Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2011, 01:50 AM   #1
nph
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Custom re-install of Lion - how much space do you save?

I have always re-installed all versions of OS X as soon as I got it or a new MAc. By removing all languages except English and printers except the one I use, I usually save at least 2 gig.

What are you experiences with re-installing Lion on your new MBA?
Also do you just do the Command-R during start up and down load it?

Thanks
nph is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 03:46 AM   #2
radiohead14
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: nyc
interested in this too. i heard you lose iLife though, but hopefully that's an easy re-install
__________________
13" Retina MacBook Pro | 2.6GHz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
radiohead14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 03:56 AM   #3
alectheking
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: cali coast
From my experience on 2 custom installs, on 2 different machines, there is no way to do anything "custom" with lion. I'd love to be wrong.
alectheking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 04:24 AM   #4
MacRumorUser
macrumors Demi-God
 
MacRumorUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiohead14 View Post
interested in this too. i heard you lose iLife though, but hopefully that's an easy re-install
Just make sure you visit the Mac App Store initially getting your Air, and sign in. This will then allocate you iLife apps to your account so you can download later.

Others that fail to do this, may have to buy them after the event.
__________________
A gentleman is one who never hurts anyone's feelings unintentionally.
MacRumor:User
Microsoft MVP : Macintosh
MacRumorUser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 05:14 AM   #5
halledise
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by alectheking View Post
From my experience on 2 custom installs, on 2 different machines, there is no way to do anything "custom" with lion. I'd love to be wrong.

Last edited by halledise; Aug 7, 2011 at 06:39 PM.
halledise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 02:52 PM   #6
radiohead14
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: nyc
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumorUser View Post
Just make sure you visit the Mac App Store initially getting your Air, and sign in. This will then allocate you iLife apps to your account so you can download later.

Others that fail to do this, may have to buy them after the event.
thanks for the heads up!


Quote:
Originally Posted by alectheking View Post
From my experience on 2 custom installs, on 2 different machines, there is no way to do anything "custom" with lion. I'd love to be wrong.
so you can't even save some space by only installing English and not the other languages? can you leave anything out at all?
__________________
13" Retina MacBook Pro | 2.6GHz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
radiohead14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2011, 05:14 PM   #7
steve dave
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by radiohead14 View Post



so you can't even save some space by only installing English and not the other languages? can you leave anything out at all?

There are no options for any customization at all during a fresh install. Not even unused languages.
steve dave is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 12:53 AM   #8
uicandrew
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
you can customize what iLife applications you install by redownloading only the ones you want.

that saved me about 1-2gb
uicandrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 05:43 AM   #9
Zedcars
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brighton, UK
Try this...

http://monolingual.sourceforge.net/

Zedcars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 06:23 AM   #10
newdeal
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
...

monolingual cut off 1.7 gigabytes by removing languages and legacy code. Now I already had other software installed such as office 2011 so some of that would be removed from that software also but regardless the savings was substantial. I also removed garageband which saves a huge amount of space also since I will never use it
newdeal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 07:13 AM   #11
macneubie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
i read from http://www.cs.rutgers.edu/~pxk/cs/osx-space.html , if strip off garageband, imovie n other unneeded apps can recover 3.6gb hdd space. but that's on earlier versions, not verified on Lion though.
macneubie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 12:10 PM   #12
h00ligan
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
2 gigs of that was probably printers etc.. that don't get installed with lion.
h00ligan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to save SSD space eliteeli MacBook Pro 17 Mar 6, 2014 06:24 PM
I have more than enough space to install an app on my phone, yet it won't install. petrucci666 iOS 6 5 Oct 1, 2013 11:18 AM
Hard Drive Space Before and After Mountain Lion install lukekarts MacBook Air 6 Sep 21, 2012 05:20 PM
Can I install Mountain Lion on a custom built PC? tech0925 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Sep 14, 2012 02:26 PM
Ways to save space in Mountain Lion saleemyas3 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jul 27, 2012 02:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC