Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2011, 06:27 PM   #1
tjb1
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Keeping Menubar in Fullscreen

Anyway to keep the menubar in fullscreen? Its horribly slow-not consistent to get it back by moving mouse up...same with the dock. Also, I am having a lot of trouble getting show desktop to work with the thumb+3 finger spread gesture. Just me or a problem?
__________________
15" 2010 MBP, 2.66 GHz i7, 8GB Ram, 120GB OWC SSD, 500GB Momentus XT, Windows 7-32 and Snow Leopard
tjb1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 06:32 PM   #2
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
just you, I get it every time..
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:21 PM   #3
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
Anyway to keep the menubar in fullscreen? Its horribly slow-not consistent to get it back by moving mouse up...same with the dock.
The whole point of full-screen is to get rid of distractions like the menu bar and dock. If you want those easily accessible then don't go into full-screen.
__________________
Late 2013 15.4" Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Mavericks & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:24 PM   #4
tjb1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
The whole point of full-screen is to get rid of distractions like the menu bar and dock. If you want those easily accessible then don't go into full-screen.
It should be a choice...this is why most hate Apple. Steve changes things and doesnt give us options to do what we want. Until I can get fullscreen with menubar and/or dock I will go back to using Cinch. Just like the gestures, only selectable for a few and then force these stupidly awkward ones onto us.
__________________
15" 2010 MBP, 2.66 GHz i7, 8GB Ram, 120GB OWC SSD, 500GB Momentus XT, Windows 7-32 and Snow Leopard
tjb1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:28 PM   #5
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
It should be a choice...this is why most hate Apple. Steve changes things and doesnt give us options to do what we want. Until I can get fullscreen with menubar and/or dock I will go back to using Cinch. Just like the gestures, only selectable for a few and then force these stupidly awkward ones onto us.
It is a choice, don't go into full-screen mode. If you need all of these things visible in full-screen mode then you don't need full-screen mode to begin with.
__________________
Late 2013 15.4" Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Mavericks & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:30 PM   #6
tjb1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
It is a choice, don't go into full-screen mode. If you need all of these things visible in full-screen mode then you don't need full-screen mode to begin with.
I dont see how the menubar is a distraction at all, it takes like 5% of the screen?...maybe you need to re-evaluate your situation. Dock isnt important but atleast when I move the mouse there it should come up immediately, not require me to play around.
__________________
15" 2010 MBP, 2.66 GHz i7, 8GB Ram, 120GB OWC SSD, 500GB Momentus XT, Windows 7-32 and Snow Leopard
tjb1 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:34 PM   #7
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
I dont see how the menubar is a distraction at all, it takes like 5% of the screen?...maybe you need to re-evaluate your situation. Dock isnt important but atleast when I move the mouse there it should come up immediately, not require me to play around.
It comes up fine for me without any playing around. Maybe you need to re-evaluate what is causing this problem for you on your system.
__________________
Late 2013 15.4" Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Mavericks & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:36 PM   #8
tjb1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
It comes up fine for me without any playing around. Maybe you need to re-evaluate what is causing this problem for you on your system.
Using an external mouse in clamshell?
__________________
15" 2010 MBP, 2.66 GHz i7, 8GB Ram, 120GB OWC SSD, 500GB Momentus XT, Windows 7-32 and Snow Leopard
tjb1 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:36 PM   #9
fisherking
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
stretch your window to cover everything BUT the menubar... :roll eyes:
so it's 'fullscreen-ish"...
__________________
mbp@10.9.4 4S JB
fisherking is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:38 PM   #10
goomba
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
It should be a choice...this is why most hate Apple. Steve changes things and doesnt give us options to do what we want. Until I can get fullscreen with menubar and/or dock I will go back to using Cinch. Just like the gestures, only selectable for a few and then force these stupidly awkward ones onto us.
What exactly did "Steve" change? You can continue to use the zoom button or resize manually without affecting the visibility of the dock or menubar. What you are asking for is something like the maximize button in Windows, but OS X has never had one. Nothing is being taken away from you.
goomba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:40 PM   #11
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
Using an external mouse in clamshell?
I'm using a Magic Trackpad with my '08 MacBook. I have never used clamshell mode, but have certainly thought of it if I ever get a nice external display. If this is what you are using maybe it has something to do with your problem of having to play around for the menu bar to come up. Maybe somebody else with the same setup can chime in and give some feedback.
__________________
Late 2013 15.4" Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Mavericks & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:43 PM   #12
tjb1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Using Chrome, fullscreen button is available...until you fullscreen at which dock wont appear and there is no fullscreen button to get out. Esc doesnt work, only way out is View - Exit Full Screen.
__________________
15" 2010 MBP, 2.66 GHz i7, 8GB Ram, 120GB OWC SSD, 500GB Momentus XT, Windows 7-32 and Snow Leopard
tjb1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:46 PM   #13
goomba
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
Using Chrome, fullscreen button is available...until you fullscreen at which dock wont appear and there is no fullscreen button to get out. Esc doesnt work, only way out is View - Exit Full Screen.
This is a known bug. Chrome had its own fullscreen mode before Lion and they are going to rebuild it for the new OS, but for now it behaves differently.
goomba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:47 PM   #14
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
Using Chrome, fullscreen button is available...until you fullscreen at which dock wont appear and there is no fullscreen button to get out. Esc doesnt work, only way out is View - Exit Full Screen.
Which version of Chrome are you using? I have the latest version 13 beta and the full-screen button doesn't show for me in the upper right corner.
__________________
Late 2013 15.4" Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Mavericks & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:51 PM   #15
tjb1
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacManiac76 View Post
Which version of Chrome are you using? I have the latest version 13 beta and the full-screen button doesn't show for me in the upper right corner.
12, are there any problems with the beta?
__________________
15" 2010 MBP, 2.66 GHz i7, 8GB Ram, 120GB OWC SSD, 500GB Momentus XT, Windows 7-32 and Snow Leopard
tjb1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:56 PM   #16
MacManiac76
macrumors 6502a
 
MacManiac76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona
Send a message via ICQ to MacManiac76 Send a message via MSN to MacManiac76 Send a message via Yahoo to MacManiac76 Send a message via Skype™ to MacManiac76
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
12, are there any problems with the beta?
Couldn't really tell you as I rarely use it. I use Safari almost exclusively as Chrome kicks my cpu fan into high gear for some reason as soon as I open it. Other than that I haven't experienced anything bad like crashes when using the Chrome 13 beta.
__________________
Late 2013 15.4" Retina MacBook Pro, Intel Quad Core i7 2.6 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD, OS X Mavericks & Windows 7 Pro
iPod Nano 5G 8 GB Blue
Samsung Galaxy S4 White
MacManiac76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2011, 07:57 PM   #17
TPadden
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjb1 View Post
Using Chrome, fullscreen button is available...until you fullscreen at which dock wont appear and there is no fullscreen button to get out. Esc doesnt work, only way out is View - Exit Full Screen.
Try setting up your lower left and right hot corners in Mission Control to "launchpad" (System Preferences). That will take you in and out of launchpad with Dock access, even from full screen Chrome.

A work around that I like ......

Last edited by TPadden; Jul 24, 2011 at 08:15 PM.
TPadden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 12:56 PM   #18
dancolman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Shift + Green Maximize Button

Try holding shift and pressing the green maximize button.
This will expand your window to fill the entire desktop. leaving space for the top menu bar, and the dock.

It does not hide other windows, or create a new desktop space.

You can create a new desktop, expand your app of choice there, and you're set.

If you dont have a trackpad, get one, it makes switching between desktop spaces and many other forms of control far more simple, intuitive, quick.

Here is a different option from a different forum:

http://apple.stackexchange.com/quest...ullscreen-apps

You can adjust this on a per-app basis by editing the plist. My memory is rusty but here are instructions, if I remember correctly.

Show package contents for the app you want
Edit the file Contents/info.plist
Search for "LSUIPresentationMode" (you may want to use a plist editor). It will look like this if you use a regular text editor:
<key>LSUIPresentationMode</key> <integer>4</integer>

If the property does not exist, then you can create it - it must be inserted in the correct alphabetical order.

Change the value of the integer accordingly:
LSUI PresentationMode 0 - Does not hide Dock or Menu Bar.

LSUIPresentationMode 1 - Hides Dock. Dock will appear if mouse moved to where it is located. Menu Bar will remain.

LSUIPresentationMode 2 - Removes Dock. Menu Bar will remain.

LSUIPresentationMode 3 - Removes Menu Bar and Dock.

LSUIPresentationMode 4 - Hides Menu Bar and Dock. Menu Bar or Dock will appear if mouse moved to where Menu Bar or Dock is located.

For more information on LSUIPresentationMode usage, click here:

http://developer.apple.com/library/m...3616-TPXREF134
dancolman is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2012, 01:29 PM   #19
heisenberg123
macrumors 603
 
heisenberg123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
use the green circle, combined with Right Zoom this will fill the screen and not hide the menu
__________________
15" i7 Quad Core MBP (Early 2011) 2.0GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB HD, AMD Radeon HD 6490M(Intel HD Graphics 3000) OSX 10.9
16GB Samsung Galaxy SIII with 32GB microSD
heisenberg123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2014, 11:31 AM   #20
mawdizzle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Detroit
Thanks dancolman

Thanks dancolman for the SHIFT + Green Plus trick. I appreciate your response to the question. I don't appreciate posts on a question like this:

Quote:
It is a choice, don't go into full-screen mode. If you need all of these things visible in full-screen mode then you don't need full-screen mode to begin with.
Quote:
The whole point of full-screen is to get rid of distractions like the menu bar and dock. If you want those easily accessible then don't go into full-screen.
I just bought my first Apple computer since my Apple 2 Plus in 1984. There are many things that Windows has figured out that make computing more pleasant and vice versa with Apple. If someone needs to maximize their window and maintain the menu bar because they compute more efficiently that way and it's just smarter sometimes to have a similar basic feature to MS Windows, they should be able to do that.

If they want to go full-screen and lose the menu bar, they should be able to do that as well. If your opinion is to give pompous responses about how "you" think things should be then it's my opinion to prefer answers like dancolman's to your's sir.

Good day.
mawdizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MenuBar ReArranger 2 fleyne Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Dec 3, 2013 11:19 PM
Plex Fullscreen on Display #2 Menubar Stuck (Mavericks 10.9) Kilamite OS X Mavericks (10.9) 2 Nov 16, 2013 12:01 PM
What is this menubar icon? guitarplayer08 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Apr 16, 2013 08:05 PM
OS X Menubar Abuse Simplicated Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Jun 27, 2012 08:55 PM
RMBP Menubar juicywaterhouse MacBook Pro 0 Jun 19, 2012 12:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC