Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

99bobster99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 2, 2011
Hello,

I am new to the Mac environment and have been tasked with programming some data exchange between a vision camera and a Mac PC. The camera has a built-in OPC data server, which I was hoping to use to broadcast a value read from a barcode over to the Mac PC, the Mac PC would then play a referenced iTunes song from this barcode value. Does anyone have any suggestions on the best way to implement this task?

GorillaPaws

macrumors 6502a
Oct 26, 2003
Richmond, VA
Will this have a GUI? Or run in the background as a windowless app?

Can you tell us more about the Camera? by "Vision Camera" do you mean a video camera? a particular model of a still photo digital camera? something else?

99bobster99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 2, 2011
The preliminary plan (depending on complexity) would be;

-> a vision camera (Festo SBOI-Q OCR capable camera, link; http://www.festo.com/cms/en-us_us/12829.htm this camera has Ethernet capabilities as well as a built-in OPC server.

this camera reads the barcode label of a card, placed by the guest user within the field of view.

-> the camera would read the value, as a "1", "2", "3", etc. The camera would "somehow" send this value to the Mac PC.

-> the Mac PC would read this value (from a playlist directory maybe?) and play an assigned song for each of the values read.

Possible?

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
-> the camera would read the value, as a "1", "2", "3", etc. The camera would "somehow" send this value to the Mac PC.