up you MBA, you want to run Migration Assistant.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad Air | Dell Venue Pro 8 | Nexus 7.2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 09:05 AM   #5
vow
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
When you first load up OS X on the new MBA, it will ask if you want to import from a Time Machine backup.

Or you can set everything up and then use migration assistant to import from a TM backup.

Keep in mind that if you want to import using migration assistant and want to keep the exact same username/Full Name, do NOT create that same user account when setting up Lion. Create a dummy account that will get deleted once you finish importing. If you don't care about keeping the exact username, you can import the content to as a new user.
vow is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use time machine to copy from imac to macbook pro Mowgli21 Mac Peripherals 2 Apr 14, 2010 12:06 PM
Using Time Machine to transfer info to new iMac. iLife 08 to iLife 09 junyea Mac Basics and Help 3 Mar 10, 2009 01:55 PM
Can I use Time Machine to migrate everything from one macbook pro to my new one timhelms OS X 5 Feb 25, 2009 12:18 AM
Upgrading hard drive - can I use time machine to setup the new drive exactly as befor Narcosynthesis Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Dec 26, 2008 06:18 PM
Anyone new Mac Pro users use Time Machine to transfer files/settings? adr1974 Mac Pro 10 Feb 4, 2008 10:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC