Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

palpatine

macrumors 68040
Original poster
May 3, 2011
What I like best about the iPad is that it enables me to travel really light, I have flexibility (doubles as an e-reader), and I get plenty of battery life. Basically, everything I need to get things done fits into a tiny bag that I pretty much take everywhere I go. How do you use it to get things done? I'd love to hear more ideas :)

I am a graduate student/researcher, and most of my time is spent reading, writing, teaching, and collecting materials for my research. My workflow and setup might not work for everyone, but hopefully it can provide some ideas for how to get things done with a combination of the iPad, iPod, apps, computer, and a few accessories.

WORKFLOW
-------------------------------------------------
1. Writing
I take handwritten notes with pen and paper most of the time. I usually use A5 size notebooks, and fold the pages in half so I can write my notes in two columns on each page. Sometimes I pair a bluetooth keyboard with the iPod or iPad so that I can type notes, especially if I am taking notes on a book or article. I set up the iPad as a reader (Incase Origami or BookGem) and the iPod as the device where I type (don't need to see this, but can prop it up if needed). I probably do 90 percent of my work on the iPad/iPod reading books/articles, taking notes, and writing drafts. The other 10 percent involves the computer, where I add footnotes, format, create PDF files, search (iPad can only search one file at a time), etc. *
http://www.goincase.com/products/detail/cl57934

2. Reading
I read a lot on the iPad. Because everything is digitized, I have everything with me wherever I go. BookGem works great as a compact book stand, and I also have the Incase Origami case that not only props up the iPad, but provides a protective case for the keyboard.

3. Scanning