Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 8, 2011, 08:14 PM   #101
SteveNYC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Guess...
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Chadwick View Post
I was thinking of just getting the basic 500GB and then adding a WD 1TB. Would this work?http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Weste...ital/WD10TPVT/
I can't say that it won't work, but keep in mind that this unit is the earlier "thicker" 12.5MM hard drive. Western Digital has a newer one that is the standard 9.5mm height and is faster. Granted, it's a little more expensive at $127.00, but it seemed worth pointing out.
SteveNYC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 08:57 PM   #102
christophermdia
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Make sure its the model WD10JPVT thats the 9.5mm version.

Here is the one i bought....
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005DVJJWQ
christophermdia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 09:13 PM   #103
Lokheed
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by deuce sluice View Post
Powerbookmedic has the cable in stock for much cheaper than macpartsonline.com. $30+$8 shipping via USPS.

link
+1 for buy from them. I ordered stuff before and they were really great to deal with. Plus the cable is $29.95 CAD + $4 shipping via USPS first-class mail. That's a lot more reasonable than $65 USD from the other places!
Lokheed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 09:18 PM   #104
stevenlangley1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Nice setup!
__________________
15.4" MacBook Pro - Galaxy Note 2 - iPad 32GB WIFI/3G - iPod Classic 80GB - 1st/3rd gen Shuffle
stevenlangley1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 10:09 PM   #105
M.Chadwick
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Thanks guys, I'll definitely look into it.
M.Chadwick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 10:30 PM   #106
aristokrat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
For you all's information, there's a dude on eBay who seems to deal in a lot of Mac parts that's selling the 922-9560 for $36 shipped. I don't remember if it's okay to post eBay links around here, but the item number is 160634677387. I just ordered one from him, hopefully it will come in soon.

I was also wondering if anybody confirmed this 2010 cable is capable of SATA III speeds?
aristokrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 10:55 PM   #107
OTACORB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central, Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristokrat View Post
For you all's information, there's a dude on eBay who seems to deal in a lot of Mac parts that's selling the 922-9560 for $36 shipped. I don't remember if it's okay to post eBay links around here, but the item number is 160634677387. I just ordered one from him, hopefully it will come in soon.

I was also wondering if anybody confirmed this 2010 cable is capable of SATA III speeds?
Good info, I hope everyone looking for one of these cable can get one at a reasonable price.

My understanding is that the cable has been tested and does seem to support SATA III speeds.
__________________
Samsung Galaxy Note 3
MacBook Pro Retina (2013)
Mac Mini (2012)
iPad rMini 32GB White Wifi
OTACORB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 07:07 AM   #108
ljonesj
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
i wish they left the super drive in the mac mini as there are some parts of the world and the u.s. that dont have high speed internet they use phone line which is slow as all get out and you cant stream movies from what ever with that either and i ment dial up internet and thats no fault on the person owning the machines the isp providers for highspeed dont have lines run to rural areas
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 08:39 AM   #109
Dusky600
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljonesj View Post
i wish they left the super drive in the mac mini as there are some parts of the world and the u.s. that dont have high speed internet they use phone line which is slow as all get out and you cant stream movies from what ever with that either and i ment dial up internet and thats no fault on the person owning the machines the isp providers for highspeed dont have lines run to rural areas
unfortunetly just have to fork a little extra for it, but lets face it, if your buying a mac mini the extra for the superdrive isnt that much, dont think ill buy it just yet though. cant remember the last time i popped a cd into the drive...
Dusky600 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 09:10 AM   #110
jdguggs10
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston
question, I have a base edition 2011 mac mini. I threw a Corsair SSD in there and it runs beautifully. But, the old HDD is just sitting in a box next to my machine, is it 9.5mm and will it fit below the SSD or do I need to buy a different one?
jdguggs10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 09:14 AM   #111
gigaguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: TX
I missed this info probably. Physically, what location is the boot drive in? at the top of the mini case or at the bottom near the RAM.
wondering if you add a 2nd drive, do you have to remove and reinstall the boot drive to add the 2nd drive?
I keep seeing the word 'below', but not sure from which perspective. below when it sitting in use, or below when its upside down and opened.
gigaguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 10:47 AM   #112
slyseekr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigaguy View Post
I missed this info probably. Physically, what location is the boot drive in? at the top of the mini case or at the bottom near the RAM.
wondering if you add a 2nd drive, do you have to remove and reinstall the boot drive to add the 2nd drive?
I keep seeing the word 'below', but not sure from which perspective. below when it sitting in use, or below when its upside down and opened.
From my perspective, I refer to the position of the drives when the mini is flipped over and opened up. Therefore:

Top Drive = drive closest to the RAM and Airport Grille

Apple installs the boot drive (with OS X) on the Top Drive, and the expansion drive installs underneath it.
slyseekr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 12:51 PM   #113
gigaguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: TX
Ok, thanks. I was gonna buy a new Mini but am holding off a while til tweaks, hacks, info, and upgrade parts are worked out. lower prices on SSDs would be good too, and the markets and my downsizing job situation are playing a part too.
I upgraded the HDD in my 09 mini ok, but am a little wary of the new one. and an expert I trust says it can be a little tricky.
gigaguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 01:10 PM   #114
CortexRock
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canterbury, England
If you look in Disk Utility, it tells you that the drive closest to you when you open up the Mini is the 'Lower' drive, so any expansion drive should be installed in the 'Upper' drive position.
CortexRock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 01:54 PM   #115
gigaguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: TX
Oh, so if you want to install a 2nd drive yourself, the boot drive has to be removed and reinstalled.
gigaguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 02:15 PM   #116
Rapscallion
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gigaguy View Post
Oh, so if you want to install a 2nd drive yourself, the boot drive has to be removed and reinstalled.
http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/E...Ra3QANK.medium

If you take a look at this photo from ifixit you can see the original hard drive and where it is connected. this is the factory set boot drive and the additional drive would be installed under it.
Rapscallion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 06:34 PM   #117
Lokheed
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by CortexRock View Post
If you look in Disk Utility, it tells you that the drive closest to you when you open up the Mini is the 'Lower' drive, so any expansion drive should be installed in the 'Upper' drive position.
Wrong. When you crack open the mini, the drive is installed against the top of the unit (so stop slot). That's where the primary drive needs to be. Where are seeing Disk Utility report the physical placement of the drive???
Lokheed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 07:00 PM   #118
A.C
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Just finished upgrading my Mini:

Upgraded Memory
Replaced the OEM with 8gb of Corsair RAM. The first shipment caused kernel panics and was sent back. Thankfully the second set has worked flawlessly.

Installed boot drive
Added a 120gb OWC Extreme Pro 6G via the 922-9560 cable. Cloned the OEM HDD content via CCC, changed start-up disk, and subsequently erased the 5400rpm drive.

Relocated user directory
Moved the "home" directory back over to the freshly wiped 500gb HDD.

The new configuration is pretty awesome. Speed makes me happy.
A.C is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 08:14 PM   #119
christophermdia
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Got my cable from macpartsonline today, so just finished adding in the second drive. I put the samsung 1TB as the main drive (upper when you open the mini) and the WD 1TB as the secondary drive. The cable fit perfectly and drives fit in very snugly. I did take out 2 screws from an old drive and put them in so the drive wouldn't shimmy at all, maybe that made it a bit tighter...

I am now in the process of adding all my iTunes (170GB worth) to the second drive. but all seems well. In some speed tests I find the WD to be a bit faster, wish I had the drives flip flopped, but there is no way I am performing another surgery....while not hard its just a pain to clone everything and move everything around...besides, this really is used more like a server and I don't sit on it for extensive periods of time, and the speed of loading apps and such is very acceptable.

I did place 2 orders for cables and couldn't cancel the second one, so I have another coming, I will probably list it in the Marketplace.

Does anyone know if I do a time machine backup to an external will it backup just the main drive or will it do both? if just the 1 drive, how can I set it to back up both?

End specs: 2.5 i5, 2TB, 8GB Ram, Discrete AMD
Thanks,

Chris
christophermdia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 09:56 PM   #120
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by christophermdia View Post
Got my cable from macpartsonline today, so just finished adding in the second drive. I put the samsung 1TB as the main drive (upper when you open the mini) and the WD 1TB as the secondary drive. The cable fit perfectly and drives fit in very snugly. I did take out 2 screws from an old drive and put them in so the drive wouldn't shimmy at all, maybe that made it a bit tighter...

I am now in the process of adding all my iTunes (170GB worth) to the second drive. but all seems well. In some speed tests I find the WD to be a bit faster, wish I had the drives flip flopped, but there is no way I am performing another surgery....while not hard its just a pain to clone everything and move everything around...besides, this really is used more like a server and I don't sit on it for extensive periods of time, and the speed of loading apps and such is very acceptable.

I did place 2 orders for cables and couldn't cancel the second one, so I have another coming, I will probably list it in the Marketplace.

Does anyone know if I do a time machine backup to an external will it backup just the main drive or will it do both? if just the 1 drive, how can I set it to back up both?

End specs: 2.5 i5, 2TB, 8GB Ram, Discrete AMD
Thanks,

Chris
go to time machine preferences you can add and subtract drives to be backed up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2011-08-09 at 10.56.06 PM.png
Views:	178
Size:	449.4 KB
ID:	298333  
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 10:07 PM   #121
dmk1974
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.C View Post
Just finished upgrading my Mini:


Relocated user directory
Moved the "home" directory back over to the freshly wiped 500gb HDD.

The new configuration is pretty awesome. Speed makes me happy.
Question: When you move the home directory, do you notice any speed loss? Apps I believe then remain on the SSD, correct? Thanks.
dmk1974 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 04:31 AM   #122
A.C
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I'm sure there was a speed penalty after placing the user directory back on the 5400rpm drive, but I didn't A/B the configurations to notice. For me the benefits of reclaiming the 500GB outweigh the negatives.
__________________
2011 mini 2.7Ghz i7, 6630m, 8GB memory, 120GB SSD, 500GB HDD
iPhone 5 / iPad Air / ATV3 / 2006 MBP CoreDuo / 2002 Quicksilver G4
A.C is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 05:02 AM   #123
japtor
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmk1974 View Post
Question: When you move the home directory, do you notice any speed loss? Apps I believe then remain on the SSD, correct? Thanks.
There is some but I'm not sure it's a big deal. Your Library folder has a bunch of little files that get accessed, and for the iTunes library there's the apps (if you have an iOS device) and it's own library file, won't make much of a difference for the music and movies though. I imagine the iPhoto library would benefit nicely from the SSD too, although like iTunes I'm not sure there's a way to separate library from the photos. I've tried something similar with iTunes using a bunch of symlinks but ran into some issues.

There's some stuff like VMware that sticks VMs in your home folder by default...you'd definitely notice a big speed hit there more than anything else. On the plus side I'm pretty sure you can just set the default somewhere else or move the VM, so that's easy enough to work around. Steam put a bunch of app data in my home last I ran it, that might be another annoying one. There's a few corner cases like those around.

To keep things simple I'd recommend just leaving the user dir where it is and moving the big media stuff to the HD, or just moving everything to the HD and living with whatever slowdowns, then dealing with those corner cases as they show up if they bug you enough.
japtor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 01:54 PM   #124
CortexRock
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canterbury, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokheed View Post
Wrong. When you crack open the mini, the drive is installed against the top of the unit (so stop slot). That's where the primary drive needs to be. Where are seeing Disk Utility report the physical placement of the drive???
This is a screen shot of my Disk Utility screen, with my SSD installed in place of the original 500GB boot drive. As you can see, it shows up as the 'Lower' drive.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.jpg
Views:	271
Size:	101.9 KB
ID:	298441  

Last edited by CortexRock; Aug 10, 2011 at 01:56 PM. Reason: Added image
CortexRock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 01:51 PM   #125
Dusky600
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by DazWorrall View Post
Same position here Dusky600, ordered on the 1st, nothing since then. They did say 12 working days though, and we arent even half way through that so I'm not too worried.
yoh, got my e-mail from VIS UK saying they dispatched my part ! took them 10 days, i ordered on the 2nd.

not to bad.
Dusky600 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who has replaced dvd drive with 2nd hard drive? Muscleflex MacBook Pro 4 May 9, 2014 03:29 PM
Adding HD to 2nd Optical Drive on MP 1,1 kitki83 Mac Pro 2 Apr 25, 2013 06:35 PM
upgrading minis hard drive (racing fans) Acorn Mac mini 0 Nov 3, 2012 03:31 PM
Questions about adding second hard drive campton12 Mac Basics and Help 5 Aug 11, 2012 05:57 PM
Installing a 2nd hard drive replaces CD-drive MacOSXuser MacBook 2 Jul 22, 2012 07:27 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC