Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2011, 07:57 PM   #1
VoicOfReason
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
New fix for Apogee Duet under OSX Lion

I have read the fixes so far for the Apogee Duet under OSX Lion, e.g. killing off "duetDaemon", etc.

Here's a new one. Disconnect the duet, run the official uninstaller, and let it reboot. Then plug-in the Duet and re-select it as output device. Now, the Duet seems to work just fine and no killing of processes is needed. Of course, you can't go in and run Maestro b/c it doesn't exist, but when I killed of duetDaemon before it was annoying, it still didn't allow me to use the keyboard volume control for the Duet, and I was getting crackling audio with another drive running off the same firewire port. With THIS method (uninstalling the software) it at least works and you get volume control back.

Try it out and let me know what you think!

Temporary solution until August, at least.
VoicOfReason is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 07:58 PM   #2
VoicOfReason
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Almost forgot.

... almost forgot: the green light will be blinking and you need to hold down the knob to un-mute initially.
VoicOfReason is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2011, 08:28 PM   #3
HoldernessMedia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoicOfReason View Post
I have read the fixes so far for the Apogee Duet under OSX Lion, e.g. killing off "duetDaemon", etc.

Here's a new one. Disconnect the duet, run the official uninstaller, and let it reboot. Then plug-in the Duet and re-select it as output device. Now, the Duet seems to work just fine and no killing of processes is needed. Of course, you can't go in and run Maestro b/c it doesn't exist, but when I killed of duetDaemon before it was annoying, it still didn't allow me to use the keyboard volume control for the Duet, and I was getting crackling audio with another drive running off the same firewire port. With THIS method (uninstalling the software) it at least works and you get volume control back.

Try it out and let me know what you think!

Temporary solution until August, at least.
Does this still allow you to choose different inputs though, without having Maestro? What about recording? Or is this just working for audio playback?

If it works decent I'll add it to the original thread as another option.
HoldernessMedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2011, 10:31 AM   #4
Papanate
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina
Interesting...unfortunately in my case I need to be able to switch Phantom and line/mic...so I need the Maestro software.
Papanate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2011, 09:56 AM   #5
VoicOfReason
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
You can still hit the Duet dial to mute (if held down) and also to change inputs (if held pressed briefly). So, yes, I can verify this.
VoicOfReason is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 08:32 PM   #6
join
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
It works well here but it is impossible to switch between Instrument and Mic for each input without Maestro...
join is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 08:38 PM   #7
vkt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Worked perfectly, thank you!
vkt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 03:20 PM   #8
Mark Octavian
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Well, this is kinda obvious, because Duet doesn't need any drivers to work as a generic Fire-Wire audio output device. For the inputs, however, you do need those drivers. Without them, you won't be able hear your electric guitar or mic.
Mark Octavian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Duet (firewire) on 10.7 Lion HoldernessMedia Digital Audio 67 Nov 13, 2012 11:13 AM
Aperture 3 Running Slow on OSX Lion meerkat35 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 11 Jan 4, 2012 07:20 AM
Logic 9.1.5 Updates Bring Bug Fixes and Apogee Duet 2 Compatibility Improvements MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 21 Aug 27, 2011 08:27 PM
Steam Developing For OSX Lion [Proof] polo3400 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 8 May 21, 2011 01:26 PM
No Firewire 400 on new MBP makes Apogee Duet useless? HiFiGuy528 MacBook Pro 3 Oct 16, 2008 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC