Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 28, 2011, 04:23 AM   #1
bob99
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
How to remap Launchpad key to Dashboard?

I received my MBA today, and I'm loving it. However, I have no need for the Launchpad function of Lion, and would like to remap the new F4 / Launchpad key to bring up the Dashboard as an overlay (like on Snow Leopard)

Is there any way to do this? I've read a few accounts of how to make Launchpad work on an older computer with the "Dashboard" key, but I'm looking to press F4 and get my Dashboard widgets back on screen.

Any help would be appreciated!
bob99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 04:25 AM   #2
TNTN
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I'd also be interested because if you deselect 'treat dashboard as a space' there's actually no way of opening it!
TNTN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 12:11 PM   #3
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Can't help ya, OP...but I want to do what you want to do...but reversed. I want my Dashboard key to open up Launchpad on my Mid 2010 MBP 15". Where did you see this done?
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 12:24 PM   #4
mjstew33
macrumors 601
 
mjstew33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Hey, maybe this might help you. Worked for me and what I was doing.

http://kevingessner.com/software/functionflip/
__________________
macbookpro 15" 2.4 GHz intel i7 quad | iPhone 5 64GB
Who except God can give you peace? Has the world ever been able to satisfy the heart? St. Gerard Majella
mjstew33 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 01:14 PM   #5
bob99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Thanks for the attempt - I installed FunctionFlip, but unfortunately it doesn't work on the F4 key. No matter what, (even with FF running) the F4 key brings up the launchpad on this MBA.

Damn you launchpad! This computer isn't an iPod... I don't need your functionality. Not that I use the dashboard much, but it's a handy calculator tool occasionally.
bob99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 02:31 PM   #6
alidad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
haha a newbie to mac i must say? the solution to your problem is simple!

open up system preferences and go to mission control



now re-routing your keys is easy



hope this helps, enjoy your macbook air!
alidad is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 03:47 PM   #7
AceTracer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by alidad View Post
haha a newbie to mac i must say? the solution to your problem is simple!
Maybe you're seeing something that I'm not. Where in that prefpane is there an option to remap the LaunchPad key?
AceTracer is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 03:54 PM   #8
AceTracer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob99 View Post
Thanks for the attempt - I installed FunctionFlip, but unfortunately it doesn't work on the F4 key. No matter what, (even with FF running) the F4 key brings up the launchpad on this MBA.
I wasn't able to get it to work with the F4 key either, but oddly it does work with the F3 key.
AceTracer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 03:54 PM   #9
alidad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AceTracer View Post
Maybe you're seeing something that I'm not. Where in that prefpane is there an option to remap the LaunchPad key?
no macbook has a launchpad change option, but since the macbook air has a designated key for launchpad, the key which it's in (F4) can be replaced with dashboard via the info i've provided.
alidad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2011, 06:00 PM   #10
bob99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Hi Alidad,

Sadly, that doesn't work. Even when "Show Dashboard" is set to F4, pressing the key brings up the launchpad. I also tried using the combination of FunctionFlip and changing the settings in Mission Control, but it still doesn't work.

(If I hold down my function key and press F4, it gives me the traditional Dashboard overlay... But I'm trying to figure out how to make it just go back.)
bob99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2011, 04:50 AM   #11
Oli3000
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I would be interested in knowing if there was a solution for this, too! Launchpad is a pile of rubbish! Particularly because it picks up every executable on the laptop... Including repair programs etc. etc. that I do not want cluttering the place up!
Oli3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 6, 2011, 09:22 AM   #12
macrlz9
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
I'm anxiously waiting for a solution to this as well...
__________________
Zig-A-Zig-Ahhh
macrlz9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 06:39 PM   #13
bob99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Holy damn moley...

I'm happy to say that I figured this one out. Here's how you do it.

1. In System Preferences -> Keyboard, click on the Keyboard tab
2. Click on "Use All F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys
3.Now, install FunctionFlip, available here:
http://kevingessner.com/software/functionflip/
4.In the FunctionFlip Preference Panel, set it so it starts on login. Now flip every single key except for F4: (null)

Now you'll have your sweet, sweet dashboard back without needing to hold down the function key.

That one was annoying! Thanks to Kevin, the sweet dude who makes FunctionFlip.
bob99 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 07:29 PM   #14
macrlz9
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob99 View Post
Holy damn moley...

I'm happy to say that I figured this one out. Here's how you do it.

1. In System Preferences -> Keyboard, click on the Keyboard tab
2. Click on "Use All F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys
3.Now, install FunctionFlip, available here:
http://kevingessner.com/software/functionflip/
4.In the FunctionFlip Preference Panel, set it so it starts on login. Now flip every single key except for F4: (null)

Now you'll have your sweet, sweet dashboard back without needing to hold down the function key.

That one was annoying! Thanks to Kevin, the sweet dude who makes FunctionFlip.
Nevermind, a reboot did the trick! Also, you have to go to the Mission Control preference pane & change Dashboard from F12 to F4.

Thanks!!
__________________
Zig-A-Zig-Ahhh

Last edited by macrlz9; Aug 11, 2011 at 07:32 PM. Reason: durr moment
macrlz9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2011, 01:50 PM   #15
Tinmania
macrumors 68030
 
Tinmania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aridzona
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob99 View Post
Holy damn moley...

I'm happy to say that I figured this one out. Here's how you do it.

1. In System Preferences -> Keyboard, click on the Keyboard tab
2. Click on "Use All F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys
3.Now, install FunctionFlip, available here:
http://kevingessner.com/software/functionflip/
4.In the FunctionFlip Preference Panel, set it so it starts on login. Now flip every single key except for F4: (null)

Now you'll have your sweet, sweet dashboard back without needing to hold down the function key.

That one was annoying! Thanks to Kevin, the sweet dude who makes FunctionFlip.
Thank you!

I was shocked there was no easy way to remap that key. But the tip about using FunctionFlip, which I already had installed in my failed attempts prior, did the trick. Plus LaunchPad is still there with fn-F4 if I ever decide I want to use it.

While I too don't use Dashboard for much more than an on-demand calculator all is well again. Well aside from the fact that control-two-finger-scroll no longer zooms. While I didn't use it too much on my 2010 Air I did use it. Now it won't work. Off to solve that one...


Michael
Tinmania is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2011, 03:54 PM   #16
macrlz9
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinmania View Post
Thank you!

I was shocked there was no easy way to remap that key. But the tip about using FunctionFlip, which I already had installed in my failed attempts prior, did the trick. Plus LaunchPad is still there with fn-F4 if I ever decide I want to use it.

While I too don't use Dashboard for much more than an on-demand calculator all is well again. Well aside from the fact that control-two-finger-scroll no longer zooms. While I didn't use it too much on my 2010 Air I did use it. Now it won't work. Off to solve that one...


Michael
Go here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2011-08-14 at 4.52.53 PM.png
Views:	247
Size:	185.9 KB
ID:	298999  
__________________
Zig-A-Zig-Ahhh
macrlz9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2011, 03:05 AM   #17
bob99
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Great tip! I too had a hard time finding the two finger zoom, but now that it's restored, Lion is running perfectly!
bob99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:07 PM   #18
scottzer0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Better solution

All these keys are configured in a preference file on the system. You just need to know the key codes. Someone figured it out and posted a better solution:

http://hints.macworld.com/article.ph...10721132409362
scottzer0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2013, 11:03 AM   #19
Timonsta
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Ran into this thread when trying to figure out a similar issue. I used BetterTouchTool to reassign a few keys. It also has several other useful features..
Timonsta is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spinning Down Optibay Solved! ~Remap Eject Key~ nlynch77 MacBook Pro 4 Sep 3, 2014 03:45 PM
Odd Object Found Under Launchpad Key ACR3597 MacBook Air 8 Jul 18, 2013 03:54 PM
VMWARE Mac OS X Key Remap VWOU OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Apr 5, 2013 11:24 AM
Escape Key Broken: Can I Remap It? Goftrey OS X 1 Aug 28, 2012 12:05 AM
 Wireless Keyboard - F4 LaunchPad key? iOrbit Mac Peripherals 7 Jun 26, 2012 06:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC