Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PreetinderBajwa

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 30, 2009
HK
Hi !

Caption subject - don't try it - unless you are OK leave your beloved MBA for a day or more (depending on the data to be backed up size/or time machine disk size)

I got a new MBA 13" and started a time machine backup first time last night. I have only 70GB data on the MBA and used an external 750GB WD disk (450 GB partition for Time Machine and 300 GB for Carbon Copy Cloner) for the backup. You can ever be too safe !

When I started time machine dialogue asked me if I wanted to encrypt the backup and since its a portable disk which I carry, I said yes :mad: ........

After 8 hour only 5:eek:% of it was completed. There is no option to cancel and resume later, effectively the mahine is occupied till the whole thing finishes:eek:.... and I hope its only the first time backup issue, and it doesn't happen everytime a backup is created.:rolleyes:

Just a heads up, incase someone else is planning to use the encryption:eek::D

Last edited:

Rusty33

macrumors 6502
Jul 8, 2011
Australia
Hi !

Caption subject - don't try it - unless you are OK leave your beloved MBA for a day or more (depending on the data to be backed up size/or time machine disk size)

I got a new MBA 13" and started a time machine backup first time last night. I have only 70GB data on the MBA and used an external 750GB WD disk (450 GB partition for Time Machine and 300 GB for Carbon Copy Cloner) for the backup. You can ever be too safe !

When I started time machine dialogue asked me if I wanted to encrypt the backup and since its a portable disk which I carry, I said yes :mad: ........